We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasing and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Ramsay Plane Food

Gordon Ramsay Plane Food
Wellington Road | Terminal 5, Heathrow Airport, Hounslow TW6 2GA , England
020 8897 4545
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gordon Ramsay Plane Food is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 112 Restaurants in Hounslow
Price range: $19 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The signature menu of Gordon Ramsay and an exclusive picnic offering ensures that Plane Food offers innovative food concepts to passengers travelling through Heathrow Airport Terminal 5. Located airside, after you pass through security, Gordon Ramsay's Plane Food easily stands out. Architects Bentel & Bentel have crafted the aerodynamic lines of the restaurant's unique decor to conjure up a range of shapes associated with flying. The menu offers a range of pasta and risotto dishes, as well as grain-fed 28 day aged steaks and exclusive Plane Good picnic hampers, perfect for when you're in a hurry and ideal for enjoying on the plane at your leisure. Diners can also have their meal at the elegant bar whilst they enjoy great views of the Plane Food open plan kitchen and their choice of irresistible cocktails.
Buckland Newton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Pleasing and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Two hours before flight departure so we enjoyed a pleasant lunch at Plane Food in T5. Service was fast and the food was actually very good. Pricing sensible and good value. Staff attentive and appreciative. Well done!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    405
    209
    157
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

As expected the food here is great and the ambiance is excellent. The prices are reasonable too. We had no problems waiting for a table to be cleared, or served by our waiter, but did get various items arrive at different times, and the waiter serving juices was in his own world - taking one glass at a time to various tables, including ours- and in the end we had to ask for our drinks order to be completed - it would have been 4/5 if it wasn't for the slight dip in service.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Generic food, poor service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stopped here for a bite to eat while in transit. I didn't expect Michelin level food, obviously, but I did expect something better than the generic, sub-standard type of food you'd normally find at an Applebee's or Olive Garden. No really - "Plane Food" is actually that unimaginative and bland. I actually had better food at the bar on the concourse level.

To make matters worse, service at "Plane Food" was slow and inattentive. Although the food came out quickly once I'd ordered, my waitperson took forever to come see me and then disappeared for most of the meal. I finally had to get up myself to ask for my bill. Moreover, the bill comes with a cover charge and a automatically added "gratuity" of 18%. This was on top of an already inflated bill. While I have no problems paying a lot for good food (I would have happily paid twice over if the food was decent), I hate paying a lot of money for something mediocre. And that's exactly what I did at "Plane Food".

Gordon Ramsey needs to be more careful about lending his name out to lousy restaurants.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“GREAT WAY TO START YOUR HOLIDAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Usually eating in airports is pretty dismal, but this place is amazing. The food is fantastic and you feel as though your holiday has started early. Thoroughly recommend it.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to eat before an overnight flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Made a point of getting the Terminal 5 early getting the gift shopping and duty free out of the way and having a good meal before getting on an overnight flight to Dubai. Absolutely delighted with the quality of the food and service. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Ramsay Plane Food also viewed

 

Been to Gordon Ramsay Plane Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Ramsay Plane Food, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.