We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place and a super afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Underbank Tearoom

The Little Underbank Tearoom
19 Little Underbank, Stockport SK1 1LA, England
+(44)0161 429 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 379 Restaurants in Stockport
Cuisines: British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our tea room is on Little Underbank close to the historic Stockport market area. We pride ourselves on welcoming people of all ages who enjoy what was once a popular tradition. Sourcing local and hand made products, we believe that we serve a premium experience accompanied by our beautifully styled shabby chic interior.
Manchester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely little place and a super afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had afternoon tea here with my husband and the staff were wonderful and the afternoon tea was delicious and looked amazing sadly we got so much we couldn't finish it! Great to pop in just for a cuppa and nice slice of cake also

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    6
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice tea room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Visited on a Sunday afternoon. Very nice little team room hidden in the depths of Stockport, surprisingly so. This is the first place I have seen in the UK that sells yerba mate which I have been looking out for for some time which excited me and I was pleased with the way it was presented. We didn't order the afternoon tea but my partner did order a cake of some variety which we enjoyed along with the scones that came with it. Would come again at some point as the food did look good and I'd like to try more of the teas on offer. It hasn't been open long apparantly, but despite this it does feel very traditional and vintage. Reccomended, if you can find it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly find !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a gorgeous shabby chic little tea shop.. A wide selection of teas from peppermint to tung ting oolong! Sandwiches with eclectic flavours such as Stilton, pear and honey. And amazing homemade cakes my mum had the best walnut and coffee cake she has ever tasted! Seek this place out you won't be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Such a lovely tea room, the decor and details give a real vintage feel. Service was good, hardly waited at all but lady came over to say our order would arrive shortly. We shared pot of tea, served in mismatched china..always tastes better out of china, I had sandwich overflowing with ham and cheese, my husband had the soup which was really tasty. So nice to see local small business thriving. Looking forward to return visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful little tearoom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful little tearoom. Myself and my husband have eaten here a few times already and make the 50 miles round trip each time. Found this from friends on Facebook and haven't been disappointed. The staff are wonderful and attentive nothing is too much trouble. The food is lovely and the portion sizes are great. There is a massive selection of teas all served in quirky tea pots and cups with saucers, no two are the same. Home made soup is recommended very tasty especially the red pepper soup. The cakes are delicious and come in a variety of different flavours some of which you wouldn't ordinarily eat such as dandelion and burdock. All cakes are served as enormous slices :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Underbank Tearoom also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Marple, Stockport
 

Been to The Little Underbank Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Underbank Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.