We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rosemount Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Steve Biko Way (Off Staines Road), Hounslow TW3 3JQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is too expensive for what it is, the bathroom is ridiculously small, breakfast was ok but the travelodge round the corner would be better.
Also, the noise of the planes woke us up in the morning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    18
    9
    19
See reviews for
5
18
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night with my husband and yes room was very small and bathroom was smaller than small but you sleep there you don't live there spotless, staff were polite and couldn't have been more helpful, location perfect, cost fantastic would stay again :))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I rang to hotel Saturday afternoon to find out how much is the cheapest single room for my brother!i need it just for one night.Girl who picked up the phone told me the cheapest room gonna be £35.Next day I went to the hotel with my brother.Nobody was in reception-I been waiting more then 15minutes!15 min later someone came downstairs to reception-I said I wanna book a single room for my brother just for one night-I called yesterday and girl who answer the phone call said its gonna cost £35!He started to laugh and that's not possible -the cheapest room cost £48 per night!I was shocked and said-i was traveling such a long way-I been waisting my time-girl who answered the phone told me wrong price-that's just ridiculous -it's not professional!I told him I wanna speak to your manager-and he answered-I'm the owner of hotel and asked to go away!Still can't belive it how unrespectable he been talking to customer!And he is owner of hotel!The service is horrible-started from receptionist-who don't even know the prices and ended with owner if hotel!I will never recommend you to go to that hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pudsey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Perhaps it was slightly regal and optimistic of me to have expected my employers to have forked out for a 3 night stay in the Savoy, The Twickenham Marriott or even the local Travelodge. However, when I was informed I would be staying in the delights of inner city Hounslow, and better still in a hotel with a stellar rating of 31% perhaps one comes prepared. After-all I am battled-hardened after some recent comedy ridden hotel experiences.

A drive from Yorkshire to Hounslow should have taken 3.5hours, but when one decides to drive down on British Grand Prix day, please expect this journey to be nearing 6. Now for any northerner who avoids London like the Plague, you should perhaps be aware that Rosemount Hotel, Hounslow lies on the flight path of Europe’s busiest airport (Heathrow). Not only on the flight path, such is the closeness to the airport, time can be easily passed admiring the Pilot’s new slicked back hair, the garish trolly dolly outfits or even dry ones hair using the back-draught of a Boeing 767 engine.

Fortunately for visitors to the Rosemount, double-glazing is installed, but this is counteracted by the lack of air-conditioning. Whilst attempting to sleep in the sauna, guests become accustom to differentiating pitches of Boeing Engines , listening to the local drunk being chucked out of the Wetherspoon’s or listening to the strange wailings from the neighbouring room.

A single room in the Rosemount is a tight affair. The epitome being the “bathroom” which wouldn’t allow you to squeeze a cat in, never mind contemplate swinging it around aimlessly. I’ve never envisioned swinging a cat at any point of my life, but the need to prove a point by spiralling my arms around on the toilet would have had Big Brother directors ushering the psychiatrists in. After maiming my hands on the shower and sink closeby, I sat desolately on the toilet with my legs dangling into the living quarters, and my eyes fixed on the on-looking flight passenger’s who flew past in amazement. I chose to close the blinds for forthcoming visits to the bathroom.

For all these criticisms, Rosemount has a strange way of growing on you. The mostly Eastern European staffs were welcoming and helpful, and they even allowed me to take alcohol and a takeaway to my room. Not that I should have bothered. After seeing a rat leave there on arrival, I decided against the Hounslow Tandoori, and opted for a local Indian with an excellent reputation. After a 1 hour wait, it was the strangest Chicken Tikka Masala I’ve ever seen or tasted before or since. However, the Belgian Stella didn’t disappoint.

Car-parking facilities are on site, although they are unsecured; not much of an issue with a 51reg Clio. On the last morning I trialled the full English Breakfast which was reasonable, although it lost kudos for opting against using Heinz Beans. The bar is well-stocked with alcohol and soft drinks at very reasonable prices for any travelling Yorkshireman.

Let’s get one thing straight, The Rosemount is a cheap 2/3 star hotel placed within throwing distance of Air Traffic Control. The rooms are basic and tight, and the bathroom defies all laws of physics to accommodate a shower/sink/toilet combination in a 3x3 foot box. Despite its uglier sides, I think it was like the unfortunate kid on the front row at school…ugly, spotty not that bright, but one that fights for attention against its bigger, better neighbours. Roger, over and out.

Room Tip: Avid planespotters choose any room. Scared of flying? Don't choose here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Very very poor, everything was terrible about this place. they must of hired stevie wonder to decorate this place. when people say " bathroom was a bit small " thats a very big understatement. The bathroom was tiny that small you had to pull your pants down and then climb in onto the toilet if you need to go. the sink was in the side of your ribs the toilet paper was like leafs. Its that small you can't turn around or do anything. Luckily i only had to stay for one night, The shower itself had half the door on so when the water was on it flooded the outside of the door into the room itself. The place probably has so much potential if was designed right but i've seen better places in downtown baghdad and thats on a good day... Oh ye not to mention the huge sponk stains on the floor/sofa and hand print marks on the wall The moral of the story is do yourself a serious favour and don't disappoint your self or your missus as this is a serious relationship wrecker. sod the rosemount hotel and its horrible polish staff

Room Tip: Choose elsewhere seriously!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What I can say about this hotel in one sentence is: Cheap, very clean, friendly staff but poor maintained.
The room was small but enough for two people, however the bathroom was extremely tiny, not suitable for people with weight problems.
There was not air conditioning in the room, but we didn't need it. Due to the proximity to Heathrow airport, if you leave the window open you can wake up in the morning with the "soft melody" of the planes, however the window was good isolating the noise, so closing them was enough to forget the airport.
The staff of this hotel is very nice and they work hard to make your time with them more pleasant, however the owner could worry a little more about the general condition of the hotel, there are some holes at the walls, some things are broken, nothing important, but the hotel would be nicer if they are fixed.
The location is not too close to the city centre, but the tube is very close to the hotel and you also have night buses in case that you want to go out till late.

Room Tip: Check the noise isolation of the windows or maybe you won't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Rosemount for three nights. Because I was with a group, I could not change rooms or move to another hotel. I was horrified at the level of disrepair and depressing ambiance of this hotel. There were multiple holes in walls, the pull-down window shades were shredded and broken, bed springs were broken, and the entire facility was a testament to the idea that there truly are different levels of service and accommodation. The hotel is not air-conditioned, which meant that on warm June nights, the windows had to remain open. Being on the flightpath for Heathrow prevented sleep, as did the street noise and random shrieking outdoors that took place at all hours of the night. I understand that space is at a premium in London hotels, but if you have any level of claustrophobia, avoid the Rosemount at all costs. I had to stand in the shower to brush my teeth, but fortunately, the shower door was broken. Avoid this sad little excuse for a hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Address: Steve Biko Way (Off Staines Road), Hounslow TW3 3JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosemount Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Hounslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.