We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious indoor Fish & Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Scott's Fish and Chip Shop/Restaurant

Captain Scott's Fish and Chip Shop/Restaurant
14 Prince Street, Bridlington, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 150 Restaurants in Bridlington
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Cafe and Take Away
Restaurant details
Description: Cafe and Take Away
York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious indoor Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Love Bridlington and go every few months for takeaway fish & chips and fresh sea air. Turned up on a freezing cold sunday and visiting our usual haunt for a takeaway and sitting by the sea was defo not an option!! Needed somewhere reasonably priced to grab a quick fish & chip fix. Went on tripadvisor and discovered this little gem. Very basic no frills cafe upstairs but good service and fantastic fish & chips. Kids portion was plenty for our 11 yr old who has a healthy appetite. Will defo revisit on our indoor fish & chip days!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    0
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Bridlington !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We always eat at Captain Scotts when visiting Bridlington for our RSPB boat trips. The upstairs restaurant is a bit naff but the fish and chips are the best I have ever eaten. The fish , chips , slice of bread & "butter " (marge ) and cup of tea for approx. £6.90 are a bargain. The fish is always white and flaky covered in a light and crispy batter. They offer all sorts of dishes and pensioners discounts etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good quality, good value fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

It's an unpretentious fish and chip cafe so cleanliness, quality and value are all that really count. The fish is certainly good quality and the batter crisp and light. The chips are proper 'chippie' chips straight out of childhood memories. All cooked to order with a lovely, hot cup of rosie to wash it down and light on the wallet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Appalling service by 2 inexperienced staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Our favourite fish and chip shop and have driven to Bridlington just because we fancied some but will never go again - staff rude and could not be bothered to cook items ordered - fryer actually told server "I don't know how to cook it, just tell them we haven't got any!"- walked out in disgust. Such a shame as it has always been a fantastic fish shop.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best chippy in Brid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am from Hull so have been to Bridlington hundreds of times. And of course when you go to the seaside you MUST have fish and chips. Well, Brid has them by the bucketload so which to chose ? For us, it is always Captain Scott's. We get them takeaway and walk 60 yards to sit on the front and look out to sea. Always fresh fish with the lightest of batters. Great chips and good price too. Plus the staff are always friendly and polite. Lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Scott's Fish and Chip Shop/Restaurant also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Captain Scott's Fish and Chip Shop/Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Scott's Fish and Chip Shop/Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.