We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I hated it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Stockport Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Stockport Central to your Saves list
Premier Inn Stockport Central
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Churchgate, Stockport SK1 1YG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from £59
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I hated it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Staff unhelpful, people in the restaurant stared at us like they have never seen black people before. Checked in, the receptionist did not tell us that our room was in the seperate buiding. There was a female staff member with curly hair who was very unhelpful. The wall in the room was covered with mould and the sink was blocked. I did not make any complaints because I was unwell and could not be asked to speak to those staff members. I COULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. IT HAS PUT ME OFF FROM BOOKING PREMIER INN.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Stockport Central, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the quality of the food received. Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up by the Management team at the hotel. Once again thank you for your review we do hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    101
    33
    8
    4
See reviews for
65
86
15
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

the hotel:

the hotel is, as all premier inns are, spacious, with plenty of storage, a nice bathroom with a powerful shower, and a comfortable bed, which is just 2 singles held together at the base. the staff are friendly, and always happy to help, and the hotel itself is generally clean.

wifi:

there is wifi services available from spectrum. this is by far the worst wifi service i have ever used, you can try and hold a conversation on skype, and find that 5 minutes later, the signal drops and the voices break up, speeds for browsing are that of dial up. it's as though they've taken a 2mbps commercial broadband line and tried to implement it as a business wifi system. if i'm going to pay £20 for access to a wifi network whilst i'm here, then i want a good service, not the rubbish they're flogging!

Parking: parking is available, but very limited, and even though you're meant to get a "guest pass", this "guest pass" is just a folded sheet of A4 paper that says "guest pass" and then a number on it. very easily forged.

Quiet: my understanding of the premier inn experience is that you are guaranteed a good nights sleep or your money back. i would like an explanation as to how a customer can possibly get a good nights sleep with at least 200 Jets flying low overhead every day. this hotel is directly underneath the flight path for Manchester airport. so any planes leaving Manchester Airport are flying quite low overhead, this makes it quite impossible to get to sleep each night.

the restaurant: The service in the restaurant can be very hit and miss. breakfast is the same every day, you choose what you want and how you want it, which is fantastic. but when it comes to the early evening, they are understaffed, and the staff that are on clearly couldn't care less. i ordered my dinner, which was brilliant, not a complaint there. very sizable portions, and very tasty. at the same time of me ordering my dinner, i ordered dessert. i finished my dinner, and the plate was taken away by one of the 2 waitresses on that night. i then waited half an hour for a small slice of cake which i'd already paid for. in my opinion, asking for a small slice of cake, is not really much to ask for. it should only take 30 seconds to cut it, and put it on a plate, but neither waitress seemed interested to even ask me why i was sitting at my empty table. it was embarrassing for me, and i can imagine, when i actually called out to one of the waitresses that i'd been waiting over half an hour (and i'm positive some of the people around me heard). although what i've said here is true, this is just one night, and i'm positive that it wasnt either waitress' fault, as the restaurant was nearly full, but i still feel that they should be making sure that every customer is happy, and not just paying attention to everyone but the one who's already paid for his cake!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed here,for 2 nights,with my husband and 2 children aged 7 and 10.
The moment we arrived we were dealt with by friendly staff who gave the children an activity book each with crayons and a balloon. We were given a room in the annex.
This is the 1st time i have ever booked a family room and i was very pleased with the size and how clean it was. I had visions of it being a small room with the children sharing a sofa bed!
We had a king size bed and the children each had their own single bed,which they loved.
There are tea and coffee making facilities,flat screen tv with freeview,hair dryer,shaver socket,hand wash,shower gel and lots of storage.
Everything was clean,which is good,as it's always the first thing i check when i arrive.
We backed on to the car park and only heard noise when people were leaving the restaurant. We did hear planes going over,but this didn't bother us and after the first few,didn't really notice.
Just a few niggles,no bath mat so was quite slippy when having a shower,not good for children and would have been nice if there had been something for the children to drink,like hot chocolate or a juice or something,as we had the tea and coffee.
Also the next day when the cleaner had been in,our bed was re-made but the childrens hadn't been touched,much to their disgust,lol.
All in all,a really nice place to stay in a good location and would use again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Premier Inn Stockport Central, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
I am happy to hear that you found your stay here at Stockport Central to be so enjoyable and I am grateful for the feedback you have given us about your stay. Thank you for your kind words about our team and our rooms and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Gemma Raby, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Nice hotel and lovely pub next door which does an excellent 2 meals for £10 offer on meals all day everyday, Staff at the hotel we couldent fault very freindly and welcoming.
massive free car park, and ideal location for Stockport Theatre (the reason for our stay), Shops and Market.
Our only problem was the noise from other guests in the room above us,Load music and shouting from 2am-5.30, on what would have otherwise been an very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Premier Inn Stockport Central, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay, my team will be delighted to receive your kind comments and to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Stockport Central Premier Inn. We look forward to wecomong you back in the future. Kind regards, Gemma Raby General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We travel to Stockport twice a year to visit family, and always look forward to our stay at "The Old Rectory". The location is wonderful at the top of the Stockport Market, giving us lots of places to eat and shop. We usually invite the extended family up to the restaurant at the hotel, which everyone from the 4 year old to the 84 year old can find something they like to eat. The rooms are clean, and very comfortable.
What really sets this hotel apart though, is the fantastic, friendly service we have always received. From the desk clerk, to the cleaning staff, to the restaurant/pub workers everyone is friendly and helpful, and willing to help us out whatever we need. The only downside is that on a weekend, sometimes there is a bit of noise from the pub and the parking lot, but it has never been so bad that it has ruined our stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Premier Inn Stockport Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2011
I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us at Stockport Central Premier Inn. Thank you for your kind comments and compliments on our clean, comfortable rooms and our friendly team. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Gemma Raby General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel about 20 nts in the past year, and had staff booked in there constantly for last 10 months. The staff are great, friendly, helpful, flexible. Rooms are getting a little tired but still good for PI standards. Try to stay in main building rather than annexe, as they are a little quieter. Walls are a little thin though...!! Don't be noisy when the Night Porter is on though.. He's a bit over-zealous about noise! Food prices at the onsite bar/ restaurant are good value and generous portions! As with all Premiers Inns... Not ideal for stays more than a week due to limited facilities

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Premier Inn Stockport Central, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
We are delighted that your stays with us over the past year have been enjoyable. Thank you for your comments about our team. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback, as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Gemma Raby, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

fantastic friendly staff. clean spacious rooms. nothing too much trouble. will definately stay again

Room Tip: nice two for one pub attached
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Premier Inn Stockport Central, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Stockport. I look forward to welcoming you back at Stockport Central Premier Inn. Kind regards Gemma Raby, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Stockport Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Stockport Central

Address: Churchgate, Stockport SK1 1YG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Stockport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Family Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Stockport Central 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the centre of Stockport within walking distance from the historic markets and attractions with scenic views of the old town. Situated with superb links to motorways, train station, bus station and Manchester Airport. The hotel is ideal for both business and leisure and is a favorite for travellers visiting Manchester and the Pennine trails. The hotel has everything you would expect incredibly comfy beds, an onsite restaurant and a large complimentary car park which has access for buses & coaches making it an ideal destination for large groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Stockport Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Stockport Central Hotel Stockport
Premier Inn Stockport Central Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Stockport Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.