We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn up, check in, work out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels to your Saves list
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Lane, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Cambrdgeshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Turn up, check in, work out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

One night stay for an overnight business trip to Sheffield. Mostly saw the hotel in the dark due to late arrival and early departure. Good desk service and certainly seemed to be a nice setting just off M1. Worked in room so ordered room service which was promptly delivered and tasty but it would have been even nicer if salt & pepper and some sauces had been provided. It was a fair trek from the room to breakfast but provided a good range and well cooked. No doubt will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review on Tankersley Manor, where I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We have actioned the comments regarding condiments for room service, so on your next stay these should available for you.

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    304
    179
    79
    50
See reviews for
144
357
27
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have recently visited Tankersley manor spa and hotel. I treat my daughter to a well deserved break for two nights . We booked in for a 50 minute spa treatment each on the second day. The hotel first of all was immaculate it was clean and tidy and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and beds really nice too. . Our evening meal was perfect served really quickly and efficiently. The steak was cooked beautifully . The buffet breakfast was really nice too with lots of choice. We also were given a lunch with our Spa which was called a light lunch but was very filling . We didn't need to eat anymore that night as we were still full . The only real problem was a bottle of wine was £27.00. We both found this far too expensive. This prompted us to go out to another pub around the corner to have a drink when we would rather have stayed in hotel due to bad weather and the comfort of the hotel .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your fantastic review of your recent Spa Break with us where we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us.

We have a wide range of wines available at the Hotel starting from £19.75 and we will bear in mind your comments for future wine lists that are written.

We do hope to welcome you back soon

Regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Short 1 night business trip for meetings nearby - hotel has some character even if might not be as old as it looks, really liked the rough stone window sills, even in the room. The staff everywhere were bright and cheery, friendly and helpful. Was advised to book a table for dinner in the Brasserie as it was going to be busy.....was hungry after a busy day and a fairly long drive so reserved for 6:30PM, was already quite busy - food was excellent, sautéed mushrooms to start, Steak in Ale for main course ( really tender ), Creme Brûlée for dessert.......service was fine. Breakfast the following morning was a buffet ......all the usual choices and the quality was good. This was my first visit to the area and will definitely stay at this hotel again on my next visit in a few weeks time.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage then try to get a room as close to Reception as possible, some rooms re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us where we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a few weeks time.

Regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Well we never even stopped but thought it prudent to leave a review because its not just about the Hotel!!!

We had planned a weekend away as our daughter wanted to treat us for Christmas and we had wanted to view the hotel for a wedding venue as all our family live in the Barnsley area. So location was one of our top requests.

Well she booked it through late rooms. Cause she has been taught well to save money. Unbeknown to her it was going to be the weekend of the worst weather the midlands has had in years so we was unable to travel safely. We were not even able to get out of our village.

We are all aware of booking policies if you change your mind and don't want to go anymore. But this was not the case. We wanted to stay in the hotel as we were excited for this to be the wedding venue.

On contacting the hotel we were met with such a negative response. We could not believe their response was if you can't get here its not our fault. Which I can understand in away, but with us just wanting to reschedule for the following weekend thought it would not be a problem. We even asked if we could upgrade as this would hopefully secure our £178 booking and generate more income for the hotel. But again not interested.

Late rooms even contacted the hotel on our behalf but again they were not interested. They explained we were traveling for the opportunity to view the hotel for a possible wedding venue. But all they said was we have no record. I have a feeling if we had a amendment would not be a problem but as a wedding package is very costly we thought it prudent to book in and see how the common person was treated. Yes it seems very poorly.

We have even contacted the head office by email but they have not even had the common decency to reply.

So I have decided to send this review as you should be aware of the lack of customer service and lack of professionalism.

It is not just about clean beds and toilets. As we have a great deal of friends and family that like to travel. Will be informing them to stay clear of this hotel and chain.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your booking at Tankersley Manor and the disappointment you faced when you were unable to stay with us due to the bad weather in the Midlands.

Unfortunately the Laterooms.com pre-purchase booking is a discounted rate that is non refundable and non transferable.

If booked directly, on one of our flexi packages, we are happy to accept cancellation up to 12pm on the day of arrival although we were first made aware of your unexpected cancellation at 4.30pm.

Please accept our congratulations on your up and coming wedding celebrations and we’re sorry you didn’t book an appointment with our wedding planner. Good luck in your search for a venue. I am sorry that you feel this situation has not been resolved to your satisfaction.

Regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for their New Years Eve Gala 2 night package. Upon arriving you can't help but say "what a beautiful hotel" and I had the greatest expectations for this property. It is beautiful, the front desk staff were excellent - very friendly & efficient. Be prepared if you are housed in the more modern part of the hotel - there are no lifts and you need to carry your bag up several stairs as the hallways are a bit quirky with 2 stairs up in some places or larger staircases in others as you traverse the hallways to your room. It was blowing quite the gale outside that night & the wind did come through the windows a bit - just close the curtains & tuck them up onto the window sill & you'll be fine. We were certainly warm enough even with this issue.

We ate in the restaurant - food was excellent quality but the service is a bit slow. Bar staff were young & seemed confused on how to make some drinks & very slow. It is possible they were new. There was a manager running around but when we asked for our bill because our waitress had disappeared, he said "yes" but he never brought it. We did end up going to another waitress for it & our original waitress never did reappear (assume her shift was over).

The New Years Eve gala dinner I cannot say enough good things about - it is fantastic! Champagne reception to start, we had a table for 2 which I was so happy about. I wasn't too keen on the idea of sitting at a large table of people I didn't know so this made me extremely happy & I would most definitely choose Tankersley again based on this alone - as well as the great quality of the food. It was a 5 course dinner and every piece was delivered hot, beautifully presented, fabulous taste. They had a live band for majority of the night (50's/60's music which was fun). Everyone there really enjoyed themselves.

Full buffet breakfast - good quality, they were a little behind in keeping the dishes stocked up but it was very busy.

Overall I think the hotel is great - great food & quality of accommodation. They do need to get some good management in place to work with new staff & ensure things are moving smoothly. It just seemed to be lacking in that regard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of your New Years Eve stay with us where we were delighted to read that you enjoyed our festive celebrations.

We have had a number of new team members start with us in the December period and their training is still underway, so thank you for your patience whilst dining in our Brasserie.

We do hope that you will join us for future events.

Regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My rating of very good is because I had a very enjoyable week-end at an organised event at the hotel. I arrived in a blizzard but the staff were already out sanding the car park. My room was extremely comfortable, in fact very warm in the January blizzards, luckily the windows do open.(not a complaint). A nice deep bath helped ease the aching bones from a very long walk in the surrounding parklands. I chose one of the cheapest meals on the brasserie menu, Tankersley Burger with chunky chips. The burger was very nice but the chips were not freshly cooked, rather limp and twice fried. The burger was £12, a tad overpriced I feel and the bar prices were quite steep. The breakfast however was first class, unlike some hotels they can cook scrambled egg and the choice was superb. What I was not prepared for was the route march to the events centre where our evening function was held as my room was in the spa section, hence the title. This was the least enjoyable part of my stay. The staff are polite, friendly and helpful. This hotel has all the facilities one could wish for a leisurely break away just be prepared for inflated prices.

Room Tip: If you are attending a conference, the lower room numbers are closer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay with us where we were pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend.

We are currently in the process of writing our new menu's for the Brasserie and Bar and we appreciate your feedback which we can act upon when considering the new content of the menu.

Kind regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I thought I would give tankersley manor go for a Sundays lunch. I phoned and booked a table and on arrival was quite surprised that no one had a record of this and further more staff seemed unconcerned. Staff told us to find a table which we did. There was no explanations on how to order example do we wait for someone to take our order or do we order ourselves? We had to find our own menu and ordered at the bar. Food arrived soon enough and was okay but we waited and waited for someone to take our plate or even ask if we were okay. No one came for good 30 mins. It was our intention to order dessert and coffee but gave up and went to the bar to pay. We do not intend to come here again as the customer service was nonexistent. Further more we have a great circle if friends and family which we will tell them to avoid this place!!! To the management : sort your act out!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HayleighParkhurst, General Manager at Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of our Sunday Lunch where I would like to apologise for the service that you encountered on the day .

I will be holding a full investigation as to why we were so inattentive and why no record of your booking was on file.

I would like to assure you that this is not the level of service that we pride ourselves in and I do hope that you return to us in the future to demonstrate that we can get it right.

Regards

Hayleigh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels

Address: Church Lane, Tankersley S75 3DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Tankersley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tankersley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tankersley Manor is a fantastic four star hotel near Sheffield. Just off J36 of the M1, the hotel is close to the bustling city centre but also on the doorstep to some of the country's most picturesque scenery.The hotel is built round a former 17th century residence with many of the original features being retained including exposed wooden beams and Yorkshire stone windowsills. A modern edge has been created with the addition of a purpose built conference centre, magnificent Leisure Club and Spa and a contemporary bedroom wing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels England
Tankersley Hotel Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.