We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel Through Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staircase House

Staircase House
31 Market Place, Stockport SK1 1ES, England
0161 218 1460
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Stockport
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Stockport
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Travel Through Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

You travel through time as you progress through the house from Saxon times to WWll. The displays are thoughtfully arranged with plenty of information provided.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Well worth an hour of your time in Stockport. Staff really friendly and helpful, self guided audio tour very good. Get the three-property deal (Air Raid Shelters and Bramhall Hall too) for best value.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited Staircase House in December and it was a great afternoon out. The restoration of the house has been superbly done and the rooms are decorated to show how the house may have looked through the ages. The audio tour is interesting and insightful and there are things to do in each room which I imagine would be good for keeping children interested. The attached museum was well worth going to as well as it shows the history of Stockport. The house isn't huge but combined with the museum is enough for 2-3 hours entertainment and is excellent value for money. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and I would definitely recommend going.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great day back in time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Went to staircase house today on a school trip ( helping out my sons class) had such a fun educational day. We were greeted by Alison and Judy who really brought the history of the Great Fire Of London alive.
Kids absolutely loved their hands on day at the Museum.
I found it very interesting and very welcoming. I think it is Definatley worth a visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hands on history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was my second visit to Staircase House and It was just as good as the first. My 8 year old granddaughter
had been with school and loved it. Everything is hands on and you can dress up,lie on the beds and look in cupboards! The staff are very friendly and the whole experience is amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Staircase House also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Bramhall, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Staircase House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staircase House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.