We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but not the worst” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rosemount Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rosemount Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosemount Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Steve Biko Way (Off Staines Road), Hounslow TW3 3JQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not the best, but not the worst”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What I can say about this hotel in one sentence is: Cheap, very clean, friendly staff but poor maintained.
The room was small but enough for two people, however the bathroom was extremely tiny, not suitable for people with weight problems.
There was not air conditioning in the room, but we didn't need it. Due to the proximity to Heathrow airport, if you leave the window open you can wake up in the morning with the "soft melody" of the planes, however the window was good isolating the noise, so closing them was enough to forget the airport.
The staff of this hotel is very nice and they work hard to make your time with them more pleasant, however the owner could worry a little more about the general condition of the hotel, there are some holes at the walls, some things are broken, nothing important, but the hotel would be nicer if they are fixed.
The location is not too close to the city centre, but the tube is very close to the hotel and you also have night buses in case that you want to go out till late.

Room Tip: Check the noise isolation of the windows or maybe you won't sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    18
    9
    19
See reviews for
5
18
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Rosemount for three nights. Because I was with a group, I could not change rooms or move to another hotel. I was horrified at the level of disrepair and depressing ambiance of this hotel. There were multiple holes in walls, the pull-down window shades were shredded and broken, bed springs were broken, and the entire facility was a testament to the idea that there truly are different levels of service and accommodation. The hotel is not air-conditioned, which meant that on warm June nights, the windows had to remain open. Being on the flightpath for Heathrow prevented sleep, as did the street noise and random shrieking outdoors that took place at all hours of the night. I understand that space is at a premium in London hotels, but if you have any level of claustrophobia, avoid the Rosemount at all costs. I had to stand in the shower to brush my teeth, but fortunately, the shower door was broken. Avoid this sad little excuse for a hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Rosemount is a good little hotel, it is a little tired but immaculately clean, the staff are very friendly and work extremely hard.
The location is good for Heathrow, but ask for a room at the back and on a higher floor, you can do nothing about the aeroplane noise as its on the flightpath but the rooms at the back are away from the road which is noisy all the time, Hounslow is not the nicest part of London but is convenient for the tube, two stops close by, heathrow is about 7 mins and central London about 35 minutes on the Piccadiliy Line.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back and on a higher floor, you can do nothing about the aeroplane noise as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I knew it was a mistake the moment I was informed that this hotel was booked on my behalf, based on the ratings and awful pictures. It was difficult to locate as the address given by the booking website seemed wrong! The 'lobby' was filthy and the elevator was dirty and rather fetid! The room looked really 'tired' and the lights were dim. The bathroom was so tiny, a broomstick would struggle to fit in. It was awfully noisy in the room due to the sound of the air planes, as it is close to Heathrow airport. The thin walls are 'second to none!' I didn't bother with breakfast as I was not about to eat food prepared in the rather ghastly looking kitchen, which I caught a glimpse of. The telephone and remote control were filthy! The front desk closes at 10.30 pm and i had been shown how to let myself into the hotel if i got in late. I found this rather unsettling. The members of staff were friendly but that's about it. All in all, this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. It has put me off London for a while!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

having to stay in hounslow for work have tried many of the budjet hotels and rate this one as one of the best have tried the master robert ibisbudget crompton guest house and the new travelodge and it comes out top yes the bathroom is small but if you book a dissabled room you get a wet room which is much bigger and as to food its across the rood from the moon under water which is a witherspoons pub with a good cheep menu if your considering staying in the area would say its fine

Room Tip: ask for disabled room for a good sized bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was the only hotel with with rooms left, which obviously tells you something. Cheap, clean, unsecure SMALL car park at rear..staff friendly and doing 1000 things at once. Dont eat in cafe in hotel unless u like microwave food

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a whirlwind trip to London. I'll tell you this much, finding a hotel that's reasonable and has the amenities you need for the duration of your stay at a price you're comfortable paying for isn't easy. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to all London travelers. Bonus is if you're flying in from London Heathrow, all you have to do is hop on the tube line and walk five minutes to the hotel. Simple.

LOCATION:
- 5 minute walk to the Hounslow tube station
- 2 minute walk to the high street for access to a ton of stores and the library
- 9 minute walk to ASDA (Owned by Wal-Mart)

ROOM:
- Clean, neat and basic. Great value for the price.
- Bathroom is the most economical use of space I've ever seen (Toilet, sink and bathroom in approximately three square feet of space). It's a tight space, but clean and all in perfect working condition.
- Our room had a desk (I needed it for work) and great areas to hang coats, towels, gloves, scarves, hat, etc.

DINING OUT:
- There's a Wetherspoons directly across from the hotel called "The Moon Under Water". It's a rustic pub that offers inexpensive fare, pints and wine. You also get the opportunity to meet some of the locals. We had fun talking to one of the lively bartenders and a local who saw we were "techies" and wanted to strike up a conversation. Opens at 9am, so perfect for a full English breakfast at 3.09 GBP.

- Hounslow has a large Asian and Polish community, which means you're in for a treat if you love Indian or Polish food. Restaurants that were recommended were Bombay Wok and Dehli 6. Both are in walking distance from the hotel.

STAFF:
- The staff were hands down great. Each and every person at the Rosemount Hotel made us feel welcome, greeted us with a smile and if we had any questions or issues, they helped to accommodate us.

AMENITIES:
- Free in room wifi. Just ask at the front desk.
- Free parking out back.

TIPS:
- Pick up a visitor Oyster card from the tube station machine for reduced tube travel
- Hit up Poundland, 99p store and Primark for 1 pound Toblerone bars, dishes, glasses, cutlery for utensils to have breakfast and lunch in
- Hit up ASDA for oatmeal, cup of soups, cousous, peanut butter, jam and bread for an inexpensive alternative to breakfast and lunch
- Check out the Wetherspoons pub kitty corner from the hotel. Great value on breakfasts (2 pounds including a beverage), dinners (4-5 pounds) and pints and wine (2 pounds each)

Room Tip: We liked our room a lot on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosemount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemount Hotel

Address: Steve Biko Way (Off Staines Road), Hounslow TW3 3JQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Hounslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 hotels in Hounslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosemount Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rosemount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosemount Hotel Hounslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosemount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.