We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest opinion” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Guest House

Tamarind Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamarind Guest House
Save
You added Tamarind Guest House to your Saves list
41 Marshall Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Honest opinion”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayedfor 4 nights, at this extremely friendly, but extremely tatty and grubby B & B. I feel bad, writing what I do, but I have to be honest. It is dirty, the couple are very friendly, but also, very unkempt, so their idea of clean is the same as their appearance. As I drove up and parked o/s I wanted to drive away there and then, but it was not an option, as i would have upset my friend who had booked it. The male owner was sat on the front, straggly hair and unshaven, creased shirt, not a good first impression. Yes, there is a guinea pig in the lounge. Why would anyone have a caged pet living indoors, never mind in a guest house. Their was a hairbrush full of hair on a table in the hall. The toilet on the first floor had faeces on the pan, and remained there for several days. I believe this couple do their best, as they are extremely friendly, just not the sort of people who should have a guest house. If your standards are basic then you'll be fine. If you like clean and tidy, then look elsewhere. An honest and unbiased view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiree, Owner at Tamarind Guest House, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are having difficulty placing your visit from our records as none of the rooms occupied last August match the details you give via a registration card and booking information , nobody stayed for only 4 nights last August .We recognise your right to put forward these opinions of us last year but would point out you didnt raise these concerns over the 4 days and that its taken you a whole year to express it on trip advisor .There seem to be errors in the detail of your account such as a table in the hallway, we never had one in the 23 yrs we have been running a successful guest house and would strenuously refute that the toilet wasnt cleaned .Since you say you stayed in August you would no doubt accept that our guest house would be fully occupied with other guests and that it would be possible that they might not meet your expectations of cleanliness ,however we obviously try to ensure such areas are monitored through the day ..We style ourselves as a family run guest house and families have pets !and you fail to mention the little dog we were dog sitting for the whole of the summer holidays .Again we recognise your right to express your opinion and advise people who do not wish to stay in friendly family oriented homely guest houses, but our experience of 23 years shows that sufficient regular clients with whom you must have stayed during your visit do not share your views .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Ok , so I wrote a reply a few months ago statinga real review of the tamarind guest house bridlington, and you wrote your comments on that review. Which I feel you are trying to state that I am lying about my stay at the tamarind. I did stay on that date. And this section of trip advisor has clearly been created for people such as myself to express their opinion on there stay at a certain establishment. And that is my honest review which cannot be wrong as it is my opinion.
Reagrding being left alone in the living room for around 40 minutes during "check-in" was very accurate to myslef as I was left in that room watching your son play guitar hero and play games on his game console.

Regarding the bathroom being untidy that is also accurate as it is in the corner of the upstairs hallway and provides no bath only a corner shower with a glass cubicle.

Yes you are friendly hosts but as stated before slightly overwhelming.

And as for breakfast it was your husband who brough it the guinea pig as you was in the kitchen. He brought it to my table for soom reason which I am still unsure as to why ? Yes I know you offer a good variety of food as there is a table in the corner of the dinning room with a selection of cereals on top. But my appetita was soon unsettled due to having a family pet brought into the area I was eating.

I know that I have re-itterated on the same points from my originall review but I feel you are trying to undermine my opiniion and I feel that my true opinion "a real review" should be able to be said on my part.

On a final note, No I do not live in Maui I was born there it was my place of birth, that is why it states that. My stay was in August 2011

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Best guest house we hav ever stayed in rooms were cosy n very snug food was brill n hosts were the very best people i have ever met make u welcome from the minute u meet then untill u leave make u feel part of the family not like a guest will tell all my friends n family 2 use them i will not go no where else they r the best by far . Well done 2 Anne Marie n Jerry n not forget their son Ryce xxxx

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Having stayed at the tamarind for a good few years now we have no complaints whatsoever.We have always had great service and friendly atmosphere with hosts Anne Marie,Gerry+Reece.The meals we have had have always been excellent and the bedrooms always comfortable.Great position for all entertainment+shops.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiree, Owner at Tamarind Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review ,,its always great to see you both ..see you soon ..love tree XX
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we stayed at the Tamarind Guest House for nine days and had an exceptional stay .
Anne Marie , Gerry and Reece made our stay very enjoyable and provided me and my family first class service from the start of our holiday till the end . it was such a pleasure to stay there we truly did not want to leave .
The room's were clean and spotless on our arrival and all our needs were accommodated.
We were on a Bed, Breakfast and evening meal basis and everything was top notch . The food quality especially was worth the money and the value you get is unbelievable .
Anne Marie prepared homemade food , the desserts were out of this world ..
A family which truly prides itself on high standards, i have already booked for october this year and look forward to many, many more successful trips .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiree, Owner at Tamarind Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
h there and many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of our place ..glad you enjoyed all your meals and i will get busy on those sponge puddings ready for your return visit in October..looking forward to seeing everyone again on that next trip.Its good to know all our hard work is appreciated ..............Anne Marie Gerry and Reece x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

What a fabulous Guest House stayed for a 4 night break in july this isn’t the first time I have stayed here and wont be the last. Right in the heart of bridlington. Lovely B&B with very friendly/chatty hosts really helpful and considerate. There is free parking outside the front door (and anywhere along the street) close to all amenities. Lovely room with with nice touches (tea,coffee in room, and even a mini fridge with bottled water) Good breakfast to start the day off. Evening meals were yummy I especially enjoyed the homemade pineapple sponge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have been coming here now for 18 to 20 yrs, and never had a problem. They are always friendly, very helpful, make you very welcomed, and if we have any problems, they would be the first to help. Annmarie always sorts out my husband dietary as he's diabetic. So they always go out of their way to help and give the food he needs. The rooms are always clean and we never had a problem with anything. If we need any help they are always around. So we are going back in Sept for a further few days. Which I am really looking forward to seeing them all again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiree, Owner at Tamarind Guest House, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
hey there you 2 ,thanks for the lovely review you've added ..is it really nearly 20 years? gosh time files. its nice to know you both appreciate all the little things we do as well as the big ones .am already looking at puddings for Brian to eat and will see you both real soon take care ..Anne Marie and Gerry x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarind Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Guest House

Address: 41 Marshall Avenue, Bridlington YO15 2DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house of 20 years experience here in Bridlington. We have double, twin, family and single rooms available all on the first floor. All bedrooms have been refurbished and redecorated in the last 2 years. They have color t.v's with satellite link, tea and coffee facilities that are replenished daily, hair dryer, mini fridges. We serve a 4 course English breakfast and 4 course dinner...all home cooking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tamarind Guest House Bridlington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.