We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Funny Onion

The Funny Onion
105 Hilderthorpe Road, Bridlington YO15 3ET, England
01262 601578
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 139 restaurants in Bridlington
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: This is a brand new restaurant grill thats opened. I hoped to review it.
yorkshire-uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Really high quality fodder. Its all fresh, and not a frozen sausage in sight. I had an amazing Ribeye, and the others had burgers, a chilli, and a vegi option. All were really good. Nice decor too, suprising as Brid can be a bit tatty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    95
    25
    5
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Our second trip to this place. We have two small children and love it that you can get a buggy in easily without feeling that you are in the way. Last time we had chips but this time we thought we'd go for a steak as the barman told us they were from a local butcher. We decided to treat ourselves and were glad we did. Whilst it's not cheap you'd pay so much more elsewhere for steak of that quality - in fact we rarely choose steak for this reason. Kids meals were great too - finally somewhere that will do them a cheese toastie! Thanks

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wow, a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I stumbled across the Funny Onion after walking away from the Bridlington front, & I'm so glad I did. This place is fantastic, more restraunt quality than pub grub. Wonderfully decorated, very friendly staff & the food, especially the fish & chips were much better quality & cheaper than the local fish restraunt. If you want a drink or a good quality meal then I definitely recommend this place. It is a little bit away from the front but worth the extra 5 minutes walk. It's suitable for everyone & has a mix of families, couples & pensioners. The menu caters for all tastes including steaks & combos, & there is also a smaller portion menu available. There's a lovely courtyard that catches the sun if you want a relaxing drink outside. I recommended this place if you fancy going a little bit upmarket without paying a high price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We dined at the Funny Onion over the bank holiday and was very happy with the food and service we received. It's a shame the restaurant only had a few diners in but this didn't spoil our evening. I had the fillet steak which was cooked to perfection and was one of the best steaks I've ever had. All the staff we came across where friendly and attentive without being over bearing. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You wouldn't think that brid could actual have a trendy nice place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Visited this to celebrate my sons birthday good service, excellent decoration and it feels like a trendy big city restaurant rather than brid. Trust me most places in brid are rough or cheap or both. They even apologise on the menu for it being expensive due to fresh products been used. The menu choices are good mainly steak / meat based but are reasonably priced. The speed of service was fast but this could have been down to it only being half full. The quality of the food was excellent and I could have happily have stuffed down me again I enjoyed my fillet steak so much. This is a hidden gem in the slag heap of poor quality that usually befits brids eating options. Give it s try its worth it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Funny Onion also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The Funny Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Funny Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.