We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT RESTAURANT IN COUNTRY SETTING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chequers Brasserie

The Chequers Brasserie
Dean Lane, Cookham Dean SL6 9BQ, England
+44 1628 481232
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Chequers Brasserie in Cookham Dean is one of the leading Gastro Pubs in the Thames Valley, established for over 25 years. Wooden Beams and an Open Fire greet you on arrival at the chequers. There is a small intimate bar area with comfortable seating. We have dining in the main older part of the building, the Conservatory, or a private dining room.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT RESTAURANT IN COUNTRY SETTING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Try to book the bar area for dinner although the extension is pretty. Lovely situation. Excellent service and a charming Head Waiter / Manager.
Well presented food and a small but nice menu. As uaual, wines are very expensive and you have no way of deciding if they are worth the money - I think not.
Book in advance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    25
    9
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
“Can't understand, not worth it!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Trusting the reviews and not being able to find another Chequers in the area which is really worth it, I end up with a friend in this mediocre restaurant, food was really average, fish overcooked and even if the decor and location are ok the prices and food quality are not

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cookham dean
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Based on around 10 visits since Carlos...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

....has been in charge we have to say that the Chequers is the best it has ever been - consistently excellent food quality and excellent service makes this cookham's finest restaurant and against some stiff competition too. We're lucky enough to live locally, and eat regularly in all of cookham's best restaurants, and on that basis we have no hesitation in recommending Chequers as the best of them all!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Dodgy mussels”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My partner had the moules mariniere which we both agreed tasted of blue cheese - when we asked they said there was no cheese at all in the dish, which to me means the cream was very off! We felt quite ill afterwards for some hours. The place is OK I guess but mediocre food (& one very dodgy dish which means would never go back).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent Lunch in the sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

A lunchtime table for two on a glorious summer's day with superb food and wine and great company, what more could one ask for. Service was exceptional, friendly but not overpowering. Drinks at the bar, food, wine and coffee was all much less than you would pay anywhere else in Cookham. Will definitely return again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chequers Brasserie also viewed

Cookham Dean, Berkshire
Cookham Dean, Berkshire
 
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
Cookham, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Chequers Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chequers Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.