We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 'local' Indian ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mumbai Lounge

Mumbai Lounge
128 Doncaster Road | Darfield, Barnsley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 239 Restaurants in Barnsley
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Swinton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A great 'local' Indian ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Usually visit once a month but haven't been since January. Turned up last night without booking and no tables free. Sat in the bar area for 5-10 minutes till a table came free. We had the 4 course for a tenner deal as usual. I had mixed starter and Garlic Chili Chicken we shared a rice and naan bread. OH has alloo chat starter and Chicken Dupiaza. Ice cream desert and coffee to finish. Oh and 3 pints of Cobra and one lime n lemonade. All for £31. Good atmosphere, great food and down to earth service. Will be back next month !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
s yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Food..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is our 2nd visit here in ten days..1st time was a saturday night and was busy but still amazing food and great service..2nd visit was a monday night...we took the £9.99 offer/ what a fantastic choice...you can choose all ure food from the menu...its ure choice...not a set meal..starters/main course/dessert/ coffee and mints...and a lovely end touch...we got a shot of complimentary Baileys..Wow...lovely surroundings..very clean..and very polite staff..Ali even took the time to chat to us.Top Guy..keep up the great work...cant wait to go again...thanx...lovely night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Defiantly going again! Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Well I will say before I went here I was an Indian virgin! Staff were very helpful food was verry quick very filling and gorgeous ( even left with a doggy bag which was just as nice the next day) we had the £9.99 offer (cash only) and you get lots I was full after my starter. I will defiantly be returning very soon. Writing this ,Ames me wanna go now!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food bland and cool. Staff very welcoming and excellent value.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

If your after a spicy curry this may not be the place for you. I chose a 'hot' curry purposely, and other half a medium hot one, both came very mild and cool in temperature. The onion bahjis were very dense, and over done 'rock' balls, not light and fluffy as expected. The lime pickle could be eaten in large amounts, with no spicy kick. Rice was very greasy. Given the good reviews, perhaps we visited on, a bad night. The value was amazing - 4 courses £9.99 cash only. Lots of choice. Staff were very attentive. I don't think I will be coming back, mainly because I like my curries to blow my mind. Also the colour changing lights were very distracting.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Got done”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We opted for the meal deal at 9.99. Didn't realise that it didn't include poppadoms however we overlooked that. Dessert however that was apparently included and was never stated otherwise cost us £7 extra on the bill. Also the bill was broken down into its individual parts instead of including the deal, if we hadn't argued the price would have been even more false. Expected to pay just over £30 instead we had to pay I've £40

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai Lounge also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Mumbai Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mumbai Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.