We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monkey Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Monkey Island Hotel to your Saves list
Monkey Island Hotel
Bray on Thames SL6 2EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bray on Thames
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“May wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

I was a guest at a friends wedding. What a beautiful setting this is. When you get the weather which we did it can't be more perfect! the ceremony was outside and as soon as it had finished the waiters came straight out with trays of bubbly and beer - brilliant and what timing ! We then waited whilst the photos were being taken and they bought out home made canapés which were excellent and there were plenty. We had a 3 course lunch in the restaurant and the food was really excellent and they catered well for my adult daughters allergies. At the evening reception we moved to the river room where we had a disco and they served a hog roast and once again this was really good. Lovely meat served with salads and again lots of it. I didn't stay at the hotel as we are local. I thought the grounds were very well kept although the bar area and lounge was very shabby chic in places. I still thought it very good although a rainy day might have meant 80 odd people would have been a little cramped for the In between times. Thanks Monkey Island for a lovely day !

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Monkey Island Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear David - thank you for your recent comments following your recent visit to Monkey Island for a friend's wedding. I am glad the food, service and ambience impressed you, and have also taken on board your comments on some of the areas looking a little 'shabby'. We have begun a programme of repainting this week in actual fact, so thank you for your feedback - I am sure you would soon notice a difference
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    134
    63
    45
    35
See reviews for
71
165
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My 5 friends and I stayed here recently on our touring around the countryside. The setting is quite beautiful--across a footbridge and up a path to the main sleeping facility. The separate pavilion houses the eating space.

My bedroom was adequate, although the bed suffered from being extremely soft (the springs seemed loose). Room 15 where I stayed had an updated bathroom, although basic amenities (tissues) were nowhere to be found. The others did not. This room is very modest, but suitable for a single. My friends who shared rooms told me that they were very small.

Our price included a full breakfast, but not dinner. I was surprised to see that others had dinner included in their price. We ate in the main room one evening and found the waiter very accommodating.

The grounds are quite beautiful--the peacocks were special, but frankly the geese and their droppings made it difficult to walk without stepping into something--you know what I mean here.

Internet connection is very spotty but the staff was helpful in helping us get checked into our plane reservations.

Warning--hotel is only reached by footbridge and so negotiating suitcases was difficult. Our guide Ray Ruddick was extremely helpful. He pulled or carried our baggage across the footbridge. He also had to carry the up the winding staircases. I could not have done this myself.

The hotel is historic and it would have been helpful to have a brochure available about the history readily accessible. The desk staff did not know where to tell us to look. I found it just as I was leaving in the Guest Services notebook. Suggestion--hotel should have printed copies for us to take home or to read a our leisure.

Bray is home to two different Michelin starred restaurants and a Michelin starred bar. We ate in the latter and it was excellent. Just a short taxi ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: if you have walking issues, you might need to stay on the ground floor since the first floor is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel has a lovely location on the Thames and its setting is unbeatable. We had a good breakfast although the staff were strangely confused about the egg order. It was cold the night before but there was no heating on in the rooms and the fire in the library room was not lit. These small touches would have made a great difference to the ambience and, considering how busy they are, it seems a bit mean not to heat the place as we are all struggling with the cold weather. With a bit more tlc, this could be a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Monkey Island Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Monkey Island. Having just started as General Manager at the hotel I was very interested to read your feedback and am inclined to agree that all of us at the hotel need to show a bit more 'tlc' to match the fantastic setting of Monkey Island. We have begun some redecorating this week and will be moving on to some staff training in the coming days. We are also in the middle of recruiting an experienced Food and Beverage Manager so I am convinced you will notice a difference over the coming months - thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on 7 May in what was claimed to be a Superior room. The room and the bed were absolutely tiny and the two pillows for two people were nasty, cheap foam which made sleep very difficult. Staff were indifferent, not rude, but not at all helpful. A great shame as it is a glorious location and Bray deserves accommodation to match the restaurants.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, General Manager at Monkey Island Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback provided following your visit to Monkey Island Hotel. I have just this week, started as General Manager at the hotel, so will be looking to make service improvements in all areas. You are quite right, the area and our grounds are beautiful, as are the other restaurants within Bray, so we have a lot to live up to. Please rest assured that we will be making improvements in all areas to ensure we can meet and exceed future guest's expectations. Once again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bray on Thames hotels

