We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brentwood House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Brentwood House Hotel to your Saves list
Brentwood House Hotel
42 Princess Street, Bridlington YO15 2RB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 117 Bridlington B&B and Inns
Leeds, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

It's easy to see why so many other reviews are good. We stayed on 3/4 April after our Mighty Deals offer to Ye Olde star went pear shaped - so a big 'Thank you' to Mighty Deals and Brentwood House for making sure our trip to Brid went ahead still! I know i'm going over old ground here but the owners really are welcoming (no false greetings- what you see is what you get, a genuine, down to earth family)! everything was lovely, and the food was gorgeous! Handily placed for everything Brid has to offer, right next to the 'bus station' too - but the station is only small and we didn't hear a bus at all during our stay. Would definitely stay here again. Thank you. Joe & Lisa

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay here and thank you for your review, The hospitaility trade is all about making people feel comfortable to elnable them to enjoy their stay We look forward to seeing you in the future regards Peter & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were there on a KJB deal and Peter and Denise made us feel so welcome. Denise had moved her bookings around to accommodate us and we really appreciated this. They are a lovely couple and we had the pleasure of meeting with their son, daughter-in-law and grandson who were home on holiday (on leave from the army). The whole family treat you as friends rather than paying guests. The location is central to the town and shopping centre, pubs etc close at hand and the beach is not far away either. Breakfast is freshly cooked and plentiful with a good choice to suit all. Rooms were warm and cosy given it was bitterly cold outside. There is a small bar and a residents lounge which just add to the package.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay here at Brentwood House,we strive hard to make all our guests feel welcome. We are happy that we were able to assist you.and know you will be just as proud of your lovely new grandson as we are of ours. Congratulations and enjoy every minute you have with Hamish, wishing him a healthy and happy life. Take care regards Peter and Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Brentwood rescued our weekend when our originally booked Mighty Deal weekend at Ye Olde Star Inn, Bridlington fell through as we discovered the week before travelling that it had closed down. We only found out through checking comments on Trip Advisor! My husband and I stayed the weekend of 15 March and although it was very cold, we were given a warm welcome by Peter and Denise a very down to earth friendly couple. Hotel was ideally situated very near to the bus station. We were allocated a family room which didn't have an ensuite but it wasn't a problem because the bathroom was right next door and exclusively for our use. The room was large and comfortable. All in all we had a really nice break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Its great that you have taken the time to review your stay here at Brentwood House so many thanks
regards Peter & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Denise & Peter made us both welcome. The room was both warm & comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. We would definitley stay there again and the location was excellent. Parking is a plus, the hotel is right on top of a shopping centre and not far form pubs and right next door to a bus station so if you decided to leave the car and use public transport it is ideal

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you both for staying at Brentwood House guest house. Thank you for your lovely review and the lovely thank you card we received. Hope to see you again . regards Peter & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our 2 night stay in Bridlington was supposed to be at Ye Olde Star Inn (old town) via a Mighty deals Voucher booked back in October.2 days before our impending visit we found out that Ye Olde Star Inn had shutdown, after a frantic call to Mighty Deals we were told that Brentwood house had came to the rescue & would attempt to honour the deals. After a pleasant call to Denise we arranged our intended visit. Upon arrival we were given a very warm welcome by Peter & Denise who made us feel relaxed & at home. They were both very informative & helpful with a wealth of local knowledge. Our room was lovely & warm & the bed comfortable which made for a good nights sleep. The food was very nice, home cooking done very well. We had a 3 course meal on our second night & again it was very nice - hot, fresh & homemade. Breakfast on both mornings was also very good with a quick service , nice & hot & certainly enough to see you through till late lunchtime.
We enjoyed our stay & have to say a big thanks to Peter & Denise for a taking on all the possible 'Mighty Deal Vouchers' from the failed Ye Olde Star.

Room Tip: Free parking - and yes your car will go through the space into the carpark :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Brentwood House guest house. We enjoyed meeting you both and hope to see you in the future regards Peter & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

After buying a Mighty Deals voucher for a weekend for 2 in Bridlington we were pleasantly surprised by the Brentwoods excellent location, hospitality and warm friendly hosts. From the moment of our arrival Denise and Peter could not have been more helpful, our room was warm, clean and bright, with tea and coffee facilities (replenished every day), and en suite bathroom. Breakfast was hot and plentiful with all the usual cereals, juice toast etc. Our evening meal was also included and very enjoyable. All in all a superb stay, thank you from Paul and myself for looking after us, a great budget priced weekend away

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you back to Brentwood House. Kind regards Peter & Denise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I chose this hotel as it was able to cater for my family of 5 in one room and had its own parking area. We stayed at the start of February this year for a funeral the next day. On arrival, we were shown to our room which was on the top floor of the house with the bathroom adjacent. No problem with this but the room itself was on the small size for 5 and cold. I was not impressed with it being cold as we had pre-booked. After sorting ourselves out we ventured downstairs as there was a bar! The owners opened up the lounge for the kids to play on the wii as we relaxed and chatted to them in the bar area which was great! The kids loved the lazer lights and the sour sweets that were offered, When we got some food later we could eat it in the dining room which was much appreciated. I had taken my netbook as the hotel offered free wifi - but this was no good in our room as it kept dropping out which caused me much frustration! Breakfast was a reasonable size but it took 3 cups to find a clean one on the table. Overall - it served its prupose, ok to stay at but wouldn't rush back there!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwoodhouse, Owner at Brentwood House Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Brentwood House guest house, firstly on the aspect of cold room, the heating goes on twice daily irrespective of whether the room is occupied, maybe if you had informed us that the room felt chilly to you we would have altered the thermostat or checked your radiator out to ensure you were comfortable. Neither did you mention anything about your netbook falling out which although would have been a concern to us we would not have honestly known what to do about it but we would have got the gentleman that sees to our computers and wifi etc to come and investigate had we known you were experiencing undue problems. The one thing that really upsets us about your review is that you say it took you 3 attempts to find a clean cup at the breakfast table, yet you never said anything to our faces. Your children obviously felt at home in the guesthouse as they came down to the bar area without shoes on and one of your children put her feet up on the two seater settee reading her book very much at home, we did not say anything as you had already informed us you were only visiting to attend the funeral of your father which we really did not want to cause any further distress to your children by reprimanding them that feet do not belong on other peoples furniture. We served a good value purpose for you and your family you paid the equivalent of £18,00 per person. You booked a bedroom in a guest house not a suite in a hotel which would have been much bigger and a lot more expensive. All we can say now on this review is we are sorry we did not meet your expectations and that you would not be in a hurry to stay again as we felt we had given you and your family a really warm welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brentwood House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brentwood House Hotel

Address: 42 Princess Street, Bridlington YO15 2RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Bridlington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Bridlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brentwood House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brentwood House Hotel Bridlington, United Kingdom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brentwood House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.