We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivendell Hotel

Rivendell Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bridlington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivendell Hotel
Save
You added Rivendell Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   19 Sands Lane, Bridlington YO15 2JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Liversedge, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“First time visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Myself and my 8 year old son visited this nice hotel during May half term for the first time. It was ideally situated and the car park was an added bonus. We were welcomed with a tray of tea and biscuits in the lounge which had magazines and books for guests. The room was super clean with attractive bedding. We didn't stay for dinner but the breakfast was fabulous and had a very friendly atmosphere with guests chatting to each other. We caught the bus to Bempton Cliffs which went past the hotel and had a super morning then returned to Bridlington to the harbour and the beach. We will definitely come back as it is ideal for a short break at the seaside and thoroughly enjoyed our stay and as a single adult traveller with a small child I enjoyed chatting with other guests and felt very at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
thanks for yourrkind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here. Another outstanding stay, always a pleasure. Outstanding people nothing too much trouble everything spotless. Breakfast as usual was beautifull. Cant wait for next visit and stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
thanks for your great comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rivendell is situated in a quiet residential road, with off-street parking, very near the Promenade and bus routes.

Our bedroom was spotless, very well-appointed and finished to a high standard. We had breakfast and dinner each day - the food is delicious and beautifully presented by Chef/Proprietor Ian.

It is the attention to detail which makes Rivendell so special, and we would not hesitate in recommending Rivendell to anyone looking for quality accommodation in Bridlington.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
thanks for you great comments, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Decided to see how much Bridlington had changed from the last time we went back in 1995 so we went for a long weekend and stayed at The Rivendell and what an excellent choice we made. On arrival you are made to feel very welcome, the rooms were excellent, everything clean and comfortable, breakfast was excellent. Location is ideal only around 200 yards from the North beach prom and sea. We had a lovely weekend and the weather was fabulous, Bridlington is still a great place to go for young and old alike and The Rivendell is certainly the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
thanks for your great feedback, glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed Bridlington, hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The couple running this hotel provide a first rate service:
- Tea / coffee and biscuits on arrival
- Clean and comfortable rooms
- Heavenly food, could have done with being there longer to try out more of the menu!
- Freshly prepared breakfast
- Friendly / knowledgeable couple
- Excellent location - just a couple of minutes walk from the front
- Free parking too!

The only change I would have made was the shower . . . it just needed more power!

Room Tip: No. 3 was a lovely double room - quiet street so hardly any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again if you are staying in Bridlington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Lyn and Ian are very welcoming. Upon arrival there is tea/coffee and biscuits which is great after a long journey. There is car parking to the rear of the hotel. The rooms are exceptionally clean and very comfortable. I must have stayed in every room over the years I have been going. The food is fantastic. There is such a variety on the menu and it's all so delicious. It's always fresh and hot and nothing is too much trouble. My family go back year after year. We love Bridlington and would never consider going anywhere else but the Rivendell Hotel. It is great value for money. We will be booking for next year again very soon. Pat, Louis & Caroline (Chesterfield)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smalley, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

had a lovely weekend, we were there for the northern soul weekender, a lovely welcome on arrival, with tea/coffee and biscuits, which was lovely after a long drive. Our room was at the top, so we had a good view, which was exceptionally clean. After a hard nights of dancing, we had a comfy bed to come back to. The breakfasts were very nice, plenty of choice,the evening meal was top class. And for a added bonus there was a car park for the quests. We will definitely be returning and hope to became regulars of the Rivendell Hotel. Thanx Ian and Lynne for your hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnenichols, Owner at Rivendell Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, glad that you enjoyed your Northern soul weekend and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again next year.. Lynne & Ian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivendell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Hotel

Address: 19 Sands Lane, Bridlington YO15 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rivendell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Rivendell Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivendell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.