We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alma Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Alma Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BREAKFAST FOR GUESTS
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed here for two successive weekends whilst visiting family in the area. Although we came across three members of staff who gave off the impression they would rather be somewhere else, on the whole staff are very friendly and helpful.

The restaurant is a very pleasant surprise. Food is varied and off a high standard.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay at the Alma Lodge. We are very pleased to read your positive feedback on the majority of our staff and the excellent standards of Luigi's Restaurant. We hope you will return again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    83
    35
    15
    3
See reviews for
61
55
12
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was working in Poynton on Saturday night and needed a reasonably priced hotel to stay in not too far away. I don't suppose I had any pre-conceived ideas of this hotel as I had never spoken to anyone who had stayed there. Check-in was faultless and quick and the receptionist reminded us to put our clocks forward....I had forgotten !! Our room (14) was immaculate, especially the bathroom, it looked like it had just been renovated. Comfy bed, coffee and tea, and shampoo. Had a quick drink in the bar while waiting for a taxi, the staff were all very courteous and efficient. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest we are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to the Alma Lodge Hotel and that you were delighted with your new bathroom. We hope to see you again in the future, please request a refurbished room. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Last week I stayed at The Alma Lodge in Stockport with my Mum for a couple of nights. We were visiting a very poorly relative at a nearby hospital and didn't know how long we would be staying. Sue the receptionist couldn't have done more to make us comfortable and her kindness made what was a sad occasion much easier to bear. The room was comfy and clean and the staff always courteous and attentive. Sadly we had to attend the funeral this week and we held the wake at the Hotel. Again all the staff were lovely and the buffet excellent. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest thank you for your kind words, Sue our receptionist was thrilled to be mentioned in your review.
All our staff work very hard to provide every customers with a positive experience of the Alma Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. Thank you for taking the time( during a sad period for you both) to inform Trip Advisor customers of your opinion. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have stayed at the Alma Lodge on a number of occasions over the years

It is tired in places but I think the room rate reflects that and balances out.
Rm36 specifically the secondary gazed interior window needs sorting out - it will not close tight. The noise intrusion is secondary concern I slept thru the Great Dudley Earthquake - it made me feel less secure simply. It may be a simple fix on routine maintenance it may not so have a look.

The restaurant is testament to my adage and mantra on menus. Offer six mains and do them outstandingly well. Modern idiom is lots of choice, Nuts! Menus of 30 plus items screams mediocrity at best.
Chicken LambardI, sumptuous supported by green beans, red cabbage with cranberry, roasted parsnip and potatoes.
Dessert fab.
Staff truly professional, concerned enquiry and human with it....NATURAL BEHAVIOUR AND NO SCRIPT IN SIGHT. I am sure we could have discussed the finer points of The Prince or United's abject performance at the weekend. Further blessed relief from the mindless formulaic nonsense in chains and imitated by many independents.
Reception great again natural conversational and simply welcoming.

So wort your 5!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
My husband & l are absolutely thrilled to earn 5 Stars from you on TripAdvisor thank you. Our team work extremely hard for us, providing exceptional service in all departments to our customers.
We will pass on your kind words to our staff & encourage them to keep up the good work.
Thank you for the information on R36 secondary glazing, it can be easily fixed by turning the glazing around. We look forward to your return in the near future, please request a Superior room next time, we would appreciate your feedback on these newly refurbished rooms.
Kind Regards Jill & Karl Tavini.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Still as good as the last time we visited, staff food and service great.
Some rooms are quite a walk frim the main reception but that wasnt an issue for us.
The hotel is a good base for days out to peak district and manchester. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Reviewer Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. Its always nice to receive reviews that have been posted by guests that have visited the Hotel on more than one occasion,
it proves we must be doing something right. l have passed on your positive comments to all departments, its always nice to be commended. We hope you will visit us again when you are next in Stockport.
Kind Regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed for one night. Room was spotless and the bed comfy. Ate in the restaurant and found the food excellent plus the service friendly and professional.
It made a change to stay somewhere that wasn't part of a huge chain as I was made to feel like a valued customer rather than just another face in a line.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge Hotel for your recent stay in Stockport, the management and staff would like to thank you for your excellent review.
Its always lovely to receive reviews from customers who have enjoyed their stay, l will pass on your comments to our staff.
We hope you will consider using us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keele, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night only in room 35. Large bright room. Plenty of white fluffy towels and very clean bathroom. Good to be able to make a nice cup of tea before going down to the restaurant. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you so much for this perfect description of a Superior Room.
We constantly do whatever it takes to make our guests feel welcome, relaxed, and completely comfortable.
We looking forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Stockport
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3 Star Hotel Restaurant Conference & Events venue which encapsulates all the elegance & style of a bygone era Carved oak panelling & open fireplace creates a welcoming ambience Our 52 bedrooms are comfortably furnished & equipped breakfast is complimentary & Wi-Fi is free. Versatile event facilities comfortable accommodation & friendly service all these amenities has earned the Alma Lodge Hotel & Restaurant its enviable reputation as one of Stockport’s premier venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.