We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year at The Balmoral, 2013 - 2014” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Balmoral Hotel

The Balmoral Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Balmoral Hotel
Save
You added The Balmoral Hotel to your Saves list
3-6 Fort Terrace, Bridlington YO15 2PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“New Year at The Balmoral, 2013 - 2014”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

On arrival at the Blamoral, Bridlington I was struck by the stairs going into the hotel - if you were in a wheelchair or had trouble with stairs then this hotel would be impossible to enter. The hotel is a traditional tennement style building which has been converted - not a problem.

We got our keys to the room on the second floor after a few minutes. We were advised that we could walk up the stairs as it would be easier than getting the elevator - also not a problem.

The problem was the room, it was FREEZING. The pathetic heater was on, but as there was no thermostat to control the heating level the room was bitter. I returned to terception to ask if there was a way to make the room warmer - or give us another room, I was advised by the receptionist that the manager - Michael - would come to us and help.

We waited ONE HOUR for the manaager to arrive, he did not. I returned to reception and the manager was there, I told him the room was freezing and either needed another heater, or the one there be switched higher or we be moved to another room. His attitude was that he would sort it out after dinner.

I gave him the time, after dinner the room was not fixed, We wnt to the bar and said to the barmaid - she went and spoke to the manager, she came back and said he knew about it. I said that if it was not fixed then we would be leaving and we would be demanding our money back.

Within 5 minutes another maid had a fan heater in her hand and switched it on. She said, "Be careful as its hot."

If it was hot then it must have been on heating some other room in the hotel. I wonder.

For what the hotel is, it is very poor. The waitress staff were exceptional and the food was brilliant. The bed was bad, the matress on the bed was not good - it was lumpy and very poor.

One other thing about the room, the toilet was carpetted and the shower dripped onto the carpet - Lino or tiles would be better.

The New Year entertainment was pathetic, a singing duet, who did not sing any of the classics, the latest song they sung was probably from 1952, and the fact that they finished at midnight, as not good. After the bells you would expect some music, but alas no.

There was no entertainment on New Years Day, only the TV lounge. The freeview ariels for the rooms had either a cabling fault as the only channels we would consistantly get was BBC1 and BBC2, wereas the TV lounge all channels would be received.

So, on reflection I would say the following:

Food - 9/10
Cleanliness - 8/10
Waitress Staff - 10/10
Management - 1/10
Room - 3/10
Dining Room - 7/10
Bar / Lounge - 8/10

Value for money - 2/10

Would I stay hear again - No!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    5
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
20
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I am always torn with reviews.

When I give an overall rating should I compare a hotel with every establishment in the world? Should it be a comparison with other hotels I have visited?, or is it right to compare on a very narrow like for like basis?

For me it would be totally wrong to compare the Balmoral Hotel with the best hotel I've ever visited, the Buckingham Athletic Club in Chicago if you are wondering (if for nothing more than the view), it would literally be like comparing apples and oranges.

The only fair way to compare an establishment is alongside its contemporaries, in other words British seaside hotels.

In those albeit fairly narrow terms the Balmoral Hotel is outstanding.

On half board basis food is fresh and plentiful with a wide selection to choose from.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful and always happy to give suggestions for things to do.

Rooms are comfortable with all of the amenities you would expect with the added bonuses, for me, of firm mattresses and excellent water pressure in the showers.

Yes, the Balmoral may well be aimed at coach parties, but that's no bad thing.

If you're looking for an affordable family holiday at the seaside you can do a great deal worse than the Balmoral.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building have a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walkerburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just home from a 5 days wasent too sure about the hotel but had a nice warm welcome from Michael and staff, hotel looks better from being upgraded micheal should update this website as its a bit off putting
Room was lovely and clean nice chumfy bed,great food,nice and friendly staff will be back soon with the coach party from Peebles cheers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Another very comfortable stay at the Balmoral for 3 nights for bed and breakfast.

As always, not left wanting for much after a substantial breakfast each morning with all the trimmings.

Will be back later in the year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

just been to balmoral great food and great staff who all loook after u good entertaimnet go and enjoy yourselves have read comments from previos guests fine dont spend al days in bedroom but enjoy the aqcts and food

Room Tip: ask 3 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

old, run down and smelly - never again! The only good thing about this hotel is its location to everything. The only staff members we saw were the girls serving breakfast. No attention to comfort or satisfaction what so ever.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just returned from a 4 day stay here, booked through a coach trip company. On arrival, an older chap handed out keys and gave directions to rooms. A fusty smell hit me as soon as I opened our room door — the most basic of rooms!!. Nothing matches and the furniture should be in a skip. Bedroom & bathroom in desperate need of a deep clean, although the bed linen was immaculate, even if only 3 out of 4 pillowslips were the same. Mattress was awful and has long outlived its usefulness. Would never consider to use the teapot on the 'hospitality tray'. There was a chair in our bathroom which could only be described as disgusting. . Towels are so old they are frayed at the edges. No bath mats provided. No manned reception whatsoever in hotel. You cant buy a cup of tea or a juice in the afternoon. However, on the other hand, the food provided was excellent, with a varied choice and generous portions. My only hope is that the cleanliness of the kitchen is of a higher standard than the rest of the hotel. The staff in the dining room work very well and are very helpful. Hotel is also in a great location, with the prom only a few metres away and at the other end of the street is the main shopping area. I have to say that I spoke to several guests there who are repeat customers and are perfectly happy with the service provided. Perhaps this hotel has been good in its day - and maybe with some investment and a BIG bit of TLC it could possibly rise again from the ashes, but I would never return and would not recommend it to anyone. it apparently is used by several coach companies but I wonder how many of them have actually sampled a stay there - it is certainly not my idea of an acceptable standard of a hotel, perhaps more a HOSTEL !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Balmoral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Balmoral Hotel

Address: 3-6 Fort Terrace, Bridlington YO15 2PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 'Balmoral' Hotel is situated in Bridlington, East Yorkshire, 25 yards from Bridlington town centre, 25 yards from the seafront, next door to the Leisure World. All bedrooms are heated with en-suite, equipped with hair dryers, colour TV's, tea and coffee making facilities. Our Restaurant offers Silver Service and we're renowned for the quality of our food. We also have a bar, lounge and a seperate TV lounge and offer entertainment 6 nights a week. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Balmoral Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Balmoral Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.