We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable weekend break!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lodge Lane, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Doncaster
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“enjoyable weekend break!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We as 4 couples stayed sat 27th and sun 28th oct on b&b plus dinner as a base whilst going to aintree races. We tried to check in at noon on way to races and managed to get 1room to leave cases until we returned(the lady on reception could do with some customer relation training,there is no need to be so blunt and unfriendly). We had a 3course dinner on a table for 8 and the quality of food and service by the restaurant staff was excellent! The rooms were very pleasant and clean. Breakfast about as good as any we have had(hot food replenished regularly). Dinner again on the sunday was top notch although service somewhat slower. All in all a most enjoyable weekend apart from 1thing-- I know that beer or lager is more expensive in hotels but to charge £7-50 for a 250ml glass of wine when you can buy the same wine in a shop at £5 a bottle is too much to bare-come on holiday inn its cost you the 5th green circle!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: get a double or twin with sofa bed and you get bigger room for same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Marknewson,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us.

I am pleased that the hotel was able to provide you with an early check-in, allowing you time to prepare for the races at leisure and that your dining experiences were positive.

Your feedback regarding the cost of beverages has been made available to our Head Office Food and Beverage Development team for their consideration.

I appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back to the hotel for future race dates.

Regards

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    151
    71
    28
    17
See reviews for
79
116
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Had a 1 night stay here at the weekend.
Good location and nice rooms as you have to expect with the room rate you pay with holiday inn.
Good quite location off the motorway which makes it handy.
For the downside.
I prob stay in this chain of hotel once a month. And have always been pleases with the manners and service given. So much so, that I write to acknowledge this too.
But on this occasion right from checking in the staff were rude ( sorry maybe too general statement, the two I dealt with during the stay were). Right from check in we were the only ones waiting there and wIed a couple of mins for acknowledgement from a member of staff that was right across the desk from us on her computer, her greeting was a look over the top of her glasses and a ' are u ok?' Greeting.... My response was sorry I must of miss heard you. She then said can I help you, but proceeded with the check in with pure rudeness.... What's is wrong with .. Good afternoon can I assist you today... I hope you have a nice stay.
Any advice or help that was required during the stay was a burden on them and they made you feel this way.
To top it off I had forgot our toothbrushes, the hol inn promise is they will replace any toiletries essentials you forget on your stay.... Not here, I was told they were waiting for a delivery so had none great. So in future I cannot book a hol inn with full faith they will deliver. Shame.
I must say this is the first stay in the chain that has had service like this..... So buck up your ideas and learn from your colleagues else where... There is no excuse for not delivering basic amazing service, it costs nothing, you just need to want to give it.
Not to hol inn GM at haydock: Please don't give any generic ' I'm do sorry on this occasion reply rubbish'. That means nothing, just sort the service out for your future guests and give them a great customer experience, like I said it costs nothing!!! You just need to want to do it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear E E,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay.

Your feedback regarding the friendliness of staff and availability of additional toiletries has been shared with both Reception and Housekeeping Managers in order that they can take the necessary steps to improve service delivery.

I appreciate your comments and hope that you will consider us again when next in the area. Should you wish to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Regards

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have memories of staying here in the late 90's when this property was a Forte Posthouse.

My latest stay was 2 nights in October 2012 and I booked an Executive room.

To be honest not much has changed. Rooms are the same except for a lick of paint, flat screen tv's, airconditioning and curved shower rail.

I phoned in advance and was delighted to have a 9am check-in authorised so I left Oxford at 6am.

My room neat and tidy and I was grateful for a few hours sleep as everyone else got up for work.

The mini-bar was fully stocked, the bed was very comfortable and housekeeping did not disturb me.

This hotel is very popular with the business community because of its prime location, 2 minutes from the M6.

Will I return again? Yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Lucky_Oxford,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Haydock. Thank you for your kind words.

I’m pleased that the team reacted to your request and arranged an early check-in, allowing you to beat the traffic and catch up on a few hours sleep.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Haydock.

Regards

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

A lovely holiday inn in a rural setting. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Food was above average and typical english breakfast was good. The rooms were clean and large with two comfortable beds. The locality was rural and quiet and if one was interested near a horse race track. We stayed two nights and I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear 2togo45,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Haydock.

I’m glad that you enjoyed your two night stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Haydock.

Regards

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stay at this hotel quite a bit for work and it is normally great. We ate in the restaurant and the main meals were lovely. My partner ordered an apple dessert but unfortunately this was too sour for even him to eat. We advised the waiter and it was taken off our bill. Apart from that the hotel is lovely & quiet and close to the motorway and the racecourse if required!

There is a great little pub about a 10minute walk down the road if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear ShortieLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Haydock.

I am pleased that your regular visits to the hotel leave a positive impression and that the restaurant team reacted well to your dessert query.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Haydock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

As usual the staff make you feel like your at home while away from it. Facilities first rate thanks for yet another great stay. Food has improved greatly over the last few months. Only thing I would say is I can not get a pillow which suits me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear William F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the Tripadvisor website following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Haydock.

It’s great to read that the staff makes your stays with us feel homely. Please let us know, at your next visit, what your preferred pillow choice is and we will upgrade your profile accordingly.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Haydock.

Regards

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was told on arrival that I was booked into a smoking room and as the Hotel was fully booked thats all they

Very bad experience, smelly room, gym was old and tired, the changing rooms were musty and food choice was limited.

Top tip, dont booked into a smoking room, even the corridoor smells like a 1980 club!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Response_TA, Manager at Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear BaggieBish,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced with your room allocation during your stay. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

I appreciate your comments and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel. Should you wish to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Yours Sincerely

David Pickering
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23

Address: Lodge Lane, Newton Le Willows WA12 0JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Newton Le Willows
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton Le Willows
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Haydock Hotel is superbly located just off Junction 23 of the M6 next to Haydock Park Racecourse and serves as a gateway to the entire North West Region. In close proximity to Manchester and Liverpool via the A580 that links the two cities. Also within a 15 mile reach of the hotel are the towns of St Helens, Warrington, Wigan, Leigh and Bolton.The hotel offers Standard, Executive and Accessible Rooms all offering High Speed Internet Access and all are Air Conditioned.The Holiday Inn Haydock combines an excellent range of facilities for both Business and Leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free* The hotel has full Leisure and Fitness facilities, Restaurants and Bar serving food and drinks throughout the day, 24 hour room service. The hotel also caters for Conference and Banqueting events for up to 180 people making it an ideal location for Weddings, Seminars and Training courses. Parking (including a total of 4 accessible parking bays) is free for all guests using the hotels facilities The hotel makes the ideal base for visiting local attractions including Haydock Racecourse, Liverpool , Trafford Centre, Manchester United Football Club, Manchester City Football Club, Liverpool Football Club, Everton Football Club, Wigan FC and Aintree Racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Haydock m6, Jct 23 Hotel Newton Le Willows
Newton Le Willows Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Newton Le Willows
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23 Newton Le Willows, Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.