We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rob Royd Farm Shop

Rob Royd Farm Shop
Genn Lane | Worsbrough, Barnsley S70 6NW, England
+44 1226 248662
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 232 Restaurants in Barnsley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $53
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Award winning farm shop and restaurant with a full Butchery, Bakery and delicatessen counter. During the day we offer a cafe/restaurant meals, with a fine dining menu on a Friday and Saturday evening; reservations only!
Blantyre, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having previously been unable to book a table for a Friday or Saturday evening at up to two week's notice - tribute to it's popularity, we were fortunate to get a cancellation on a Saturday evening. The menu was table d'hote with four choices on each of three courses, for £30 per head. We had 2 x scallops, steak and duck, which were all lovely - although my duck was a little over-cooked. The wine list covers all tastes & budgets; and the service was friendly, discreet & professional. Would certainly recommend and we have already booked a return for a family meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    50
    13
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Dropped in for a late dinner time treat following recommendations from a friend and we were not disappointed. Fantastic food, nice service and a well stocked farm shop.
In an era of corporate dominance it is a delight to visit these places, especially in the PRSY.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Lovely Farm Shop and Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very nice well stocked farm shop with lovely coffee shop. Only had tea and a scone and my daughter had chocolate cake but it was really nice. The scone was slightly warm which was a nice touch and the chocolate cake was 'gorgeous' and disappeared very fast by my daughter. Will definitely visit again and try the food particularly as there is a children's menu. Service good today with no wait. Not cheap but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“English Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We visited Rob Royd for an English breakfast which had been recommended to us. Very filling, good quality food, nice place, Had to wait a while but that is because everything is cooked fresh to order. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Would recommend very good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Had a meal in the restaurant on Saturday night and found it to be excellent. Excellent food, excellent service and imaculate premises.
The staff were very professional and the food was second to none.
Best restaurant I've been to in ages. Would definetaly recommend a visit, you will not be disappointed. 10/10.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rob Royd Farm Shop also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Mapplewell, Barnsley
 

Been to Rob Royd Farm Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rob Royd Farm Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.