We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go to any other hotel in the location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Alma Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Alma Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST FOR GUESTS
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go to any other hotel in the location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

On the off-chance called at the hotel to see if they could provide a better sevice than another hotel in the locality. Decided to switch hotels and what a switch! The staff are terrific from front reception onwards, the owner really takes a pride in his hotel and the staff. The breakfasts are probably the best I've encountered in recent years (compliments to the breakfast chef and waitress). The rooms are very comfortable with good facilities and pretty good sound proofing. (If you book in on a Sunday night ask for a room with sufficient distance from the Singles Disco, it goes on until mid-night). The Executive Chef turns out some really tasty food in the evenings and the evening bar staff/restaurant staff/manager really take care of you in particular any special requirements. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay and most importantly putting up with me and my colleague. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Stockport or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    83
    34
    15
    3
See reviews for
61
54
12
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the alma lodge, We found the staff very friendly and attentive.
The family room we had was large enough for our family of four, extremely clean and liked the little extras like biscuits with our complementary tea/coffee, shampoo's and shower gels. Really had a good nights sleep, with plenty of pillows.
You can tell the owners personally run this hotel, apart from meeting them on the floor its the little details through out that makes this hotel stand out. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, you'll experience a comfortable and hassle free stay at a very reasonable price. thankyou

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

Had to stay for one night only on B&B basis. Stayed in the newer part of the hotel, with a surprisingly large room (one kingsize, plus one single) at only £70 for two, including full breakfast. Excellent value all round.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

I stayed for two nights in August and enjoyed my stay. The reception and restaurant staff could not do enough to ensure my comfort and enjoyment. The bedroom had a TV, hairdryer and kettle (iron and board at the end of the corridor), the bathroom had plenty of soaps, shampoos etc. There was lots of choice at breakfast and that was served with a smile and friendly chat. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRUM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2008

I have just returned from 4 days at the Alma Lodge Hotel. I was on business. Having never travelled alone before I was quite nervous, I needn't have worried !
Every member of staff, with no exception was very friendly and put me at my ease. They are very warm, friendly and welcoming. I noticed this with their other guests and diners too. Every member of staff is an asset to the hotel, those that I didn’t get to see too, as the hotel was clean and tidy.
Warm, clean rooms, hot water, a lovely big bath and big fluffy towels.
Tasty breakfast, with a great choice.
Luigi’s restaurant was fabulous. Wonderful food and great service.
All in all a very very pleasant stay !!
Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport,
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2008

i recently held my wedding at the alma and the service we received was out of this world. i personally stayed there for 2 nights including my wedding night and everything was just perfect. i can also recommend the restaurant that we have visited several times since our wedding.dont believe any other reviews trust me you will not be disappointed.5stars+

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

I was attending a function held at the hotel in the Regis Suite.

The hotel is nicely presented and easy to get to (five minute walk from Davenport station or about five minutes on the bus from Stockport - no 192 runs every 4 minutes even on Sundays).

The staff were friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant and at the function.

The room was clean and nicely presented. The bathroom was a good size, clean and had a decent shower. Internet access and additional TV channels available.

The function was faultless and the food was superb. The chef Gerardo Morese and his team did us proud! The breakfast next morning was delicious and cooked the healthy way - without a spot of fat or grease on the plate.

Highly recommended and great value. I will visit again.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — No freeview
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear guest thank you for posting such kind comments on trip advisor after your recent visit to the Alma Lodge Hotel. We are delighted you had such a positive experience at our Hotel and Restaurant and thank you for your recommendation. l hope your party enjoy their time with us and we will look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#5 Business Hotel in Stockport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3 Star Hotel Restaurant Conference & Events venue which encapsulates all the elegance & style of a bygone era Carved oak panelling & open fireplace creates a welcoming ambience Our 52 bedrooms are comfortably furnished & equipped breakfast is complimentary & Wi-Fi is free. Versatile event facilities comfortable accommodation & friendly service all these amenities has earned the Alma Lodge Hotel & Restaurant its enviable reputation as one of Stockport’s premier venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.