We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Expanse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Expanse Hotel to your Saves list
Expanse Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Expanse Hotel, Bridlington. Friendly staff, more than adequate rooms. Had a lovely sea view with balcony, was spoilt with lovely winter sunshine. Breakfast was superb, served hot and fresh. Will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expanse, Public Relations Manager at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are very important to us.

We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    100
    53
    20
    7
See reviews for
60
138
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous four nights at The Expanse staying in their self catering apartment called The Lookout Post. The apartment is well equipped and beautifully furnished and has marvelous sea views from the the lounge and the bedroom. The large bed is very comfortable and the apartment was nice and warm which is always welcome in winter. We liked it so much that we wanted to live there permanently!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review, yes we agree, the Lookout Post is rather special, I think quite a few of us would like to live there too ! we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

As a young couple on our first trip to Bridlington we found this hotel pleasant, clean and comfortable. The staff met our requests politely and competently and we were made to feel welcome throughout our stay. The hotel is a little way out of Bridlington centre but the walk is flat and enjoyable along the sea front and it can be nice to escape the whooping crowds.The room was of a decent size and although it was a little drafty it was easy to control the heating to meet our requirements. We found everything clean and in good working order.

For us, one of the highlights was the Marine Bar. A part of the hotel, we found this lively pub and friendly and with an excellent range of real ales at competitive prices. We ate as part of a larger function and the food was tasty and plentiful.

We would happily visit this hotel again and recommend it for young people who prefer a quieter stay away.

Room Tip: Lifts get very crowded, try a lower floor if you're going to be in and out a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. Our location is second to none, whilst we believe that our staff are a credit to us. We are so very pleased that your visit to the Expanse was enjoyable and we hope to welcome you back to the Expanse soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I booked the hotel via a hotel comparison site and obtained what I thought was a competitive price for a hotel of this ilk. The purpose of the visit was a family party and we found the whole experience very pleasant despite concerns raised from my parents who had stayed here previously . The room we had was number 9 and if the same room could be reserved via a comparison website I would not delay booking this hotel again. Very spacious. Balcony overlooking the beach. Superb. The food was of a decent standard at the party and although not on the menu the staff accommodated cheese and biscuits rather than sweet puddings available. I have absolutely no complaints but fear we may have been lucky and that all rooms are not of the same standard. However this is merely hearsay as my own personal experience was thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us We consider that we are fortunate that our staff are friendly and accommodating. We can take no credit for the wonderful seaviews from you window, that's our location. We are an independent , not chain, hotel with each of our bedrooms being different. We are constantly refurbishing, so at any given time there will be some rooms more uptodate than others. Our prices at the time of booking are always as good as, or better than, on the major national sites. If you book direct we can always make sure that you get the room that you want. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beeston, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My Mum lives in Bridlington and has used The Expanse as a venue before for special events. The weekend in question was to celebrate my Mum's 90th Birthday. I was in charge of arranging the whole event and had excellent service from the staff in assisting me with the booking, This was to be a meal for 54 people.
Several of us had booked to stay overnight. On arrival I was able to get into my room early and the main member of staff ( Chelsea ) for my Mum's do was on hand to discuss things.
I have heard nothing but praise from my immediate family who stayed overnight ( 5 double rooms ). The whole evening was a huge success with many comments giving praise from the guests both on the night and in subsequent letters.
The breakfast on the Sunday was very good with plenty of choice. And may I point out that the same staff were on hand to assist.
The whole event was superb ! Lovely food, very helpful staff, great atmosphere. No request met with anything other than helpfullness !
I will definitely be back !
Many thanks to all concerned

Room Tip: Sea view some have a small balcony too
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear that your mum's 90th went so well. Please wish your mum many more big birthdays to come. We hope to see you asgain at the Expanse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Myself, my mum and my 2 sons were booked in for Sunday lunch. Both my mum and various members of my family are regular visitors to the Expanse and stay regularly. Firstly the service was great and the staff were very helpful. The food was lovely and all plates were cleared. Its great because you can choose from just a single course up to 3 courses which suited all 4 of us.

The quality of food was fantastic as was the variety and choice. My mum is very bad on her feet an unable to walk any great distance and we asked a couple of members of staff that my mum knew if there was anywhere in the town where we could hire a wheelchair from. After a few enquiries we were told because of the time of year the hotel was fairly quiet and allowed us to hire a wheelchair directly from them, even though we weren't stopping there.

We would like to thank Chelsea and Stephen for all there kindness which made our holiday complete.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you all enjoyed your meal and that our staff were helpful and understanding towards your mum. We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I planned to meet for the weekend in Bridlington, as they live in Hartlepool and we live in Staffordshire it seemed a good location to meet. I was a little dubious about staying at the Expanse after reading some poor review about the staff and quality of the rooms. However, our friends had already booked at the Expanse so we decided to go along with them.
Was it as good or as bad as the reviews that I had read?
well, let's start with the reception: the receptionist on arrival was perfectly amiable and very helpful. The restaurant: we only had the included breakfast here and on the first morning we all had the full English which I must say was excellent. there was plenty of tea, coffee and toast delivered to the table. My wife thought that the bacon could have done with a little more cooking but, you will never please everyone. The staff were very polite, happy and helpful.
The Rooms: Dirty? Tired? in need of a refurb? Not a chance! Our room was fantastic with a balcony and sea view. Everything was clean and tidy and the maids were in every day. The bathroom was modern and spotless. Our friends room was equally as nice but no sea view.
Downstairs there were a couple of day rooms which were quiet, comfortable and warm should you wish to use them. The Marine bar is on the ground floor and although it is open to the public was fantastic. Serving real ale was a huge bonus for me as I don't do lager. The food in the bar was very nice and reasonably priced. The staff here were also cheerful and pleasant.
So Mr manager what do you need to do? Take no notice of the moaners you will get them everywhere and they will never be happy. Keep running your hotel the way it is it's great and so are your staff. Would we stay there again? You bet! Oh! The free wi fi was terrific.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martonian, Owner at Expanse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. It can be so much more effort to write a positive review, than to put off until there is something to complain about. We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and also the Marine Bar. It is usually the staff, not the fixtures, that make a hotel. Pleased to hear that we have achieved this. We hope to see you all in the future, don't forget that you will always get the best rate if you book direct with us rather than through another site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Expanse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Expanse Hotel

Address: North Marine Drive, Bridlington YO15 2LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Expanse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of peace and comfort, a place to relax and recharge, or it can be your ideal base to explore artist David Hockney's Wolds. Take a walk around the beautiful Flamborough Head Heritage Coastline and stop off in the Marine Bar, our C.A.M.R.A. Awarded real ale pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Expanse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Expanse Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expanse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.