We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find for a family sunday morning!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barnsley Metrodome Waterpark - Calypso Cove

Barnsley Metrodome Waterpark - Calypso Cove
Metrodome Leisure Complex, Queens Road | Barnsley, S71 1AN, Barnsley, England
+44 1226 730060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Attractions in Barnsley
Type: Water Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and discover Barnsley’s hidden treasure – the island paradise that is Calypso Cove waterpark.Located just 5 minutes from Barnsley Interchange, Calypso Cove is home to fantastic flumes, sensational slides and wonderful waves - making it a great day out for the whole family! Splash your way through the slides, flumes and pools before retreating to The Hideout on poolside to refuel and relax with some hearty grog ‘n’ grub!
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great find for a family sunday morning!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

They call it a hidden treasure on their website - so trust you're satnav when you set off, you'll find the Metrodome tucked away in a residential area.

http://www.bpl.org.uk/calypso-cove/calypso-cove-rides-a-features

We were happily surprised with this find, we've been to a lot of great water parks overseas, so it was good to see a high quality one on our doorstep. We had gone too late the previous day to use the waterpark, but timed it wrong. So deliberately arriving early on Sunday meant we avoided the long lines later in the day - a mark of how popular this was. We found a separate family changing area, with plenty of room, useful £1 lockers that give back your coin on returning and smart changing areas for us and our children.

Our trip cost just £18.50 for a family ticket (2 adults & 2 children or 1 adult & 3 children).

What was best for us was that the place had a seamless walk straight into the warm water - it had to be over 25C at least, perfect for a windy day. The wave machine comes on to the sound of a bell and we loved bouncing around. The toddler pool was ideal for out three year old, and they take up to eight year old in it.

There are countless slides, so all ages are catered for and if you want a break from the tubes and slides there is an equally warm large pool to exercise in.

You don't need to have any fear of the tube slides - two of the three splash into a warm pool only 30cm deep - you just land and stand up .... and run back up for another go of course!

We spent 90 minutes there and they give you a coloured wrist band, so when you colours comes up on the board you know its time to go. 90 mins was more than enough for us, but you can double it - think ahead though - how much time would you take for a break and some eats if you did.

Oh - when we went too late the previous evening, the 8 lane bowling alley in the same place proved a good alternative - though 1 game was more than enough for our group, so think before you're tempted by the £1/person for the second game.

Metrodome proved great value for money, a cool place to go with the kids on a Sunday morning and one we will be going to again very soon. Recommended!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    60
    12
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“First visit to metrodome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I brought my 4 year old to metrodome for the first time, I was impressed we got there at opening time so it wasn't too overly busy, it cost £10:50 for our entry, parking is free, lockers are £1 but you get this back, we used the family changing area, big enough but busy, the water was nice there is a galleon ship for younger children to play on, much fun squirting adults with the cannons! There are also some big slides with no hight limit, my daughter loved these! Pool also had wave machine too, all great fun, we didn't go on big water rides as they are for swimmers and my daughter only thinks she can swim! we didn't eat there so can't say what that was like but all in all a great morning out

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Avoid school holidays if you can!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have visited the metrodrome a few times before for a special treat for the children. I took my older two children in the Easter holidays whilst the younger one was elsewhere.
We were really looking forward to it.
When we arrived the queue was huge and I was expecting a wait until we got in. However we were served quickly. The family changing room was very busy and we had to wait for a cubicle.
The poolside itself was warmer than it has been in the past. The children enjoyed the facitlites especially the wave pool and the slides.
It was very busy as you might expect in the school holidays.
Before we knew it, it was time to get out. We were in the water just over a hour with the wait for changing rooms etc.

Our visit cost just over £15. I would say it was reasonable value but I will be avoiding school holidays next time in a bid to try and get more value for money and so not feel rushed out!!
We did not use any other facility on this visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds west yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“great value,well organised, do visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

took our two grandchildren (8 & 11) here easter monday ,highly organised entry to calypso cove, they loved all the activities available ,very reasonable entry prices & good changing facilities,will visit again,value for money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Ardsley House Hotel and received complimentary VIP tickets for Calypso Cove. We didnt know what to expect but thought we might as well pop along.

There really was something for everyone from spash area, to diving pool, lane swimming and a range of slides.

My teenage daughters had a great time, the only possible downsize was that it was really busy with big queues for the slides, but we did visit in the school holidays when it was cold outside so it was to be expected.

With the VIP ticket we also received 15% off our food bill. It was "fast food" (though we waited about 15 minutes for it to be brought to out table - wraps, burgers & cheesy chips, but perfect after a swimming for a couple of hours.

Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnsley Metrodome Waterpark - Calypso Cove also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Barnsley Metrodome Waterpark - Calypso Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnsley Metrodome Waterpark - Calypso Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.