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Six of us stayed here on the 29th April, on a special offer deal which included dinner. The setting and surroundings are beautiful and the location ideal for visiting Windsor. We took our bicycles and the staff readily agreed to look after them for us. In fact we found all the staff very attentive and friendly and they made our stay there a pleasure.
Other reviewers have mentioned that in a few places the hotel looks a little tired - namely the stair carpet, but other areas have been refurbished very nicely. We didn't find the bed very comfortable though!
Dinner and breakfast were delicious and we all rated our stay very highly and definitely want to return. Special thanks to our waiter Andrew for putting up with our chatter, humour and constant demands, and John for looking after our bikes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Monkey Island Hotel in Bray is on a small island on the Thames. You have to cross a footbridge to get there. The grounds are stunning. It is a popular venue for weddings as a result.

My mother always told me that “if you cannot say anything nice, then do not say anything at all”. So I probably should end the review here!

To be fair to the hotel we paid only about £100 on a deal for a night, dinner and breakfast. So it was very cheap. But it is clear that the hotel relies on, and is totally focused, on the wedding business. It was interesting observing the service and attention that people visiting the venue, and trying the food, as potential wedding bookers got versus the rest of the guests.

The room we stayed in (Room 3) was basic. It was perfectly fine for a night, though I did not find the bed and pillows was not very comfortable. The fixtures, furniture and items like towels and bedding are “economic”.

The service in the restaurant for dinner was very poor. Staff avoided eye contact and it was painfully slow. The food was fine, though the process was long. Breakfast buffet was a bit better, but again with service flaws.

If you are looking for a beautiful wedding location take a look at this venue. I suspect that service is good and efficient, as they are very focused on this. However, staying at the hotel is not a great hospitality experience based on what I had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Monkey Island Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guy - thank you for the review and comments you made regarding The Monkey Island Hotel. Having recently started at the hotel as Operations Manager, I read your feedback with interest and as you point out, we clearly have some work to do to improve the service and facilities we have to offer. You are right - we are an extremely popular wedding venue, but this should not be to the detriment of other visitors to the hotel, be they overnight residents or people simply stopping off for food and drink. We are in the middle of recruiting a new team at the hotel and I am confident in the months ahead we will make significant improvements to the service and standards at Monkey island. Thank you once again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here on a Living Social deal of £99 for db&b including glass of bubbly. Room was spotless and looked newly decorated. Other parts of the hotel did look a little tired with the stair carpet in particular needing replacing. We were in room 15 which is the first one on the landing so some noise from other guests going to their rooms and could clearly hear the shower being used in the Wedgwood Suite next door. Lovely view of the gardens and footbridge from the two sash windows. Bathroom was very modern although bizarrely the toilet seat was too small for the size of the pan. All staff were lovely, especially those in restaurant. We ate in the Terrace Room as the Pavilion Room was set up for a wedding. No complaints at all about the food. I should imagine it is fantastic in the summer when you can sit in the gardens. Only complaint was the bed which was very hard and uncomfortable. Like the idea of going back with friends for afternoon tea.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a comfortable bed and at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Manager at Monkey Island Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for the recent review and kind comments you made following on from your visit to The Monkey Island Hotel. We have noted the problem you had with your mattress in room 15 and will be looking to change this - thank you for providing us with this feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monkey Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Island Hotel

Address: Bray on Thames SL6 2EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Bray on Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bray on Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Monkey Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Island Maidenhead
Monkey Island Hotel Bray On Thames, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkey Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.