We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed on way up to Scotland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Haydock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Haydock to your Saves list
Thistle Haydock
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Hanpshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Stayed on way up to Scotland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on our way up from the South Coast to Glasgow, as part of a coach holiday.
The hotel is modern and attractive and very close to the motorway, junction 23 of the M6. It is ideal for Haydock Park race course.
Our room was on the ground floor, very spacious and clean. It was quite a long way to walk, didn't realize just how far until we started counting the rooms and found that ours was at the end of the corridor! If you have any mobility issues, you must make this clear when you check in. My husband has breathing problems, we didn't tell reception, and it was too far for him to walk comfortably.
Our dinner and breakfast the next morning was excellent. The waiting staff were attentive and there was a good selection of food.
The drinks were on the expensive side, but you expect to pay these prices in hotels.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to overlook the garden, but if you can't walk too far, ask for one nearer rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Really sorry that you had a long walk to your room. If you return in the future please feel free to contact our reception team direct and that can deal with any requests prior to arrival. It's really lovely of you to say that your breakfast and Dinner was excellent the restaurant team will be really pleased when I pass on your comments. Hope you had a great time in Glasgow and a lovely holiday.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    117
    55
    21
    12
See reviews for
53
112
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

stayed here on my birthday (wife booked as surprise) was going to see deacon blue concert in Liverpool (14/12/2013) had dinner /breakfast.both meals were very good,service was excellent,think the girl that was in charge of the restaurant was very well organised.think she was foreign.overall the room was very clean & spacious.check in/out smoothly.what else can I say excellent.next time in Liverpool ideal location.will b back!

Room Tip: as far away from reception as you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Hi Roy,

Really glad to hear that you had a Lovely Stay with us and so pleased that your wife chose our hotel for you birthday treat. It's so nice that you make comments about our service being excellent and would choose to stay with us the next time you visit Liverpool. If you enjoy a concert such as Deacon Blue, keep an eye out for the music nights at Haydock Racecourse. It's just over the road from us and we are in a perfect position for a cheeky summer weekend away.

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is one of those big hotels with a long way to walk if you get a room on the opposite side to reception as I did. However everything else is great. Staff are very friendly and helpful, food good and it's not too expensive . You wouldn't stay a week but for a night or weekend it's got all you need if you want to be close to the M6 (you can't hear it) and near lots of other places.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Holden1950,

It is so nice to be told that the staff here are "Friendly and Helpful". I am really pleased that you were happy with your stay, Even though you had a long walk to your room. I hope you return in the future and please feel free to call in advance request a room a little closer to reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A one night stay booked at short notice for a two day shopping trip at the Trafford Centre; only 15 mins away up the motorway (accidents not withstanding) and a reasonable alternative to Manchester hotels south of the Trafford Centre.

Reasonably priced at £79 for the night including breakfast, and the main hotel was in good condition but the rest of the hotel not so - the corridors were looking very battered in places, carpets taped down in the corridors, and the room itself needed some TLC - especially around the bathroom where the base of the bath looked like it needed a good scrub and the grouting and caulking needed redoing to remove the grimey appearance in places.

TV selection is poor, and not many hotels these days don't have some sort of movie option. Wifi was difficult to connect to and intermittent with regular drop outs on multiple devices - but free so can't complain too much, BUT they do make a big fuss about it so suggest they get it fixed. Tea/coffee/milk supplies minimal for a hotel of this supposed quality, and really needed a minibar or fridge for any drinks taken back to the room.

Slight road noise from the adjacent motorway and local roads, but not intrusive.

Access to the hotel just off a main junction was HELL as we arrived at evening rush hour - the roundabout just before the hotel turn off is an absolute NIGHTMARE, with traffic crossing multiple lanes at high speed all over the place - like dodgems. Not the hotel's fault but be aware of what time you arrive at it!

Bar prices very expensive - only had a small bottle of lemonade, cost a fortune, but on the plus side breakfast was good, and the staff were extremely friendly. A very pleasant young lady served at breakfast and another member of staff gave excellent alternatives to the trafford centre for shopping - both assets to the company and to be commended.

Stayed in thistle hotels a few times in the distant past and have to say from this stay, standards are slipping slightly, Wouldnt have a problem staying again though for another overnighter,

Didnt check at booking and found on arrival they had a pool - should have brought my trunks - so cant comment on it. Maybe next time.

Room Tip: Ask for one close to the reception. We had one miles down past the conference suites and could have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Worldtraveller04

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with some very constructive feedback. It is alway nice to recieve positive comments but it is always helpful to get a "heads up" on things. I am really pleased to hear that you found some of our breakfast staff to be "assets to the company", That is a really lovely thing to say and it will be past on. Glad to hear that you will stay again, please don't hessitate to get in touch with further feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Booked meal in the resturant with a stay over. The whole night was a great success from the time we arrived. Reception staff freindly and welcoming. The room was very comftable and clean. The meal was exceptional could not faulf anything. Total praise to the hardworking staff with two partys and a wedding to cope with brilliant. will be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Mlloyd1965,

I am really happy to hear that you thought our New Years Eve was a great success. It is wonderfuld that you found you meal in the restaurant to be exceptional and a really nice gesture that you prasied all the hard working staff. Thank you for your comments and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked a table for 4 people in the Thistle Haydock in their grand marque - dinner, DJ, Piper and Fireworks. Excellent night from start to finish. We were piped into the hotel on arrival, the food was excellent and the waiting staff were very efficient and friendly, the Piper of course was wonderful and the fireworks were breathtaking. All in all a wonderful evening had by all - many thanks to all the staff at the Haydock for making our New Year one to remember for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam C, Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Tourists2011,

Its really fantastic to hear that you had such a great time here on New Years Eve. Its even better to hear that you thought the food was excellent, the waiting staff friendly and the fireworks breathtaking. Thank you so much for your kind comments, they will be past on to the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the hotel yesterday. We are writing a review because everyone should know just how special this hotel is. We were made to feel like royalty,truly spoiled. Kath, the wedding coordinator, has simply been amazing from booking to seeing us arrive! Martin and Peter were wonderful throughout the day and everyone just made it magical. Rooms were fabulous and all our guests were complimentary of everything. Thank you Thistle, could not have wished for more.
Mr and Mrs Ganley x

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Ganley

Firstly many congratulations! We are absolutely delighted we could contribute to your special day in such a positive way. The team will be very pleased to read your great comments, in particular Kath, Peter and Martin. Thank you for choosing Thistle Haydock for your wedding venue and we wish you a long and happy marriage.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Haydock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Haydock

Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Haydock 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by attractive landscaped gardens and designed around a beautiful central courtyard, Thistle Haydock is a Georgian mansion-style hotel with all the modern conveniences you need whether you’re here for business or pleasure. Located between Liverpool and Manchester, and within three minutes drive of the M6 (Jct 23), we’re ideally placed for business and other events, as well as a day at the races at the neighbouring Haydock Park racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Haydock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Thistle Haydock Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Haydock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.