We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bayle Museum

Bayle Museum
Baylegate | Old Town, Bridlington YO16 4PZ, England
+44 1262 674308
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Bridlington
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Admission £1 Monday to Friday 11am to 4pm with last admission at 3:30pm Closed for season end of september to Easter ( see website for details. FREE on street parking NO DISABLED ACCESS. Entrance to the museum via 2 staircases. A Monastic Gatehouse housing a museum and collection of local artifacts. Description The word Bayle is derived from the French Baille meaning 'enclosure' or 'ward'. Recent archaeological surveys of the Bayle have concluded that a large proportion of the building dates to the late 12th Century. The initial use is thought to have been a gatehouse to a castle built by William le Gros after he took control of the Bridlington Priory in 1143. In the 14th Century the Bayle was the Gatehouse to the Bridlington Priory, a porter lived inside the Bayle and monitored the comings and goings of the Priory. An Almoner also lived in the Bayle and distributed food and ale to the poor of Bridlington. Since the dissolution of the Bridlington Priory the Bayle has been used for many different purposes including a Prison, Court, School, Garrison, Non-conformist meeting place, Town Hall and meeting room for the Lords Feoffees. Today the Bayle is a Grade I listed Building and scheduled Ancient Monument, which makes it of great interest historically and architecturally.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Whether a visitor to Bridlington or a resident a visit to the Bayle Museum is a must. It is absolutely fascinating with informative and historical attractions for all ages although the steep steps access to some areas could be a problem for some people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bayle Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Bayle opened specially for our group as it was out of season (October). Our lady guide was very knowledgeable and gave us plenty of time to look at the exhibits. A new staircase has partly overcome the difficulty people may have had with the spiral staircase.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A good and interesting afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

plenty to see and read and was good to get to know more about Bridlington.Things to do for the kids and discover, my 9 year old Grandaughter loves it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hightae
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The best things come in small packages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Bridlington Old Town is a complete contrast to the area around the harbour and along the seafront. Gone are the novelty rock shops and amusement arcades, the crowded shops and the busy streets. Instead, find yourself in a wee haven of narrow Georgian streets and leafy green areas, dominated by the Priory Church and its former gatehouse, now the Bayle Museum. We've been coming to Brid for four years now, as a stop-over between other destinations along the east coast, and have passed the Bayle on several occasions but had never actually been inside until this summer. What an amazing building it is - a veritable Tardis, containing a lot more to see and do than we ever expected. It is essentially a museum of the social history of Brid and the surrounding area, from the middle ages onwards, with a number of interactive games and AV displays that provide something of interest to all ages. As you climb the very narrow spiral staircase it's hard to believe that there's room for more than a few bits and pieces, however more and more rooms open up until you reach the fabulous Court Room that spans the width of the whole building. I'm not going to go into too much detail - it's only £1 for adults and you can't go wrong for that! Suffice to say, the day we went we had less than half an hour before we had to be somewhere else and we're going back next year because we didn't have anywhere near enough time to do the place justice. The space has been utilised extremely well, the exhibits are excellent and, best of all, I now know all about the Lords Feoffees and their ongoing role in the local community! Oh, and the staff are brilliant, friendly and informative. I've paid a lot more for entrance to museums that offer a lot less - excellent value and well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henrietta m, Manager at Bayle Museum, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Such a wonderful review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Bayle Museum.
I have passed on your lovely comments both to the staff and the Lords Feoffees and they would like to thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bridlington of Old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Very interesting and fascinating insight into the lives of people in historical times.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayle Museum also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Bayle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayle Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.