We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont be put off by the out side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Bills

Wild Bills
105 Hilderthorpe Road, Bridlington YO15 3ET, England
+44 1262 601578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 158 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Wild Bills at the Funny Onion is a family owned and run by local people in Bridlington, set up to provide local fresh and home-made food at affordable prices. Everything is home-made, local and fresh. Everything is made fresh on site, just like good food should be. We only use the best ingredients and hope the customers will taste the difference and appreciate the extra effort and quality we can provide
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“dont be put off by the out side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

this restaurant looks run down from the out side inside it is very modern it can be found across from Tesco near the railway car park the food was not too expensive and good my wife and I had the two course for under £10 this is only available at certain time check the restaurant web site

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    53
    19
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

After arriving here with two friends at 6.45pm on a Wednesday we were told that they weren't accepting walk ins until 8pm. Fair enough it's the Summer holidays, but the restaurant didn't seem overly busy and no tables were clearly marked as reserved. It was just disappointing as we were looking forward to trying a new place out!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve D, Manager at Wild Bills, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
I'm terribly sorry to hear of your disappointment that you could not get into the restaurant on the night you wanted. On that particular night we were very busy, and we had a lot of pre-booked tables already. ( Also on Wedsnesdays we have less staff so the restaurant is not available to use at its full capacity. )

Of course, its stating the obvious but we are here to serve the public and would of course do so if we could. Often we choose to not allow too many diners at once because service standards can slip and people feel more disappointment.

Ultimately what we are doing is deciding to take less diners/less money to ensure we can maintain a better service to those customers we can accept - so I hope you understand our intentions.

What we say now to all customers is try to book ahead to avoid any disappointment because we are now getting more and more busy!

Even on mon tues and weds we have a smaller staffing so again- even when quiet - we advise everyone to book ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Curate's Egg - a very long wait, but good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Hard to sum up our experience really. The food was great, tasty, fresh and the service was friendly. It is just that we booked in advance, arrived on time but still didn't get a bite to eat until nearly 1 hour 30 minutes after arriving. They had run out of the starter we ordered (at 18:30!) but they didn't tell us for 30 mins, left it on the bill too - naughty! I had two very hungry children! But in the end it was 'worth the wait' according to my 9 year old. They had eventually apologized for the wait and explained that there was only a single chef working and he couldn't really cope, actually he clearly could still make good food! Nothing off the bill for the long wait though... perhaps check that they have enough kitchen staff in before visiting!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Really good food, fantastic staff, worth a visit. Could be hard to park outside it, but plenty of room in tesco car park opposite.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The Really Funny Onion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

On arrival we were told it would be a thirty minute wait for food, no problem we said, we'll have a drink first. Our drink orders were taken swiftly, and on arrival our food order was taken too. So far so good. After about twenty minutes, we thought it strange as we had observed no food coming out of the kitchen, even though two tables, and a party of five/six people were there. After a further 25 minutes, 3 deserts were brought to a nearby table, and a waiter noticed our intrigue. He came over and told us our order time was now down to around 15 minutes, as there was only 1 chef on, as it was a Monday, which is normally quiet? He also advised us, that we would be too late to order one of those delicious deserts we had just seen, as it was now after 8.30pm. We ordered more drinks. Eventually are starters arrived, but still no drinks. Both starters were excellent, and the main course followed quickly, but still no drinks. Half way through the meal, the barman rushed over apoplectic, saying he had only just seen our drinks order on his bar, and our drinks were with us promptly. Summing up, the food was lovely, the staff were friendly and apologetic, and the experience was certainly one to remember, and in a strange way, to recommend. Welcome to the Twilight Zone!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Bills also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Wild Bills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wild Bills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.