We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish and chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabbys Chippy

Gabbys Chippy
36 High Street, Bridlington YO15 4PX, England
+44 1262 400877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 140 restaurants in Bridlington
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: English, Pizza, Fast Food, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Oldest established fish and chip take away shop in Bridlington, Richard has owned Gabbys since 2001 and is proud of how over the years has gone from strength to strength. We have all the usual chip shop food from cod, haddock, chips to sausages and fish cakes, we also have the slightly less common battered black pudding, corned beef fritters and onion rings and the we come to the unusual...Battered pizza, battered haggis and Mattersons smoked sausage (amazing with curry sauce!), Whist on the subject of curry you may be surprised to discover we do 4 different types -chip shop, Chinese, Irish and Yorkshire! We also have 2 types of Gravy -chip shop and onion! We have a huge range of choice starting at just 30p if you have a few people needing a quick cheap meal our family bags of chips are just £4 which is one of our best sellers! There is a specials board in the chippy where you'll find our new ideas to try - our newest addition which is extremely popular is Italiano Chips - chips smothered in cheese and topped with our secret recipe Italian sauce! Overall we try our best to keep the portions large, quality high and prices rock bottom!
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good food, good service and good value every time! Big fish loads of chips best ever value in Bridlington!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    158
    11
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Called in after finding gabby's at my third attempt. This really was worth searching. the biggest and best cod I have had in a long time. Friendly welcome to say it was my first time. As others have said I was asked on arrival what fish and how big. I will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

You have to travel a long way to beat Gabbys Chippy. Prices are good, especially for the portion sizes. And this is NOT a case of quantity over quality, as I have never had a bad meal from Gabbys yet!
It's unfair to name other, inferior establishments in reviews, so I won't stoop to that level. But suffice to say I would take Gabbys food over the muck at certain other fish and chip shops any day!
I even know of people who travel across town just to come to Old Town for Gabbys fish and chips.
Keep up the good work! Don't change a thing!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

called in last night and got our usual 2fish and 1 chips (you only need 1 portion when having large fish ). Rich cooked fish fresh to order.love his batter. not greasy and chips were great too.
got all this and some peas for just over £8
easy parking right opposite the shop.
staff really friendly and helpful.
tried 149 once but half hour queue to get served to get a small medium fish for £4 is not worth the wait and parking anywhere near is almost impossible.
back to Gabbys for us everytime
.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really the best there is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have tried many Chippys in Bridlington, and this really is the best, I've just seen the below review pointed out on facebook, I've never read such trash! How can a fish be refried when on entering the shop your asked straight away which fish and what size you want and then wait whilst its cooked to order....smells fishy to me!
More onto my review...I come here every week without fail, I have 3 kids and they love Gabbys meals, they actually choose it over McDonald's! I get large haddock chips and peas the fish is beautiful, white flakey fillets, moist with a golden batter, the chips are currently new potatoes, this is my favourite time of year because of this, yummy, slightly soggy golden chips and topped with scraps and lashings of vinegar, my favourite meal of the week by far! last week I got to try the Yorkshire curry for free, never had curry on my fish before, but is something I'm going to try again. You really do need to ignore the negative reviews as I doubt very much that any of them have even set foot there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabbys Chippy also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Gabbys Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabbys Chippy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.