We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent !!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Market Street, Newton Le Willows, England
09125 228458
Improve this listing
Price range: $29 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Have been trying to find a good curry restaurant for approx. 5 years....and I have now found it !........................need I say more ............

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Always Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The food is so good here that we eat there every Friday evening. Ambia's staff are very friendly, courteous and good at their job. If you want a less hot Madras or Vindaloo, so that you get the taste but not the heat, it is no problem. All meals are cooked fresh.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great meal and good choice of options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Encouraged by the Tripadvisor reviews, a group of four of us went to Taste of India, having been very disappointed by our usual Newton-le-Willows Indian restaurant on the last few visits. Despite living locally for many years, we'd not been before so I booked a table, however we were surprised to find that the restaurant was empty when we arrived. I guess this is a sign of recessionary times. It was also a bonus being able to park right outside.

The staff were great and looked after us well. We all chose different dishes and everything was good and fresh. The chapatis are definitely the best I've tasted for a long time. The portions were generous and reluctantly I had to leave some, although it was delicious. We will definitely return!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Reasonable place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went with my friend and had a good evening. The place was not too busy so we were seated quite quickly after having a drink in the bar area. Food was good but could have done with a bit more spice to it, I usually do for medium but my garlic ginger chicken would have come into the mild category. Everything did appear to be made from scratch though and not from bought in sauces which was good. Portions were really huge, asked for plenty of garlic on my garlic naan and it was just about ok, not sure what you would get if you didn't ask for this, but it was quite light and fluffy. Staff were a little too attentive at times and tried to whip our plates away before we had quite finished, which made us feel a bit rushed even though the restaurant was only about a third full. Must say they were all very polite and nice though which was very pleasant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian in Warrington area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Have been going to restaurant for about 6 years food always perfect very clean,friendly staff can't fault it.Billy Webster.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

Newton Le Willows, Merseyside
Newton Le Willows, Merseyside
 
Newton Le Willows, Merseyside
Newton Le Willows, Merseyside
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.