We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Day Out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fraisthorpe Beach

Fraisthorpe Beach
Bridlington, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 Attractions in Bridlington
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Attraction details
Kingston upon Hull
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap Day Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have been going to Fraisthorpe for over 30 years .. the children loved it when they were little.. Park the car for the day, easy access to the beach and nothing to spend money on so the children cant be nattering to spend money on sweets or amusements. I now take my grandchildren. Also great in winter but wrap up really well !!! The only negative is they allow dogs on the beach and whilst the majority are responsible owners and clean up after the dogs some just leave it !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    29
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“lovely quiet beach, out of the way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

we went here as a large extended family group for a day out and had a lovely time. Unfortunately on the day we chose to go it turned quite chilly and windy as the day went on so we had to go home early but we will definitely to be going back

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A perfect getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you prefer a quiet, non-commercial beach this is the one for you. Off the beaten track, the access is down a farm lane to a small car park (just atop the dunes). A small fee is payable for parking but it's well worth it. We have used this beach to have romantic strolls/picnics, taken the kids for a cheap seaside trip, and it has to be one of the best beaches for taking the dogs!
The pill boxes on the shore are an added bonus, especially if you're interested in the war (or for the kids to play in, on and around).
There is usually a van for hot refreshments and they've always got a water bowl out for the dogs.
I'd recommend anyone to visit - just don't tell too many people, we don't want it spoiling!!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A beautiful beach winter and summer :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A lovely beach which is easy to park close by , great for surfing and picnics :) an ideal peaceful beach for children and families.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great East Coast Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have been going to Fraisthorpe for over fifty years and thankfully if hasn't changed too much. Nice clean beach, safe swimming (but as it is the North sea is always cold). Downside for me is that it is dog friendly, which I feel is wrong as there are always kids playing and not all dog owners are responsible. But overall great place to go on a hot summers day!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fraisthorpe Beach also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Fraisthorpe Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fraisthorpe Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.