We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad - First impressions really do count!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Broadfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Broadfield Hotel to your Saves list
Broadfield Hotel
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   18 Shaftsbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
nth yorks uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bad - First impressions really do count!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Having decided to visit Bridlington and consulted this B & B's own website we decided to go and see for ourselves.
It must have been a bad day for the owner as she was not very welcoming when we rang the bell. Was it because we were asking for only one night for the following week?
She disappeared saying she wasn't sure if she could 'fit us in' leaving us standing in the hallway!
On her return she informed us that she could only offer a room on the top floor.
We had to ask to see it and were taken up the two steep flights of stairs. The room itself was fine but it was the lack of warmth in the owner's manner that put us off.
It was as though she didn't really want us to book and so we made some excuse and left.
We walked around the corner to Meadowfield road and received an entirely different welcome from another B & B - offered a seat in the lounge, 'would we like a cuppa', invited to see the dining room and small bar, given details about the cooked breakfast etc. Although we couldn't view the room available we were given a brochure with a photo and in view of the different welcome, we booked this one - am writing a review for it -The Burlington Quays!

Room Tip: Didn't stay so cannot comment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broadfieldhotel, Owner at Broadfield Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you received a bad impression when you visited our establishment..
I t is not the norm, as you can gather from our other reveiws from other visitors. The accommodation requested was for a double room. The room offered, was the only room available for the night requested. We have 3 double rooms, only 1 of which is situated on the 1st floor. Our other rooms consist of 2 family rooms and 1 single room. All of which were booked. Again please accept our apologies, and thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel was perfect for our needs. Within 10/15mins of town centre, 2 mins from sea, easy parking. Very clean, nice size room, lovely shower. Many bits you would only expect from a top hotel-good choice of drinks in room, biscuits, bottled water, sweets!! Breakfast was very good, clean (non-greasy) and a big choice. Would recommend.

Room Tip: We had room 2 a family room with 3 single beds-perfect and so nice to get a proper bed for my 9yr ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Booked kinda last minute for Fathers Day 2011. Myself and my partner, his daughter and the dog rocked up at 8pm. Christine showed us our room and it was clear this was going to be a good choice.

Our room is the one featured on this site (cream and gorgeous!) our bathroom was immaculately clean and the towels were gleaming white!! There was loads to choose from in the way of drinks in our room coffee, tea, Aero hot chocolate ( a child pleaser always!) and other varieties of scrummy drinks.

We didn't eat dinner at Broadfields, but will definately do so in the future. The breakfasts were plentiful and everything was clean and fresh. I had strawberries and raspberries my first morning (the first hotel ever to offer such "luxury" fruit!) with cereal.

When asked by my partner if they had green tea (expecting a nose curl, frown and sigh of "what's that?"...) they responded with "one bag or two!!!" It's little touches like that that make a diffirence. The cooked breakfast was a nice big hug of bed and breakfast lovliness!!

This was my first trip in a hotel with my dog and a child. I was rather sceptical as to the attitude of the owners. I need not have worried the owners accepted my dog and the child and there was never any disapproving looks or comments. In actual fact, the owners went above and beyond in their care for us.

Our weekend was a bit of damp squib (rained 99.9%) but coming back to the warmth and friendliness of the hotel made things so much more enjoyable. The owners suggested local places of interest and places to dine with a child and a dog!

The owners certainly care about their guests and this is evident in their attitude towards you. The hotel is a non rif-raf hotel, which we will stay in again. I love it when the hotel you choose is a little gem....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashkenwatton@aol.com
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Stayed here for 4 days in April.I have to say I felt as if I was at home immediately we arrived .Our room was 100% clean and nicely decorated with a large 4 poster with tv and coffee making facilities and en. suite shower and loo ,also spotless.Our host's Chris and John made us very welcome.We had evening meals as well which were all home cooked to perfection. There was a nice homely lounge to relax in as well .Also a well stocked reasonably priced bar to relax and chat in the evenings.Plenty of parking on road outside as well.We shall return at some later date and will recomend this hotel to anyone who wants a little bit of home comforts when thy are away

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadfield Hotel

Address: 18 Shaftsbury Road, Bridlington YO15 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Broadfield is located on the south side of Bridlington. We are a small family run hotel/guest house. Our rates include Bed and Breakfast from our extensive menu. Or why not spoil yourself further with a breakfast from our Luxury Breakfast menu (£3.00 extra) All rooms have recently been re-furbished and fully equipped. All rooms are en-suite. We can offer a 3 course evening dinner at a reasonable rate. All food is cooked on the premises using fresh produce. We have been rated a 4 by The Food Standards Agency. If you would like to make your stay extra special we can provide Champagne, flowers for your room on arrival at a small extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Broadfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadfield Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.