We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Haydock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Haydock to your Saves list
Thistle Haydock
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
England, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very good but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Went to a wedding. Outside area and marquis brilliant. Good rooms. Good food. My only quibble was the extortionate price of the drinks. The marquis area was also dearer than the main bar. If they charged less for the drinks people wouldn't be bringing their own !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review and I am really pleased to hear that you had a brilliant time in the Marquee for the wedding you attended. Please do contact us directly if you wish to discuss the prices further. We do price ourselves competitively against similar standard venues giving the same standard of services and we are unfortunately unable to compete with local public house prices. I will ensure your comments are shared with the team and I am glad that overall you had a very good stay with us.

Best Regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    117
    55
    21
    12
See reviews for
53
112
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here over the weekend with a few other people and we all found our rooms to be very comfortable and clean the lady at reception was very helpful and polite at check in which is exactly what you want when arriving at a hotel for the first time, staff at the bar were nice and but prices are high as expected in a hotel though.
We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night and even though there seemed to be some kind of buffet on and was extremely busy the staff couldn't have been more helpful and professional the young girl who served us ( Natalie) was extremely polite and friendly and couldn't do enough for us giving us recommendations on meals which turned out to be one of the nicest meals I've had so I would defiantly recommend the food, And the lady who seemed to be in charge I think her name was (Maxine) was also lovely.
We couldn't have asked for better service. We will be staying here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Lucy

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback it is much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much and in particular found the team helpful and polite. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team and I know Natalie and Maxine will be very pleased!
We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Best Wishes

Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This is one of those hotels that attempts to get away with a 4* rating on the basis of having spa facilities, being large and 'in the countryside'.
The reality is as follows:
- cleanliness is a major issue; there were some extremely worrying stains everywhere, in my particularly in the bathroom (by the toilet);
- the decor is very old and dated;
- beds are uncomfortable with springs you can feel digging into you;
- no aircon on a hot July day;
- the telly takes a few minutes to switch on and then presents a poor picture;
- the gym is the size of a single bedroom with no space whatsoever for stretching (machines are dangerously close together);
- service in the restaurant is poor and amateur (typically employees appear very young and untrained in customer service).
I stayed with two colleagues ok business and we will be working in the area until November. After the first night, we are cancelling all future reservations and will not stay here again. It isn't fit for purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear reviewer

I am very sorry that you have not enjoyed your stay and I have some obvious concerns regarding your comments, without knowing the details or room number etc. I am unable to investigate further at this point . Please do contact me directly and I will most certainly pursue. As you can see from the majority of other comment this is highly unusual and troubling. Unfortunately not all our room types have air-conditioning however a good proportion do which we would try to allocate first, we also have various room types available which may be more suitable to your needs.


Best Regards

Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Nice big rooms. Staff are helpful and friendly. The meals are pretty standard... Nothing to get excited about! The facade looks grander than hotel actually is... Fine for an overnight stay especially if you're going to the races at Haydock.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback which will be shared amongst the team. I am glad that generally you enjoyed your stay and found the team Helpful and friendly.

Best regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

i recently visited this hotel, due to attending a friends wedding, the ground are absolutely beautiful and well kept. We was attending a 2pm wedding and arrived around 12 to have drinks in the bar, prices was quite expensive but we paid them none of the less as the atmosphere was great, me and my partner noticed 2 staff members working very hard and none stop, Adam(I think was a manager) and Michelle(who said she worked in the restaurant) these 2 members of staff worked amazingly hard, Adam always offered a smile and kept asking was we ok as he passed, and Michelle was a very pleasant girl who attended to every person in our party as though they was the only people in the room, she was very friendly and hard working girl, she even served us champagne after the ceremony, hours after we 1st spoke to her but she still smiled and made us feel special. We eventually went through to a largish marquee for the wedding breakfast, the lay out was absolutely gorgeous, stunning wedding layout! Food was gorgeous, hats off to the chef. The marquee was however, VERY hot as it was a warm day, the management should take this into account for their staff, us wedding goers could come and go out the marquee as we pleased but I guess this would be hard for staff. We returned to pick my family up the day after and Michelle was working in the restaurant again, she recognised us from the previous day and made sure everything had run smoothly, we didn't eat breakfast as we was only picking someone up but family members said it was lovely, and the girls in restaurant was making sure everything was fully stocked and fresh. I am looking for a wedding venue and I am now strongly considering having it here, a lovely hotel, with lovely staff, a perfect venue for any special occasion in my eyes, 100% for ADAM and MICHELLE, thanks guys

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer

We greatly appreciate your comments and Michelle and Adam are particularly delighted! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended. Please do contact Kath our wedding co-ordinater who will be happy to assist you with any wedding enquiry you may have. We look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

A three night stay, during the heat wave, found the rooms very comfortable. The air conditioning is very efficient, even able to leave on all night without too much noise intrusion. My room I found clean, beds comfortable, the shower very good.
Eating at the hotel was not inspiring but more than adequate, breakfast I found to be the best meal of the day with a good choice to choose from.
The staff were attentive and friendly, all in all a pleasant experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback which is much appreciated and I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and found the team attentive and friendly. I will ensure your comments are shared with the team, thank you for choosing Thistle Haydock and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I had our wedding reception at the Thistle Haydock in May and the only thing I regret is being nervous beforehand. If I'd had a crystal ball in the days leading up to the wedding I could have relaxed safe in the knowledge of how perfect and faultless the whole experience was going to be left in the hands of Kath, Jonathon and all the staff.
Everything, to name the food (which almost every single one of our guests commented how incredible it was) to the decoration of the reception room, to the luxury of the honeymoon suite exceeded our expectations. I honestly believe that unless I was multi millionaire and able to spend hundreds of thousands of pounds on my wedding that I could have hunted around for months and not found a better option than the Thistle. Ironically we only chose the Thistle by chance when our previous wedding venue cancelled on us - talk about every cloud having a silver lining; this was a solid gold lining !
If you are not looking at the Thistle for a wedding you still won't be dissapointed; it has fantastic leisure facilities, Sky Sports in all the bars, wonderful gardens etc etc, great food.
Thanks again Kath and Jonathon for all you did for us, I'm sorry it took me long to get round to writing this review.

Room Tip: Get married and get the Honeymoon Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissB1, General Manager at Thistle Haydock, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mark & Michelle

We are delighted that you had such a perfect wedding, thank you for your review and the email you sent Kath. Jonathen and Kath were really pleased to know that they were able to contribute to your special day in such a positive way and we will ensure your great comments regarding the food and service are shared with the rest of the team. I hope your married life continues to have lots of Silver and Gold linings and we wish you both a long, happy and healthy marriage!

Best Wishes
Kim Burrows
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Haydock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Haydock

Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Haydock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Haydock 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by attractive landscaped gardens and designed around a beautiful central courtyard, Thistle Haydock is a Georgian mansion-style hotel with all the modern conveniences you need whether you’re here for business or pleasure. Located between Liverpool and Manchester, and within three minutes drive of the M6 (Jct 23), we’re ideally placed for business and other events, as well as a day at the races at the neighbouring Haydock Park racecourse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Haydock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Thistle Haydock Merseyside

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Haydock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.