We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 out of 10” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alma Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alma Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Alma Lodge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE BREAKFAST FOR GUESTS
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
sunbury on thames
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“6 out of 10”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arrived at 22.30, first impression on arrival was very good,large car park and pleasant looking hotel.The receptionist was pleasant and polite,all looked to be a great stay.
The Alma lost marks when it come to my room, although it was very clean it lacked on a couple of basics.The tea/coffee facility was just that, no biscuits or a hot chocolate/ optionfon for a late night drink.
The en suite was a problem although it was clean again the Alma skimped on basics no showeg gel or shampoo, not that it mattered as the shower did not work anyway.
A note on the wall said to use the shower run the hot water tap for a few minutes.
I tried this for 3 minutes didn't work, only a dribble from the shower head, tried again leaving the hot tap for 7 minutes, same result.After tryng a third time, I gave up on the shower..
The breakfast was fine nice selection of cereals,fresh fruit & yogurts.Buffet fried breakfast was ok, not as nice as a fresh cooked breakfast but acceptable.Plenty of toast ,coissants and jams, tea or coffee.
I give The Alma Lodge an average 6 out of 10,not value for money for me,even though it was at a discount price of £45.
Barry D (titan travel).

Room Tip: There are no lifts ,so if you have problems with stairs get a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Alma Lodge Hotel for your recent stay in Stockport, the management and staff would like to thank you for your review.
Its always beneficial to receive positive and negative reviews from customers, l have personally inspected the shower in the single room you stayed in and found it in good working order. l do understand the shower fitment is difficult to master however step by step instructions are on the bathroom wall.
We hope you will consider using us again on your next visit to Stockport, the same internet discount can be found on our web site, may l suggest you upgrade to a double room which have new shower fitments, complimentary shower gel and shampoo. (Complimentary Hot chocolate sachet can also be provided by reception on request)
Kind Regards
Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    95
    37
    15
    3
See reviews for
70
67
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Handforth, null, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Arrived on Friday afternoon for a wedding reception. All was great on the Friday , staff friendly and room cumfortable and clean.
On Saturday morning we came down for breakfast at 09.45 (breakfast served until 10.00) to find no food in any of the trays. Had a very difficult time convincing the staff we were down in time and had ask several times before any food was brought out, and when it was we were told in no un certain terms that what was there would have to go round the 5 people waiting for the breakfast we had all paid for. One egg, one rash of bacon, one and a half sausages, and then had to ask for the beans. No ideal, sering till 10am should mean just that,not stopping at quarter to.
Having said that the food was very good, just not use to having to almost beg to be fed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
At the Alma Lodge we care about your comments & treat every customer as an individual. I am disappointed to read your comments about our Buffet Breakfast. Freshly cooked plated breakfasts are usually offered to customers arriving late by our staff, especially at the end of breakfast service. We will look into your review & see if we indeed do need to make some changes at breakfast.

Kind Regards
Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Many thanks to the management and staff for a very enjoyable stay. Our room was first class and the food at breakfast, in the Restaurant and the bar menu was excellent. Our compliments to the chef! Such good value for money throughout and nothing was too much trouble from the friendly staff. We enjoyed visits to Chester and the viewing area at Manchester Airport which are both an easy drive from the hotel - especially enjoyed seeing Concorde up close, at the airport. Once again many thanks. We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Alma Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, l am very pleased you enjoyed your four night stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of our Hotel & l know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks & recognition of their efforts. We hope you will be back to enjoy our facilities again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Alma Lodge this bank holiday as we wanted to explore Stockport and the lovely Lyme Park just outside of Stockport. We had a lovely time and the staff at the Alma lodge were fantastic. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Alma Lodge Hotel, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I am delighted to read your appraisal of the Hotel & l know our staff will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks & recognition of their efforts.
We hope to see you in the future if you choose to visit Cheshire again. We do have an abundance of National trust properties & Countryside just waiting to be explored.
Kind regards Jill Tavini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

thank you to all the staff at Alma Lodge for making our son and daughter-in-laws wedding so special,-- in particular wedding arranger Clair and toastmaster Graham would made the whole day perfect from the ceremony to wedding breakfast to evening party and for those who stay over the morning breakfast can't be beaten ---- We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel for any occasion, particularly for a wedding ---

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Jill & Karl Tavini Owners of the Alma Lodge Hotel at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
We very much appreciate you taking the time to tell us and the Trip Advisor community about your Son and Daughter in laws recent Wedding here at the Alma Lodge Hotel.
Every Wedding is special to us however it was more than a pleasure to host your families Wedding Day.
I will personally pass on your kind words regarding Clair and Graham, I will also be passing along your kind words to our frontline staff - it's always great to hear that they've gone above and beyond our guest's expectations. Best Wishes to your family.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is a fantastic place to hold a celebration. We attended a few years ago for a 30th wedding anniversary and the food and service was excellent. We have just had our granddaughters wedding there and again excellent food, service and the room was decorated beautifully. I can highly recommend this hotel although as a hotel I haven't stayed, but based on food and ambience for parties I am sure it would meet anyones standards whatever the reason for use. Well done Alma Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavini, Owner at Alma Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Your views are very much appreciated, we are delighted that you had a wonderful time here at the Alma Lodge Hotel. We thank you for complimenting our Hotel and Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Our wedding, planned in just 3 weeks and held at the Alma Lodge was faultless. From the ceremony, wedding breakfast and reception the staff were nothing short of perfect. The food was great both for the wedding breakfast and reception buffet.

With just 3 weeks to plan the wedding (and all the planning handed over to my best man) The Alma Lodge couldn't have been more helpful, thoughtful and supportive and without their help the wedding would not have happened. They thought of everything and delivered our dream wedding. Even if we had have spent 18 months planning it wouldn't have been better.

Thank you to all your staff who made our special day perfect. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Alma Lodge as a wedding venue and hotel. Our room and breakfast were fine and the staff at breakfast, just like throughout the wedding day were great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alma Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Hotel

Address: 149 Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Stockport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alma Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3 Star Hotel Restaurant Conference & Events venue which encapsulates all the elegance & style of a bygone era Carved oak panelling & open fireplace creates a welcoming ambience Our 52 bedrooms are comfortably furnished & equipped breakfast is complimentary & Wi-Fi is free. Versatile event facilities comfortable accommodation & friendly service all these amenities has earned the Alma Lodge Hotel & Restaurant its enviable reputation as one of Stockport’s premier venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Alma Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alma Hotel Stockport
Alma Lodge Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alma Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.