We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sewerby Hall and Gardens

Sewerby Hall and Gardens
Church Lane | Sewerby, Bridlington YO15 1EA, England
01262 673769
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Attractions in Bridlington
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Parks, Cultural
Attraction details
UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We expected to really enjoy this place. However, the house was just OK; there are far better places to visit. The small zoo had some depressed-looking animals. Would not recommend

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    142
    36
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely house and Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

There is plenty to see and do around the zoo and the picturesque gardens, The hall itself is very nice to look round although it is very sparse, (Hardly any furniture)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Sewerby Hall Gardens”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It was good that I could take my dog into the gardens on a lead but obviously we couldn't go into the hall. Gardens were OK but nothing spectacular in my opinion, I've certainly seen better. What really annoyed me was that after about half four the staff manning the access points/ticket booths upped and left which meant that anyone who was walking past could just go in and not pay (I had paid £5.30 just to walk around the gardens). Café was OK - staff not particularly cheerful though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bargain few hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Spent a good few hours here wandering around the house and gardens twice to the café and a little zoo and children's area cannot beat it for £12 for two adults and one child and its right at the end of the beach train terminus

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nice family day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sewerby Hall and Gardens is a nice place to visit for the full family with beautiful grounds and gardens.
The Hall has lots of interesting facts in its many rooms, one which interested me was about Amy Johnson the first woman to fly solo to Australia, as I too am from Hull were she was born.
Their is plenty of open space where you could sit and have a picnic or you could visit the on site cafe.
The site also has a Zoo with a range of small animals including monkeys, penguins, goats, pigs, lamas, birds.
If you plan on visiting the beach while your in the area and don't fancy walking buy a ticket on your entry to the Hall and Gardens for the land train that runs along the sea front from Sewerby Hall to Bridlington its cheaper then buying it separately.
Added bonus free car parking

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sewerby Hall and Gardens also viewed

Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Bridlington, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Sewerby Hall and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sewerby Hall and Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.