We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Expanse Hotel to your Saves list
Expanse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Bradford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed midweek on bed and breakfast basis, the hotel bedroom was a bit dated but clean and comfortable. The public rooms are pleasant and bright. The cooked breakfast was excellent, the staff are polite, friendly and efficient. The adjoining Marine bar is a real ale pub with evening entertainmen - a nice place to relax and have a drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. This Winter we refurbished/remodelled 8 bathrooms, and refurbished still more rooms. Don't be shy to ask for a "refurbished room", if we have one available then you are welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    87
    49
    19
    7
See reviews for
50
124
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Once again my partner and I have just spent a long wonderful weekend at the Expanse Hotel, Bridlington. Nothing is too much trouble for them, lovely friendly staff all through the hotel, making you feel very well looked after. The food is superb and if nothing on the menu is to your liking the chef will try to accommodate your requests. We had a lovely light and airy room and although we hadn't booked a sea view we got one!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it is not the cheapest hotel by far but it is excellent value for money for what you get.

Room Tip: Book a sea view the location is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed you long weekend at the Expanse. Thank you for your posative comments about the staff, we are fortunate to have them. We hope to welcome you back to the Expanse in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

April 2014

I'm not one for long reviews (or even writting a review at all) but the service and care shown by the Expanse Hotel when hosting our wedding was of such a high standard that I felt compeled to write a review.

Sue and Steve the wedding planners were kind and very proffesional (as were all the staff). Nothing we asked for was too much trouble. They were happy to accomodate all manner of requests including dietary requirements and room upgrades they even gave us early access to the Seymore Suite (beautiful room) to set up for our big day.

We had our whole day there from the ceremony to the evening disco and were made to feel wecome and special from start to finish. We stayed in the hotel that night and the room was of the highest standard with breathtaking sea views and even a balcony!

The food was top notch from breakfast to three course diner to evening buffet, it was all perfect!

A number of our wedding guests stayed with us in the hotel and all of them left with the same opinion we did.... The Expance Hotel is a fantastic place to stay, eat and a wonderful venue to host any special occasion.

Only one more thing to say and that is ..... Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are delighted that Sue, Steve and our team made sure that your Wedding food, service and accommodation were to a high standard.
We are pleased that you life together started well.
Every best wishes to you both in you life together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

After lots of research we decided to hold our wedding at The Expanse hotel in April 2014, and we are both so glad we did. Right from the start our wedding planner was helpful and friendly, and there was nothing that we asked for that couldn't be done. We had many dietry requirements for our guests at the wedding and nothing was a problem. We had an inpromtu coffee meeting with our familes the evening before the wedding which the staff were more than happy to accomdate and we were all made to feel very welcome. As there was no function on in the Seymore Suite the night before the wedding we were able to gain access to the room any time the day before to set it up for our big day. We had our own chair sashes and some table deccorations, balloons etc. The hotel provided some beautiful flower arrangements for the tables, which we had not expected so were very pleased. We had our civil ceremony with a registra in the Seymore Suite as well as our wedding breakfast followed by a DJ and buffet in the evening and so it was very convenient. During the wedding breakfast we hired a band to play for the afternoon which the hotel accomodated without issue. Guests could come and go from the function room as they pleased around the rest of the hotel if they needed somewhere a little quieter to relax. THe staff throughtout the day and night could not have done enough, we were guided through the day which went like clockwork by Steve, another of the hotels wedding planers, who I have to say is a master at his job. He was the nicest man you could ask for to look after you on your wedding day, we couldn't set a foot wrong with his help, and I am sure he was there for 2 days solid at our beck and call! The location speaks for itself, we were lucky with the weather and so the views were beautiful, with some photos taken on the sea front and in a little garden down the road, we have no shortage of great memories. The food was really lovely both for the sit down meal and the evening buffet. We upgraded our room for a small fee and it was lovely with sea views and a gorgeous bathroom with bath and large shower. Bed was really comfortable and huge! The breakfast the next day was very good too, and some of our wedding guests who were local and not staying at the hotel were able to pay for a breakfast to be with us and the guests who had stayed, so it made it very special even the next morning. All in all we had the perfect day and really cannot reccomend The Expanse hotel enough for either a break away or most definately the perfect location to hold your special day, as they certainly made it special for us. Thank you to all the staff at The Expanse, and especially Steve! We really could not fault you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, General Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are so very pleased that you found the Expanse the perfect location for your wedding.
We have passed your comments on to the team who are delighted that you had a perfect day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Came here on a golfing trip with 16 blokes. Although it might not be the best looking or modern hotel. It certainly makes up for it with its service and quality staff. We couldn't have been looked after any better. Thanks . Would stay again if ever in brid.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you and your party were pleased with our service and staff.

There is little we can do about the look of the building but we are constantly improving and upgrading our rooms.

This winter we installed/refurbished, 8 new bathrooms (7 with bath and walk-in shower) plus improvements to landing and refurbished about a dozen bedrooms. We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you and your fellow golfers again in Bridlington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The room was very good,excellent views out to sea,bed very comfortable,the bathroom had a bath and a good shower,we enjoyed the breakfast,the staff all seemed very helpful.It is a pity that the hotel is unable to offer very much parking,there is however plenty of road parking near the hotel.

Room Tip: Room 35 good sea views,large room,nice bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
It is great that you enjoyed your stay with us.

At present we have on-site 12 free parking places and 4 charged garage spaces. To the rear of the hotel there is unrestricted free parking.

We have bought a detached house to the rear of the hotel which we hope to demolish before next season and which will provide. We hope that you will be able to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I usually go there some times yearly for work, especially out of the peak season. The hotel is 70's and probably needs a strong restoration, the rooms are not awesome and the bathrooms' equipments need an upgrade. However, the breakfast is pretty good and the staff very kind.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you were pleased with our service and staff.

We are constantly improving and upgrading our rooms.

This winter we installed/refurbished, 8 new bathrooms (7 with bath and walk-in shower) plus improvements to landing and refurbished about a dozen bedrooms.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expanse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.