We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Stockport South

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Stockport South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Stockport South
Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Stockport
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Nice new rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for a night during a trip Manchester as it was much cheaper than staying in Manchester itself.
Rooms were nice and new in good condition, and large. Only downside was the shower pressure but I gather from other reviews that this is an issue with the whole hotel, but wasn't a problem.
Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. On behalf of everyone at the stockport South Premier Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    57
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
41
43
16
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Located on the A6, just recently refurbished. Receptionist friendly, rooms clean, spacious and comfortable, good shower, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer and large flat screen TV. The large bed was big and comfy with a choice of firm or softer pillows.
Freshly cooked to order hot breakfast is served in adjacent pub was fine but the pub looks tired and in need of refurbishment.
Good value as only paid £35 for Sunday night stay.

The Puss in Boots Pub approximately half a mile up Nangreave Road from the hotel serves an excellent carvery and would be my recommendation for eating an evening meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am very pleased you found your stay to be comfortable. On behalf of everyone at the stockport South Premier Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here while travelling and, as was expected the hotel ticked all the boxes. The hotel was spotlessly clean, the bed was big and comfy. The bathroom had a good bath and overhead shower, and the lady on reception was friendly and helpful. There was a 3rd "daybed" which could easily have accommodated another adult if necessary

if anything let down the experience it was the Beefeater where breakfast was served. Breakfast in itself was basic but fine, but the evening before we decided to eat here as we were tired and didn't want to go far. My partner had the lamb which he said was delicious, but I had the fish and chips which was very dry and tasteless. The whole bar area could have done with some refurbishment, as it was dated and scruffy.

The hotel was very convenient for the motorway, and quite good value. I would like to know how many rooms actually cost £29 a night as I have stayed in this chain several times and doubt I have ever paid less than £65....not a complaint, just an observation

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us, and I will be sure to pass this on to the rest of the team. I would also like to thank you for your feedback regarding the attached Beefeater. I will pass this on to the management team in there.
On behalf of everyone at the stockport South Premier Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was visiting Stockport with my husband and 15 yr old son for a family get together and needed accommodation for one night only. Arrived late afternoon to check in and found the receptionist to be especially efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was excellent, very clean and spacious and the third bed was a good quality bed which was more than adequate for my teenage son who is very tall for his age. The rooms are well equipped with everything you need for an overnight stay. I had pre booked breakfast which was amazing value. Children up to 16 eat free with 2 paying adults even big kids. Plenty of choice, part buffet , with hot food served to your table. Food was of a high standard and again all staff were attentive and helpful. Cooked breakfast served to your table is a rarity these days and a welcome change to the luke warm congealed offerings usually found on hotplates in large chain hotels. Good value all round with adequate on site free parking with nothing too much trouble for the staff. Would I stay here again? Definitely. In fact I have booked a room at a Premier Inn close to Manchester Airport for our holiday in July and wished I had waited as I would have booked this location instaed.

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly close to the main road but we did not find this to be a problem, noise levels w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us, and I will be sure to pass this on to the rest of the team. On behalf of everyone at the stockport South Premier Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Premier Inn was very good, clean, quite and the receptionist was very helpful and very pleasant in the whole place came across as a nice place to stay, can't say about the beefeater next door. The staff were wonderful but we found the food a bit of a let down........ it came across as mass produced, maybe because it's a chain (we had another Beefeater meal in a different place and it was much the same) that's the way it is. We go back to the Premier Inn again but wouldn't eat there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us, and have passed your kind words on to the team.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the attached Beefeater. This is run separately to the Premier Inn, however I have passed your feedback on to the management team.
All at the Stockport South Premier Inn look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We have just returned home after a six night stay at the Premier Inn Stockport South. Unfortunately though this time we did not have as big a room as previous or at the other Premier Inn in Stockport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. On behalf of everyone at the Stockport South Premier Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back on future stays. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Impressed with the friendly staff at this Premier Inn and the clean & tidy room with large screen wall mounted TV & new bathroom fittings. Breakfast options good and hot food (if wanted) served quickly. Have used before & find this Premier Inn one of the really good ones. Handy for access to Manchester via A6 & no parking costs!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleHume, Manager at Premier Inn Stockport South, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive review of the Stockport South Premier Inn. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us. On behalf of everyone at the Stockport South Premier Inn, we look forward to welcoming you back on future stays. Kind Regards. Danielle Hume, Premier Inn Team Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Stockport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stockport South

Address: Buxton Road, Stockport SK2 6NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stockport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#3 Business Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Premier Inn Stockport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stockport South Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Stockport South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.