We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Customer Journey - Brian D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stockport Golf Club

Stockport Golf Club
Offerton Road, Stockport SK2 5HL, England
+44 161 427 2001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 21 Activities in Stockport
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cheshire's finest parkland golf course offering 18 individually challenging holes. From possibly the toughest opening Par 4 in Cheshire to our Signature hole, the Par 3 8th hole which has seen many Open Qualifying scorecards ruined.
Sale, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Customer Journey - Brian D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

Our Golf Society has played at Stockport on a number of occasions over the past several years and each visit is a pure delight. On this occasion, my friend and I were preparing the scorecards, whilst some of the others were served with a full English breakfast in the dining room. One of the catering staff must have noticed this and brought over a tray with coffee for us both, which we were extremely thankful for. The breakfast was the finest we have ever been served outside of some of Scotland finest venues, and the attention to detail regarding our catering satisfaction was first class, so all credit to the catering team. The course (as always), was in splendid condition, especially for this time of year (Late Nov), whilst the greens were immaculate. All credit to the management and all the team at Stockport GC. Well done!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Social Media Support at Stockport Golf Club, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Brian, Thank you for your review. We do try to provide the perfect package for our society guests and we're so glad you had yet another great day with us. Like yourselves a lot of our members love nothing better than the Full English before playing 18 holes. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    0
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stockport Golf Club - perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Golf in November at Stockport would not normally conjure up an expectation of golfing Paradise, but my recent experience was superb. All the staff, from Pro Shop to Bar staff, from kitchen to ground staff were very welcoming.
The catering was excellent and the course in wonderful condition, particularly the greens which would delight at any time of the year, never mind November.
Well done Stockport GC. I will be back.

Visited November 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Social Media Support at Stockport Golf Club, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hi John, we really appreciate your great review and look forward to your return. You should try to get over for one of the open competitions we run throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FAULTLESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

I played Stockport on Sunday and thought the whole set up from the Professionals shop, to the course, to the catering after the game were faultless. I have to say that the course for so late in the year was in fantastic condition! The Tees are better than some greens I've played on recently. The fairways are like carpets and the Greens were receptive and true to putt on.
I'll definitely be coming back to play it again.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Social Media Support at Stockport Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Hi Jonny, thank you for your positive review. Stockport Golf Club prides itself on offering a great all round experience. Your remarks will be passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything was 1st class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Our group play many courses around the North of England and we thought that Stockport was the best we have experienced this year ... the condition of the course (and especially the greens) was excellent, and the catering is of top quality restaurant standards (but not the pricing). Also, the welcome and helpfulness of the staff in the Pro's shop made us feel welcome.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Social Media Support at Stockport Golf Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Peter, Thank you for the great review. Your feedback will be passed on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

Having played Stockport on 2 previous occasions, I was really looking forward to playing in the Open competition. Having taking a day off work, and a 2 hour round journey. I was bitterly disappointed to find the greens had been sand injected. I appreciate that work has to be carried out on the golf course, but to present greens in this condition in August is unacceptable.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean B, Social Network Support at Stockport Golf Club, responded to this review, November 6, 2014
Hello Peter, I'm sorry to hear that you thought the greens were unacceptable due to the sand injection. We did this in August as this is the best time for the greens to recover after this treatment, unfortunately the wet weather during August slowed the recovery time down.
The feedback we have received after this treatment has been very positive and it is a disappointment that you felt this way. We would hope to see you at next years opens where you will benefit from this work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockport Golf Club also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Stockport Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockport Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.