We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not band” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lodge Lane, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not band”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Had one night stay at the holiday inn, on arrival asked if it was possible to have a double room as couldn't have one at time of booking, the staff were great and gave us an executive room which was lovely, small but clean tidy and had everything we wanted, with a big flat screen tv!
We hadn't had a great day as rained all day so was looking forward to our evening meal and swim after, the meal was exceptional couldn't fault in any way, things were looking up!
We h
Then headed to the pool for a swim to our great disappointment they had just closed the pool as a child had bee sick. Not the hotels fault of cause but a great disappointment as had booked this hotel as has a pool, and was looking forward to it, as this place is middle of no where there isn't anything else to do. Had to go back to room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was pleased to read we were able to change your booking to your preferred room type on arrival and that you enjoyed evening meal, however please accept my apologies for your disappoinment caused by the closure of the pool while it was cleaned.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    151
    71
    28
    17
See reviews for
79
116
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went to this Hotel on a National Holidays trip and found it to be better than anticipated.
The only down side to the National Holidays, is that you all have to eat together, at an allocated time, which turned out to be 40 minutes after we had checked in. No time to unpack or even relax! We were a party of 6, so when we arrived at the restaurant, we were told to sit in a certain area, which was mostly full of people on our coach. We wanted a table for 6, but were told to split up & sit with other people we didn't know, as the vast number of free tables in the restaurant were for "other people". We insisted that we sat together as we had booked together, and only after involving the manager, were we "allowed" to do so.......but only on the proviso that we ate very quickly, as "other people" would be coming in soon. Anyhow, the fiasco was salvaged once we got our food. There was a cold buffet / soup for starters and a vast array of hot food for the main course (on a serve yourself counter).
There were at least 6 choices of hot food (Lancashire Hot Pot/ Pork in cider/ Chicken chasseur/ Veg curry/ Lasagne / a Roast....it went on! All the food, including desserts, was lovely.
Similarly the breakfast was very good also, so compliments to the Chef.
Shame that the restaurant seating arrangements let the hotel down. Please sort this out with National Holidays!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I regret that the seating arrangements at dinner did not meet your expectations, however it is good to read that you enjoyed our food at both dinner and breakfast, and that you send your compliments to the Chef.
Please be assured that I will share all your feedback with the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

walked into hotel greeted by lovely smiling friendly staff,great atmosphere,super room ok it was an executive room hotel clean,lovely bar area, very relaxing,didnt use indoor swimming pool but had a look,great size ideal family with children.breakfast again nice staff loads of choice,of food and endless coffee and tea if you want,great position for haydock races 10 min walk,would recommend hotel,and would def stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that not only will you stay with us again, but will also recommend us to others.
I will ensure that I share your feedback with the team - we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Yorkshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked this hotel on a coach trip National Holidays and we were well satisfied. Checking into hotel extremely efficient as coach driver collected envelopes for passengers and gave them out on the coach. The evening meal was excellent as was the breakfast. Both meals buffet and hot plates hot for hot food. Rooms clean and quiet. Excellent sleep quality and swimming pool good. Plenty of taxis available for guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Ystrady
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's good read that you found the team very efficient and friendly and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.
I will share your feedback with the team and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

My first impression when I first arrived at the hotel is: it's in the middle of nowhere! No shops or restaurants within walking distance and we don't see any taxis line at the hotel. However what makes our stay really pleasant is the staff here, they are friendly, polite and helpful. The ground scenery surrounding the hotel is beautiful with lots of greens. For transportation, we could easily book a taxi with the hotel front desk and it doesn't cost us extra to travel as compared to using a metered taxi. However we did encounter a slight problem getting a taxi back to the hotel from Liverpool. Some taxi drivers might not want to drive all the way to Haydock due to traffic and distance.

Food served in the hotel restaurant is good too which makes it okay for us even though there are no other restaurants outside the hotel. The fire alarm went off on the first night of our stay but there are very clear directions of all fire exits around the hotel and the matter was also quickly resolved without causing any trouble for the guests. The room is spacious and clean, but there is no safe in the room, and the bathroom also shows signs of ageing though it really doesn't bother us much. There is a pool table and slot machine by the bar to keep us entertained in the hotel.

All in all our stay is really pleasant and satisfactory, the only setback is the location which is really not the hotel's problem as we came here to visit Anfield but we could not get any room in Liverpool so the next nearest option is to stay here. However if your business is around this area then I would strongly recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear euMich
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's good to read that you found the team friendly, polite and helpful and that the fire alarm did not cause you any trouble. Thank you for strongly recommending our hotel - please be assured that I will share all your feedback with the team, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We booked in here as we had two events to attend in Liverpool and Manchester so we wanted to save ourselves travelling time. We chose this hotel over the Warrington one due to it having a pool. We only booked during the week but managed to secure a room. Check in was easy, room very clean and spacious, staff friendly and helpful and pool nice too.There was a wedding on in the afternoon and evening and when we arrived back later in the day although reception and bar area were buzzing we couldn't hear a thing from our room and slept really well. Didn't eat here so unable to make any comments on the food. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's good to read that you had a great stay with us and that you will definitely stay with us again - we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here several times now, the booking in was faultless and all of the staff without fail we're friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant as I cannot sit anywhere near air conditioning units. The room was of good size the bed was comfortable, excellent shower but bathroom a bit small but adequate, nice soft white towels of good size. Had DBB rate so had evening meal, mixed and matched from the a la carte menu at a small supplement, very good touch. Breakfast was excellent, had good choice of hot and cold items. If you are visiting Haydock or travelling on M6 I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. Only negative wi fi is expensive but understand that this will be free shortly under a revamp of facilities. Excellent stay, very good value and very friendly and helpful staff. Did not use the spa so have not commented on this. Well Done - excellent !!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haydock2014, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
It's good to read that you've stayed with us several times before and that you enjoyed this stay too. I will share your great feedback with the team, and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Address: Lodge Lane, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Newton Le Willows
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Le Willows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Haydock Hotel is superbly located just off Junction 23 of the M6 next to Haydock Park Racecourse and serves as a gateway to the entire North West Region. In close proximity to Manchester and Liverpool via the A580 that links the two cities. Also within a 15 mile reach of the hotel are the towns of St Helens, Warrington, Wigan, Leigh and Bolton.The hotel offers Standard, Executive and Accessible Rooms all offering High Speed Internet Access and all are Air Conditioned.The Holiday Inn Haydock combines an excellent range of facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free* The hotel has full Leisure and Fitness facilities, Restaurants and Bar serving food and drinks throughout the day, 24 hour room service. The hotel also caters for Conference and Banqueting events for up to 180 people making it an ideal location for Weddings, Seminars and Training courses. Parking (including a total of 4 accessible parking bays) is free for all guests using the hotels facilities The hotel makes the ideal base for visiting local attractions including Haydock Racecourse, Liverpool , Trafford Centre, Manchester United Football Club, Manchester City Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Everton Football Club, Wigan FC and Aintree Racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Haydock m6, Jct 23 Hotel Newton Le Willows
Newton Le Willows Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Newton Le Willows
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 Newton Le Willows, Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.