We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not what we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of John Bull Rock Factory

John Bull Rock Factory
Unit 1, Lancaster Road | Carnaby Industrial Estate, Bridlington, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 7 activities in Bridlington
Type: Factory Tours
Attraction Details
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but not what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Decided to take a trip on 'The Tour'. I envisaged a person taking around a group of people informing us of the process of rock-making and so on. This was not the case. We (the three of us in our party) we told to go through the door and that was it. We entered the factory and just stood waiting for someone to come and explain to us what would be happening. Didn't happen. We just walked around ourselves and watched without any information given. Disappointing but didn't spoil our day. Rolled my own rock, without any supervision just told to get on with it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    13
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

loved it all, would recommend it to everyone. soft play was great, 3 hours costing about £3-5 depending on childs age. food was great and cheap. kids loved making rock and chocolate lolly

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic wee trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We found this great value for money and the free samples available were of a good size, not meagre morsels. Entrance fee appropriate and prices at the adjoining cafe and kids' play area were good. It is nice not to feel 'ripped off' on a family trip. Only thing I would comment on is that it would have been nice to be told the ingredients used to make the rock (main ingredients of course, wouldn't expect secrets to be revealed) and what is then done with them.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great outing for familys,
My family loved walking around this factory.
It was great to watch and make our own rock but the chocolate making could of been more involved.
The shop was fairly priced

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I personaly love visiting John Bull rock Factory! its brilliant for children. Looking at the history is fascinating but also being able to make your own rock is like the icing on the cake

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Bull Rock Factory also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to John Bull Rock Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Bull Rock Factory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added John Bull Rock Factory to your Saves list