We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit, as good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Spice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Spice
1a Station Road | darton, Barnsley S75 5HT , England
01226 391801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 221 restaurants in Barnsley
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another visit, as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I've been back to Royal Spice a few times since my last review and it really is consistently the best Indian food you'll find anywhere. The quality is better than anywhere else I've been (including an AA Rosette Indian in Edinburgh) and it's unbelievably cheap. I shall be back again soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    48
    5
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Proper Indian Cooking, a must try!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I have been to alot if Indian Restaurants, chosen some based on trip advisor status and some on word of mouth. This is by far my favourite and is always my first choice Indian when I'm in the area. I try not to pay attention to price as the quality of the food is the most important part of a meal out and in royal spice's case, the food is worth far more than what you pay. There are no pretentious frills but you will get friendly service and amazing food, what more so you need! Try the Royal Balti, it's the perfect curry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food at great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited this restaurant a few times now n never not enjoyed it. Its great value for money with a lovely atmosphere and brilliant service. I would recommend the sizzling platter for a starter, everything on the dish was amazing and I didn't like fish curry until I had tried that! Going again this weekend n can't wait for that starter again :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great local Indian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely food, friendly staff & great prices! I always go for a recommended dish by the waiters and I'm never left disappointed - Or hungry!!!

Lamb Nawrabi is excellent and very tasty dish.

Mixed Starter is the way to start an visit here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ridiculously good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our second visit (and we really should call more often) and this is still by far and away the best value Indian restaurant in Barnsley if not South Yorkshire. Complimentary popadoms, starters, 2 meals, 2 rice, Nan, two pints of Cobra for £25!!!

And don't think that the quality of food is neglected - it isn't. Good friendly service as well. If you like a curry, visit - it's a no brainer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Spice also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Mapplewell, Barnsley
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Royal Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.