We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast after a good nights sleep” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lodge Lane, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast after a good nights sleep”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We attended a wedding at the Holiday Inn in Haydock, just next door to the racecourse. They cleaned the room early so that we could take up occupancy before the 1pm wedding, giving us time for a quick brush up. The room was on the fourth floor, no view to speak of, but clean and tidy with an assortment of pillows (firm or soft). There was a large (32") digital television with Freeview stations and added movies at an extra cost. We had a really good nights sleep, no discernible noise from the corridor. They have two lifts in place near reception which take you up to the top (4th) floor.
The next morning we had a lovely breakfast which included black puddings, hash browns, and the normal bacon, eggs, etc. There was a good selection of fruits, cold meats, yoghurts and juices on offer, all in a buffet style help yourself. As we were part of a function in the hotel, we got a really good rate for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Gagzy

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock. I am pleased that we were able to provide you with an early check-in, that you had a good night sleep and you enjoyed our breakfast . We hope
to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    130
    62
    26
    16
See reviews for
69
102
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the HI Haydock on Saturday 23 March. We were attending a wedding at Haydock Racecourse and this hotal is a 10 min walk or a £3 taxi journey. We decided to make a bit of a day out and arrived at 2pm to use the health club facilities. The pool sauna and steam room are all in good order and nice and clean.

There seems to be a bit of mixed bag with regards to the bedrooms. Whilst we could have had an upgrade due to PC Platinum, the desk had recommded that we take a standard room on the fourth floor. Seemingly, the exec rooms are above the function room and there was a wedding on that night. The room was perfectly acceptable and when some friends popped in on their way out mentioned that our bathroomwas bigger than theirs!

We took breakfast at 09.45 and there was still plenty of choice. It is standard fayre but it is all cooked and presented well.

All of the staff we encountered, this included house keeping, reception and restaurant were all extremely pleasant.

Final observation is that the hotel is showing a bit of wear around the edges. Also, a little disappointed that HI continue to try to stiff customers for WIFI access (£5 for an hour). Apart from that a nice stay for £50 for two B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear motos_grad
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock. I was pleased to read that you took advantage of our leisure facilities during your stay and that all the staff that you came across were pleasant.
I am sorry that you were disappointed in our internet charges however this is an area that we are currntly looking into as a company. As you had an enjoyable stay overall. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

As a regular Holiday inn guest I am aware that across the spectrum some hotels try more than others . The Haydock falls to the lower end in my experience . In an ' Executive ' room having poorly repaired sink area , worn-through upholstery on the seating and noisy heating pipes that wake you unexpectedly all contributed to a less than good stay. The waiting staff were all very friendly and responsive and attentive , so please if the hotel management read these reviews , help you staffs efforts by giving this place a makeover!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Trinitraveller963,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologise for the dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay.

I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and attentive toward you, but was disappointed to read that the hotel furniture did not meet your expectations and that your sleep was disturbed by the plumbing. Your comments have been shared with the maintenance team for them to action accordingly.

I appreciate your comments and hope that you will consider visiting us again to experience the hotel in its true light. Should you wish to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Booked this hotel on the holiday inn website, received a confirmation email and confirmation no. from IHG, but was phoned at 20:30 (!) on the night of my booking by reception to be told there were no rooms left and I would have to go to Warrington! If I had booked Warrington originally it would have cost £13 less!
Apparently they left it till 20:30 as they were accepting guests until the hotel was full and tried to blame there booking system (there own international website booking system!!)
If you're travelling with a family or have no transport... beware!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear , Smithy036

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologise for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced as a result of being out-booked. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Should you wish to discuss the matter further, please contact me directly at the hotel

We appreciate your loyalty and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Exactly halfway between New Forest and Perthshire this hotel is perfectly situated at 250 miles from both to make driving a pleasure. Just North of Manchester and Liverpool Motorway Junctions. The rooms are a good size, the lifts always work the buffet evenings are fantastic, the TV's are large, the water is hot the location is quiet (even though not far from motorway) facilities are excellent, staff are friendly, chef is excellent ( I asked for a dish not on the menu and it was prepared beautifully) etc etc

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear richardnailor

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was delighted to read that Haydock is your favourite Holiday Inn - please be assured that I will pass all your great feedback onto the team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skirlaugh near Hull
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed one night at the Holiday Inn, Haydock on a Bed, Breakfast and Dinner package, and were very impressed by the quality of the rooms and the staff. Our room was exceptionally clean, and the food was excellent, with a good choice of Dinner items and a first class breakfast.
The only criticism that we have is that the hotel chose to add a "discretionary" 10% gratuity to our dinner bill, and did not draw our attention to it. I had it removed, and chose my own level of tip. I strongly object to having a gratuity added to my bill anywhere, as I am sure many people pay it either because they do not see it is there, or are too embarrassed to ask for it to be removed, even when they have already left a tip at the table. Apparently it was mentioned in the (very) small print on the menu, but we certainly did not see it.
I am sorry that this has taken up most of my comments, because we really enjoyed our short stay, but maybe the hotel will take note!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear skirlaughtravellers

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock.
I was delighted to read that you feel Haydock is one of the best Holiday Inns and that you were impressed by the quality of our rooms and our team. I will certainly take onboard your feedback regarding lack of communication of the discretionary gratuity which was added to you bill. I'm pleased that overall you enjoyed your short stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Myself, husband and two children aged 10,and 6 stayed for 1 night this weekend. We had a day out at knowsley safari park and decided to stay here as an extra treat. We found the hotel good. The room was adequate for us all, the children having a sofa bed in our room, it was a bit cramped but fine for a night or two, and all very clean and comfy. The leisure facilities are very good, decent sized swimming pool, sauna etc.
The food in the restaurant was good, the kids ate free although we thought the children's menu was small.
Above all the hotel staff were excellent, friendly and competent and willing to please.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Ruthhughes1

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Trip Advisor website following your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Haydock. I was pleased to read that you felt we offered you very good value for money and that the staff were friendly and willing to please.
We hope to welcome you back should you be in the area again.

Regards
Ruth Brownbill
Hotel Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Address: Lodge Lane, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Newton Le Willows
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Newton Le Willows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Haydock Hotel is superbly located just off Junction 23 of the M6 next to Haydock Park Racecourse and serves as a gateway to the entire North West Region. In close proximity to Manchester and Liverpool via the A580 that links the two cities. Also within a 15 mile reach of the hotel are the towns of St Helens, Warrington, Wigan, Leigh and Bolton.The hotel offers Standard, Executive and Accessible Rooms all offering High Speed Internet Access and all are Air Conditioned.The Holiday Inn Haydock combines an excellent range of facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free* The hotel has full Leisure and Fitness facilities, Restaurants and Bar serving food and drinks throughout the day, 24 hour room service. The hotel also caters for Conference and Banqueting events for up to 180 people making it an ideal location for Weddings, Seminars and Training courses. Parking (including a total of 4 accessible parking bays) is free for all guests using the hotels facilities The hotel makes the ideal base for visiting local attractions including Haydock Racecourse, Liverpool , Trafford Centre, Manchester United Football Club, Manchester City Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Everton Football Club, Wigan FC and Aintree Racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Haydock m6, Jct 23 Hotel Newton Le Willows
Newton Le Willows Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Newton Le Willows
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 Newton Le Willows, Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.