We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wycliffe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wycliffe Hotel to your Saves list
Wycliffe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Edgeley Road | Edgeley, Stockport SK3 9NQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
GreenLeadersBronze level
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have stayed at the Wycliffe Hotel with my husband on several occasions, attending various events including their gourment evening, 5 courses with selected wines and a talk from a wine expert, along with dinner dances all with excellent service and value for money. There is a good selection of both english and italian food on the menu, their home made desserts are to die for! and I would love to see more of traditional italian/mediterranean food.
The rooms are always comfortable and clean with all the facilities you would expect, with friendly and attentive staff, always on hand.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    35
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
34
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Stayed here for a Saturday night as we were at a family function nearby. The hotel is very secluded from the road with a nice sitting out area.. We were more than satisfied with the friendliness of the staff and the room was very clean with everything you could want, including an iron and trouserpress. Breakfast was included and was excellent. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

I had a one night stay at the Wycliffe, and really found very little to complain about.

The room (no 20) was perhaps a little small but perfectly ok for one, and well equiped.

The TV was good and worked well, there was free WiFi which seemed to work fine, the plumbing seemed in good order with no nasty gurgling sounds from the radiator (!) and everything seemed quite new and clean. Heating worked nicely, with a thermostatic valve so easily controllable. They even included a trouser press and iron in the room. Usual tea/coffee stuff included, plus a free bottle of spring water.

The shower room was fine - good flow of hot water in the shower although decor was a little plain.

Food was great - I had a very nice 3-course dinner from their 'residents menu', which at only £15 is excellent value. Starter and main were both excellent (smoked fish, then pork in a green peppercorn sauce). The main came with very generous portion of fresh veg, including an interesting (and yummy) cabbage and bacon mix. Only slight issue was the sweet. I chose a creme brulee, but the topping had clearly been cooked too soon and left to sit on the trolley, so the caramel, which should have been crsip, had degenerated into mush. Tasted good though.

Breakfast was good too - with a lovely premium quality sausage amoungst the usual Full English. Slight mix up though with my order - since the waitress seemed to get my order swapped with the next table's. Also nice to see freshly sliced 'proper' bread rather than something straight from a packet.

The Wycliffe is however right by the main road, and some rooms could be quite noisy. They seemed to have tried to address this by installing tripple-glazing. In practice, it was not an issue as the traffic died down at night anyway.

Recommened.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Had a three night stay on a recent buisness trip and was very impressed with the experience, the staff were excelent the room was spacious and impecably clean with all you need from a hotel room, serviced each day to the same high standard. The breakfast was great with fresh bread and no sign of greasy hash browns and plastic eggs which is the usual fayre I experience on my numerous buisness trips staying at national chains. The choice for dinner was vast and on both nights I used the restaurant the food was well presented, hot and very tasty and with the addition of a couple of pounds I ate very well on my expenses allowance..the Italian themed menu was excellent value packed with flavour and served informally in the busy restaurant by pleasant knowledgable staff. It is my intention to return again in early December for a coleuges retirement party, I will be accompanied by my wife and daughters whom Iam sure will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed here a lot a few years ago on business because it was cheap for the area. It has a recent make-over and the rooms are better for it. Many are small, over-heated/poorly ventillated with "trickle" showers. The hotel right beside a v'busy road and with some rooms less than 15feet from the road noise, even the double glazing doesn't help. Many other things however, haven't changed! The food is greatly over priced and of poor quality. £24 for an over cooked tougth T bone is just too much. The rest of the steak heavy menu is very much the same. Pretends to be Italian, the menu is an aweful example of the worst of British Italian cuisine. The owning/managing family has Italian roots but apart from that and a couple of abrupt oft' surly Italian style waiters, it stops there! Breakfast is of poor quality and quantity - Morissons tasteless bacon (store just up the road) and supermarket bread/orange juice to match. Reception staff are still lovely and can't do too much for you. In short, its close to the airport (bring your ear plugs - it's noisy position on the flight path is unrivalled) so if it's plane spotting you're into then stay no where else! Otherwise try the Alam Hotel (same familiy) or others in Stockport and eat out !!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guernsey, channel islands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

would really like to applaud this hotel on it staff,
nothing was to much trouble for them looking after myself and family.
the hotel was in a real excellent location, only 15mins away from Manchester airport, and minutes away from the motorway. very clean , tidy family run hotel.
will stay again

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Well located on a not too busy A road, the Wycliffe was spotlessly clean and the rooms were decently sized. It has clearly been recently refurbished so everything is fresh and sweet-smelling. Good sized towels were provided along with shower gel, soap, etc. The beds were very comfortable - my only criticism of them was that I was too hot under the duvet and a spare lightweight blanket would have been handy. Breakfast was OK, though real coffee should be provided in a hotel costing this much - Nescafe won't do. Staff were pleasant and very unobtrusive.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wycliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wycliffe Hotel

Address: 74 Edgeley Road | Edgeley, Stockport SK3 9NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Stockport
#1 Business Hotel in Stockport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stockport
#6 Family Hotel in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wycliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to the Wycliffe Hotel! This family owned and run hotel offers the personal touch for guests staying away from home.Our immaculately clean bedrooms most with kingsize beds are en-suite with flat screen TV, a selection of toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, room door spy hole for security, trouser press, hair-dryer, iron and free wi-fi internet access. Our full English breakfasts are freshly cooked to order with waitress service. There is ample free car parking, and the bar also serves drinks teas, coffees and bar snacks. Our restaurant offers a wide choice of fixed and individually priced menus throughout the week including Business Lunches, Sunday Lunch, Open Dining, A La Carte, and Resident's Menus, together with a superb wine list. This is also the ideal venue for that special occasion including birthdays, anniversaries, family parties, christenings as well as being a wedding venue. There is a variety of menus to suit every occasion and we can also cater for conferences in our fully self-contained Cortona Suite and funerals for which we have a selection of buffet menus available. Throughout the year we offer a variety of special event menus for:Valentine's Night, St Patrick's Night, Mothering Sunday, Easter Day, St George's Day, Father's Day, Gourmet Evenings and Christmas dinners and discos and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Wycliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wycliffe Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wycliffe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.