We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could easily be so much better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Liverpool

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Liverpool to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Liverpool
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Fallows Way | Whiston, Whiston, Knowsley L35 1RZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Could easily be so much better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Well to start with the positives, the staff were extremely professional, polite and helpful, and by far the best asset the hotel has. I really was very impressed.
The building itself was clearly built to a high standard and this is evident in the fixtures and fittings, which although a few years old are clearly good quality. Unfortunately it generally feels like the place needs a bit of TLC. It needs a decent coat of paint and just a general tidy up. I wouldn't say a full refurbishment is called for, but some general tidying up would make a huge difference.
I also had a meal in the restaurant. I ordered prawns, which unfortunately were very over cooked, almost inedible in fact. The starter however was delicious.
Would I go back? Possibly. The gym and pool are great and included in the price. If it's tidied up and the food sorted, I would happily return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    86
    69
    60
    51
See reviews for
55
108
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here two weekends in a row for a course at the local hospital. Was disappointed to find out that the pool closes at 8pm (meaning I couldn't use it!). Room was clean.

On the second weekend, I was put in a room that had a connecting door to the room next door - the door had an inch gap at the bottom, meaning I could hear everything going on in the room next door. This was especially a problem the couple next door had a new baby, that was up all hours for feeds. And it had a good pair of lungs.

I complained about this and received a night's refund.

I booked this hotel so I could use the pool/sauna after a days work - but because it closed early I wasn't able to do this. The premier inn nearby is cheaper and the rooms are nicer - I'd recommend this over the De Vere.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband and I had dinner at the hotel tonight and were very diasppointed. The restaurant is very dingy, with blinds covering all the windows, despite the grounds being quite pleasant. The staff were friendly but wearing casual clothes, which is not really appropriate. And the food was not very special, yet the menu was expensive. My husband had the goan fish curry and I had chicken and king prawn skewer but neither of us enjoyed the meals. We wont be eating there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We recently returned from this hotel and were really let down by it all.

Firstly, on arriving at our room for a family of 4 it consisted of a double room and a sofa bed, however on contacting reception this was rectified and we were moved room.

The rooms were not of Devere standard.

The swimming pool was just ok and breakfast was not good, tasteless and not a good choice. Also, the tongs kept on dropping onto floor and these were picked up and put back on side without being washed.

The glasses which we drank from were not clean and the lager was flat.

Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel fabulous staff. We stayed with a large family group and used all the facilities. The food, service and welcome was excellent. Easy access into Liverpool, free car parking and good leisure facilities. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here for three nights after staying in another de vere village hotel late last year and this hotel did not disappoint. Check in was quick and receptionist lovely. We easily found our room which was clean, tidy, bright and airy with everything you could need. We used the pool on a few occassions and this was clean and quiet so was very relaxing. Breakfast was nice all three mornings and the onky fault we could find was that on two mornings the milk jug on the table needed refilling (no real issue though). One of the best things was this hotel is with in walking distance of the train station so on two days we explored Liverpool and southport aswell as other areas of Merseyside for very little with a rail rover card.
All in all a great few days at a lovely hotel and will be using again I'm sure.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I've stayed here quite a few times recently on business and it gets better every time, the facilities are brilliant especially the gym and swimming pool. The bar & restaurant is excellent and the rooms are spacious and clean with sky channels. But most of all the staff are fantastic, always smiling and happy and they really go out of their way to make your stay a unforgettable one. Whenever I'm in the area this is the first hotel I look for

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Liverpool

Address: Fallows Way | Whiston, Whiston, Knowsley L35 1RZ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Knowsley > Whiston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Whiston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Liverpool 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Liverpool is situated just 400 yards from the main junction of the M57and M62 motorways and is a great base for exploring the busy centres of Liverpool and Warrington. Located near to Whiston and Lime Street Stations it is ideal for quick access to Liverpool City Centre and Liverpool John Lennon Airport is just 8 miles away. Village Urban Resort Liverpool has 63 comfortable bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, a cafe, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Hotel, Liverpool Hotel Whiston
Village Hotel Leisure Liverpool
Village Hotel Whiston
Village Urban Resort Liverpool Whiston, Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.