We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do with a good clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterloo Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Waterloo Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Waterloo Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   99 Duke's Ride, Crowthorne RG45 6DW, England (Formerly Brook Waterloo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Crowthorne
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Could do with a good clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This hotel looks much better on the Internet than it does in person it was an ok hotel but there were lots of stains around the room and it was very shabby. The main entrance is lovely and welcoming and the bar is cosy. The food was great in the bar for dinner and the breakfast was really nice especially the service! I would stay again but not for more than one night.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    42
    48
    29
    29
See reviews for
42
31
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We took over the Waterloo for a New Years Eve wedding & overall we were very pleased with the hotel. The staff were welcoming & friendly our rooms were clean & comfortable.
The restaurant experience was not the best on our first morning 4 out of 8 breakfasts were wrong but the next morning when we were all there 80 strong even the managers served to make sure we had a better time.
The bar was cosy & comfortable with a welcoming fire & the bar snacks were tasty if a bit pricy
If you are needing to be near Wellington College it is an ideal spot with ample parking and a 10 minute walk to the school.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NitishU, General Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mrs. Clements

Thank you very much for stay with us at The Waterloo Hotel on the eve of New Years with your family and friends.

I am pleased to hear you found the hotel and bar, cosy comfortable, clean, and welcoming. I do apologize for the breakfast service on the 1st day, we assure you that it will not happen again.

Hope we see you again in the near future.

Thank you and Best regards
Nitish Ummat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have just returned home, following a 6 night stay at the Waterloo Hotel in Crowthorne. The purpose of my visit was to be near my family who live close by.

The whole of the visit was excellent and all staff members went out of their way to ensure that I was well looked after throughout. The B&B room rate was great value and, on arrival, I was even given a free room upgrade.

Breakfast was freshly and individually cooked and attention was given to ensuring that all guests were kept 'topped up' with tea and coffee as required. Light evening 'bar snacks' were available which suited my routine. My room was well cleaned daily and topped up with fresh tea and coffee each day. The room was warm and comfortable during this period of rain and cold weather.

This hotel is clearly well managed and the staff motivated by good leadership. I plan to return again soon.

Room Tip: Ask what is available, prior to booking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NitishU, General Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us at The Waterloo Hotel during Christmas 2012. I am glad you had a very pleasant stay with us and were well looked after.
I will pass on the comments to team, they will be pleased as they worked hard during the holiday to make the stay of our guest comfortable and memorable.

We will look forward to seeing you in the near future and welcoming you back to the hotel

Thank you and Best regards
Nitish Ummat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed for two nights in November , had to change rooms because the bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned from the previous occupant. Staff were apologetic and the next room looked like it had recently been upgraded, it was large and comfortable. The bathroom was cleaner but still great , they definitely need to be more particular about housekeeping standards. Aslo the room had two windows overlooking the car park with net curtains but both nets had large rips in them, It just looks shabby and gives the wrong impression . The hotel is supposedly 3/4 stars but more realistically about 2 star.

Room Tip: Room 229 was spacious and had more contemporary decor but is over the reception so you can hear peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NitishU, General Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying us at The Waterloo Hotel

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I can assure that we have looked into all the housekeeping issue we had with your room. The Head Housekeeper makes sure on daily basis that the standards are kept to 4 star standard in the hotel.

Hope we will see you in the near future at the hotel.

Thank you and Best Regards
Nitish Ummat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Easy to find and big car park. Good room which was warm and comfortable. Bathroom clean (recently decorated?) and a good shower though the sink leaks on to the floor which is probably the cause of the smell. Had to ask for milk. Needs some more relaxing chairs in the lounge so we could read the papers in comfort. Very cold downstairs due to no double glazing on a very cold, frosty day. Restaurant closed in the evening but could eat in the bar if we wanted but it was too cold to do that.....so we went out instead.
Please fix the door handle on the entrance.......first impressions and all that!!
This hotel could be really nice with some effort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NitishU, General Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at The Waterloo Hotel during you recent visit.

We do appreciate your comments which will help us to move in the right direction in order to make this hotel a beautiful, comfortable place for all our guests.

Just to update you the maintenance team has looked after all the points mentioned in your comments.

I do apologize the fire place in the bar were not on during your stay with us, which would have kept the bar warm and comfortable, as it has been for the later part December.

Hope you will visit us soon and stay with us at the hotel.

Thank you and Best Regards
Nitish Ummat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had a superb stay at the Waterloo. I stay in this hotel at least once a year and always enjoy the service and the kindness offered by everyone from the Staff. The rooms are comfortable, the food excellent. Definitely the best hotel in town. My only regret is that there are no smoking rooms left!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NitishU, General Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us at The Waterloo Hotel during your recent visit to Crowthorne, It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us, we would look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thank you and Best Regards
Nitish Ummat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This Hotel could become a "little gem" of a place if many things were done. Firstly it needs complete maintenance and a serious make-over. There is always a toilet "out of order" in the Reception area. The decor is very dated and many areas of the Hotel need serious cleaning especially in the Reception and Bar areas. It looks like the windows have not been cleaned ever and all the carpets need to cleaned urgently. The rooms whilst having lovely fresh linen, towels etc are let down by the terrible QUALITY of the mattresses, duvets and pillowsetc. The food is overall quite poor, not in the quality per se but attention to detail with proper garnish on salads etc. The staff are so lovely but they appear to have poor management and overall poor motivation. I suspect they need to have proper meetings with Management etc to discuss issues as I have noticed that these often take place at Reception in earshot of Guests and appear to be on an ad hoc basis. Sfaff I feel would be willing to give more if they had proper training and were sufficiently motivated. Staff at reception are particularly helpful especially Ashish who is quite a gentleman and goes out of his way to give a good service.

Room Tip: You may want to test the mattress before you take room as they are poor in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NitishU, General Manager at The Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the constructive feedback you gave The Brook Waterloo Hotel following your most recent stay with us . As a regular guest at the hotel we really appreciate your comments . I am happy to let you know that the ladies toilet has now been fixed. We are currently embarking on a rolling programme of improvement which at the present includes replacing some of the most worm carpets in some of our bedrooms and corridors.
It is very rare that we receive criticism regarding our food quality but I have passed your comments on to the chef for him to address. On a positive note I was pleased to hear that Ashsih has been looking after you well and I will make sure that I pass your praise on to him .

Of course we look forward to seeing you back here very soon .

Thank you and Best Regards
Nitish Ummat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Waterloo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterloo Hotel

Address: 99 Duke's Ride, Crowthorne RG45 6DW, England (Formerly Brook Waterloo)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Crowthorne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Crowthorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterloo Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Victorian building built in 1860 is in the village of Crowthorne, with easy access to the M3 and M4 motorways. The Brook Waterloo has an outdoor terrace, real log fires and its en suite rooms are modern and stylish. The hotel is 5 miles from Bracknell town center and close to the area's business parks. Legoland Windsor is 12 miles away. Hotel Rooms: 77. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Hotel Crowthorne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterloo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.