We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swan at Streatley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swan at Streatley to your Saves list
Swan at Streatley
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High street, Streatley on Thames RG8 9HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Vinca, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Awful rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I don't know where to start. If you look at my reviews you will see I like to support our hoteliers and give mostly good reviews. Look at the first picture of a chair and ask if that would be acceptable in your room that you were paying £110.00 w/o breakfast for. ( supposedly reduced from £500.00/ night, yea pull the other one). The hotel is set in a beautiful area, right next to the Thames. In fairness the restaurant, reception and and public areas have been refurbished, but please don't expect me pay for a room like that. £50.00 would have been a fair price!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    90
    65
    53
    25
See reviews for
47
148
12
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

should be in a double room for single occupancy but have a single bed. above the kitchen so all i can see is a big metal box to do with extractor despite booking saying overlooks the countryside. asked for beans with my breakfast this morning to be told they don't do them! they then brought my plate out with beans on? Asked for a sandwich tonight for room service to be told they don't do them at night but i could have the restaurant menu, if i'd wanted that i'd have gone to the restaurant. wonder what the rest of the week will bring? I will not be coming back.

Room Tip: get one overlooking the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The problems with this hotel have been detailed numerous times in reviews left by others on here and other hotel websites. Refurbishment of public areas on the riverside have been completed to a very high standard and are impressive, however the poor relations are obviously the areas the public do not see as the hotel and guest rooms are of a very low quality and very dated.

Rooms with low numbers close to the kitchen are particularly noisy with a good nights sleep being difficult to achieve.

Would not recommend to others and would not stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 15 are the noisiest rooms above the kitchen with 8, 9 & 10 being very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arival at the hotel was a surprise to the staff but were made very welcome. On help in finding a mooring the luxurious room awaited. The dining experience and evening ambience of the bar stting overlooking the water certainly will not disappoint. The gym and spa was not used at this visit.

Room Tip: Any room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilehurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This restaurant couldn't be in a better setting, overlooking the river, which is why we come back. It is a beautiful place to eat a meal. However the Chef needs to be reminded what he is meant to be putting on the plates! And we have been here six times and the dishes are never right. If the menu says a Chicken dish has Sweetcorn puree, it should be given to the customer or an explanation provided as to why it is not there! Likewise the Rhubarb Creme Brulee and Rhubarb Ice Cream..........for the third time this dish came with Vanilla ice cream. Why? Can't the Chef read? Is buying in the Rhubarb Ice Cream too expensive Or do the owners think the public don't matter or won't notice?
This isn't a cheap restaurant so if you visit and your food comes without the right ingredients COMPLAIN LOUDLY and maybe the Chef and owners might listen. And don't come with a big party as they can't cope!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had the most relaxing and lovely weekend.The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel and Room was clean.My room was the double deluxe and had a amazing view. The spa was relaxing and treatments were reasonable.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a enjoyable relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind and positive review of The Swan at Streatley.

We were delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you had such a relaxing weekend. I have passed your comments on to my team and on their behalf, thank you!.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong kong
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 6 overlooking the river in September. It was a very relaxing break. Peaceful location was just what we needed. The staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was a good selection and to have a hot food cooked to order was a nice touch. Would definitely stay here again when I'm in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James L, General Manager at Swan at Streatley, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your very kind and positive review of The Swat at Streatley.

We were delighted to read your comments that you enjoyed your recent stay and the views of the Thames from your room. I was also pleased that you found our location to be very peaceful.

I have passed your comments on to my team about being helpful and the good breakfast selection. On their behalf, thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

James Lane
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan at Streatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan at Streatley

Address: High street, Streatley on Thames RG8 9HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Streatley on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in an idyllic location, The Swan at Streatley on the banks of the river Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley, has been welcoming guests since the 1700's. With 39 bedrooms and suites, a newly renovated Riverside Restaurant and a relaxed bar and terrace along with The Gym and Beauty Rooms, The Swan is a place to relax, socialise, eat great food and enjoy the river and countryside. Guests and locals can also enjoy the Boat House Cafe & Deli (see our separate listing) offering British artisan produce and light refreshments. The hotel also offers conference and banqueting facilities and remains one of the most popular scenic locations for weddings in Berkshire and Oxfordshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan at Streatley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.