We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ascott

The Ascott
144 Field End Rd, Eastcote HA5 1RJ, England
020 8868 1772
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 28 Restaurants in Eastcote
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ruislip
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The Ascott is local to me and the wife & I booked in for a Christmas Meal,Jan 30.First time visit and was hopeful despite mixed reviews,as friends recommended Not disappointed good service,and a good meal,generous portions,well cooked.Did not have wine,just coffee & mince pie. .

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    17
    12
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“New Year Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Bought tickets in advance & got there at 7.30pm but bar wasn't serving until 8pm so was just left standing there wondering where the staff where! Just the right amount of people allows in & the DJ was good although midnight count down wasn't too good! but management really need to get their act together as ran out of Pernod by 10.30 & can you believe it out of vodka by 11pm, now that shouldn't have happened as they knew numbers expected & vodka is one of the most popular spirits, staff were embarrassed & manager fled upstairs so a lot of disappointed customers. The atmosphere was good so overall a good night, but pull your finger out & order enough stock on the busiest night of the year!! Well done to the bar staff who didn't even get a break to see the new year in, or extra pay, management shame on you!!!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Friday 13th! (December) no problem! Christmas Lunch with 18 other ladies was a great success, the meal served efficiently and nothing was too much trouble. Food was good and the wine reasonable. the only snage you have book the Christmas Lunch in advance, however my rump steak yesterday (19th) wasvery tender and accompanied with reasonable vegetables and again efficent service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Regular but underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

As my SO works close to the station and I come home from work via Eastcote, this is the ideal location for us to meet for a drink or bite mid-week. Unfortunately, apart from the recent renovation (previously I'm pretty sure they just parked an ambulance outside on a Saturday night to save time) that's really the only thing The Ascott has going for it. I've been several times now, and my experiences have included:

-Ordering a round of three drinks (one of them being a glass of water!) and having to send the order back FIVE TIMES because the barmaid got every single drink wrong at least once. She didn't seem to give a crap, either.
-Ordering fish and chips on a Sunday and getting maybe fifteen chips on the plate with some very thin fish.
-Ordering one pudding and being brought another. When we said it was wrong, instead of resolving it quickly (the other pudding had arrived and was waiting to start) the incredibly stroppy barmaid brought the receipt over as 'proof' of what we had ordered (rather than just proof that our order was taken down wrong). We had to argue with her (which took longer than it should have because she doesn't have very good English) before she stomped off and brought us the right item and her attitude was terrible, despite us being the ones waiting.
-Ordering a soft drink and sending it back FOUR times because it was very flat.
-Food being cold when it's arrived.

Despite complaints every time, neither I nor anyone I've been with have ever been offered anything by way of compensation or as a good will gesture, which I wouldn't mind if I had received an even slightly genuine apology rather than the shrugs, attitude or outright hostility we've been treated to thus far.

On top of these things there's an overall stinginess to the place. If you ask for ketchup or mayo they'll put a tiny amount into a pot and bring it to you rather than bringing you a bottle or keeping bottles on the table. If you ask for a pint of coke or to top up a mixer they won't fill the glass unless you ask and then they'll try and charge extra. Food quantities are small-as someone else said, the two for 9.99 looks like a great deal until you see the size and quality of them. If you ask for the flame grill deal, they'll allow you to order any drink with it (as advertised as included on the menu) and only if you query the bill will they tell you that only very very specific drinks are included. They even went so far as to actively encourage me to order a different drink to the one specified without once telling me I would be charged extra, which given that I specifically asked for the 'deal' was very poor form. Bills will often be higher than they should be and as receipts aren't itemised (or mine haven't been, anyway) it's very hard to point out what you've been overcharged for.

I may keep going there as it's convenient, but as I've just seen from another review that there's another pub a little way up the road we'll probably take our business elsewhere from now on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lunch with an old friend. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Visited for lunch with a friend, the food is good value and is tasty. The staff were friendly and courteous though took some time to get served at the bar even though no-one else was waiting. Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ascott also viewed

Eastcote, Greater London
Eastcote, Greater London
 
Eastcote, Greater London
Eastcote, Greater London
 

Been to The Ascott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ascott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.