We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you - First Class Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklands Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Barnsley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brooklands Hotel
Save
You added Brooklands Hotel to your Saves list
Barnsley Road | Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Barnsley
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank you - First Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We held a 60th Birthday party for my husband on Sunday 6th January. What a fabulous day, the service was so professional but with the personal touch that made us all feel so special.

Great service, good food, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    9
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
14
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had our annual Christmas dinner party here last night and as it's my 1st visit here I was looking forward to it. There was a good atmosphere as it was fairly busy with other groups such as the one I was in. The place is attractive and there was a huge Christmas tree in the foyer which did look good. However, some of my party did comment that not one staff member had smilled or been attentive to their needs. The food was decent overall but was spoiled by the rushed way it was served and then other gaps between courses where we assumed that we'd been forgotten about. I had the steak course and dissappointingly, I was not asked how I would like it served. It arrived medium/well done, and the course was very dry with liitle in the way of sauce. The Yorkshire pud was fairly cool in temperature. Some of my colleagues had a dessert in need of fresh cream & it took my friend some considerable time to achieve the desired small jug without much pleasantness from the waiter. Drinks were overpriced and rather typical of a hotel at this time of year.

I realise that it's a busy time for the staff and that they were catering for the masses, but it seems that it was all too easy to overlook the importance of basic customer service & making the customer feel valued.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although we live about 2 miles from Brooklands this was our first time we had a meal there.
We had dinner one week day, it was not too busy but plenty in to give the right atmosphere.
The dinning area is very pleasant and the service was very good. We both had the Egg Benedict for starters.and the main course we both had steak mine rare and my wife well done, they were both done to perfection that good as my wife hates to see any trace of blood follow her knife.
We both can recommend Brooklands.

Room Tip: We did not book a room we just had dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

An impromptu visit with friends a week last Sunday for lunch. At last minute notice it was one of the only places we could get a table!

According to my friend this is always the case and there's probably a reason for that....

Overall I have to say it wasn't an unpleasant experience. It was clean and tidy with lovely gardens, the staff were friendly and helpful, the toilets were clean and hygienic.

So you say, 'whats not to like?', and that's a fair point. Its not like there was anything specific to dislike, more of a case of just a little something missing. Atmosphere.

The large dinning room was all but deserted, hence being able to get a table easily, the lighting left a little to be desired and the background music was questionable (for me anyway).

As I say, overall it was OK and we did have a good time. The food was good and prompt, although not particularly cheap, and the service was excellent.

In summary I would have to say 'yes go there, have meal, enjoy, but temper your expectations slightly, its never going to hold a light to other wedding grade hotels'.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

As a party of four we enjoyed an excellent evening at Brooklands. On arrival the welcome and bar service were first class. The food was well-cooked and well-presented, with a good choice, and service in the restaurant was attentive and friendly. We felt the whole experience was an improvement on our previous visit a year ago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for one night as part of a conference. The food package was odd to say the least...gorgeous calamari risotto, followed by either pizza and chips or sausage and mash (!) and a choice of desserts...starter and dessert both lovely, mains, very disappointing. Service at the bars was fine overall, and the room are as you would expect from a Holiday Inn. My only big issue was finding an acrylic fingernail in my bed - not mine! I mentioned it to reception on checkout, the receptionist did apologise, but it would put me off staying again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

we had the worst food ever at the brooklands,badly cooked,overpriced.the chef needs to go back to cookery school.

Room Tip: choose a better hotel(premier inn)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands Hotel

Address: Barnsley Road | Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Barnsley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 77
Also Known As:
Brooklands Hotel Barnsley, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.