We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chippy by far” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabbys Chippy

Gabbys Chippy
36 High Street, Bridlington YO16 4PX, England
+44 1262 400877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 158 Restaurants in Bridlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $9
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Fast Food, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Oldest established fish and chip take away shop in Bridlington, Richard has owned Gabbys since 2001 and is proud of how over the years has gone from strength to strength. We have all the usual chip shop food from cod, haddock, chips to sausages and fish cakes, we also have the slightly less common battered black pudding, corned beef fritters and onion rings and the we come to the unusual...Battered black pudding or chip filled yorkshire puddings..Which are amazing with curry sauce!, Whist on the subject of curry you may be surprised to discover we do 4 different types -chip shop, Chinese, Irish and Yorkshire! We also have 2 types of Gravy -chip shop and onion! We have a huge range of choice starting at just 30p if you have a few people needing a quick cheap meal our family bags of chips are just £4 which is one of our best sellers! There is a specials board in the chippy where you'll find our new ideas to try - our newest addition which is extremely popular is Italiano Chips - chips smothered in cheese and topped with our secret recipe Italian sauce! Overall we try our best to keep the portions large, quality high and prices rock bottom!
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Best chippy by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stopped here while day tripping and were very impressed. The portions are massive and extremely good value. These guys really know how to do fish and chips. This place is a must when you are hungry and visiting Bridlington.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabbyschippy, Owner at Gabbys Chippy, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
thankyou so much for visiting Gabbys, im glad you enjoyed our food, would like to make you aware we are having a shop refit on may 13th-15th (new frying equipment and then a little later in the year the rest of the shop will be done up!) . We are getting bigger and better hope you check in on us again soon!
thanks Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    15
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“huge fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Mum and dads fav and did not disappoint, lovely crispy batter good size and thank good we only ordered small chips as would have fed two easily

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Big portions and very tasty. Fresh fish and freshly cooked every time. Excellent service from all staff always make you feel welcome :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Chippy, best in the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Staff are always Friendly and welcoming when you go here I go here once a week for our regular Fish and Chip dinner! deffinatly the best chippy in the whole town! Prices are excellent Value aswell I buy maybe 2 portions at most to feed 4 of us

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best fish & chips ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Called in here on October 6th for fish and chips on my 50th birthday on the way home from Whitby. Fantastic fish and chips! Have gone to the top of my fave chippy list! Will be coming back here whenever we are in Brid! Very friendly proprietor too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabbys Chippy also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Flamborough, Bridlington
 

Been to Gabbys Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabbys Chippy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.