We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting historic attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stockport Air Raid Shelters

Stockport Air Raid Shelters
Chestergate, Stockport SK1 1NE, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Attractions in Stockport
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Manchester, Lancashire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Interesting historic attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a brilliant attraction and gives a fantastic insight into the air raid shelters during the war, there are many items which you can look at and the guide is very knowledgeable and keen to answer any questions.

I had been meaning to go to this place for a while and I am very glad I did, and at just over £4 it is well worth the money.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    57
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for Schools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I took two separate year four classes to the Air Raid shelters where we were greeted by actors in costume. the children thoroughly enjoyed their visit that, for some, was a little too real. I was asked if they could see their parents before they were evacuated !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A fascinating insight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

An excellant view into the home front of WW2, with good and informative displays and placards. A few more photographs or demonstrations of the conditions might liven it up a little, but overall very good.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Never knew this was here for a long time, have been twice now, very interesting experience learning what it must have been like for people during the war, get a ticket which gets you into here, bramhall hall and staircase house - good value!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Everyone should give this a try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have been here three times now and each time I have had a different tour guide. Each of them have been exceptional!

The reason I have been here three times is, I know it is an interesting place to take friends and family that are visiting the area. Thankfully I have never been let down and they have all enjoyed their visit.

It is such a shame if fellow Stopfordians have not visited this great tourist attraction.

The whole visit will give you a sense of what it was like during the war and indeed Stockport and the surrounding areas and what it must have been like whilst 'living in these shelters'. There are some interesting facts to learn and fun things to see. I know that sounds like it would be good for children and I am sure it is, though I have never visited with any children just adults and we all have a great time!

Highly recommended!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockport Air Raid Shelters also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Bramhall, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Stockport Air Raid Shelters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stockport Air Raid Shelters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.