We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Davenport Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Davenport Park Hotel to your Saves list
Davenport Park Hotel
175 Buxton Rd, Stockport SK2 6EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011 via mobile

Where do I start? This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. I am writing this from the hotel at 5.18 am. It is too hot to sleep. The (very) hot water pipes keep making loud noises. There are blood stains on the duvet which is not in a cover. The bed is made up of two unmatching divan bases of different heights which are broken and heavily stained. They look like they have been rescued from a dump. I feel disgusted. I could cry. I could go on and on. Do not come here.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    21
    5
    26
See reviews for
7
20
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had our wedding breakfast and reception at the Davenport Park hotel and cannot thank the staff enough for everything they did to make our day special. Their garden had made beautiful wedding pictures. The staff bent over backwards from beginning to end. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. Adding to this they undercut the surrounding hotels considerably while still supplying fantastic food everybody is still talking about. The comments about the decor are valid the rooms are dated, however they were clean and comfortable and the bathroom in the bridal suite was fabulous. We set out for a warm family wedding and with The Davenports help we pulled it off. Our day could not have gone better Thank you so very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Booked this hotel as it was closest to where we were visiting relatives, Amazingly helpful staff, absolutely spotless public areas and rooms, beautiful grounds and very good value for money. Owners John and Una made us feel very welcome and we`d definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We booked an en-suite, not all rooms come with this as standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, england
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

6 of us stayed here for the saturday night of the Stockport beer festival and for the money it would be hard to get better value!!
All 3 rooms were clean, the towels were nice and fluffy, nice size bathroom, plenty of hot water (electric showers so why some don`t get hot water is beyond me) tv and coffee/tea making facilities in the room, bed was comfy enough, yes there is some road noise at the front of the hotel, but that can hardly be helped, ask for a rear room if you think its going to be a problem.
Nice comfortable bar with sky sports, breakfast is served buffet style in the rear dining room and all 6 of us agreed that for the money the breakfast was very good.

Outside: if you like a pint of good beer, get a cab and ask to be taken to the Magnet pub, it`ll be a fiver for the fare, its in the centre of town and the saturday night we were there they had 14 different real ales on and duvel/bitburger lagers, and its not a spit & sawdust place, really nice & friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

This 'Hotel' is really, really shabby. The curtains in the room were absolutely filthy. The windows didn't open. The bathroom door had slats missing and it didn't close properly. Also the remote for the TV was chained to the headboard. Got up in the morning..... No hot water in the shower and no hot water in the sink. Had to boil the kettle to have a wash. This must be the worst "Hotel" I have ever stayed in.

Won't be going there again!! Thank God.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Stayed here for a night last month as was back in my home town for the first time in years, got a good rate over the phone, the room was a good size with a small bar downstairs(the main bar had a function the same night I think), no complaints whatsoever, would definitely stay here again! - Easy transport links to Manchester and Stockport town centre as well....

Brgds
John Kiely

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

we held our wedding reception here.
to be honest after we read some reviews, we were a bit worried. but dont know what hotel they were for, this place was great.
ok, some of the rooms could do with new decor. but it was clean, great food and the staff are amazing.
i would definately book another function here and recommend it to friends and family travelling.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavenportParkHotel, Owner at Davenport Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thankyou for taking the time to post such a positive review. I am so pleased you all enjoyed what was a fantastic family wedding day. Our best wishes and congratulations to you both.

We are currently working hard to upgrade our bedrooms so that we can offer an even better service in the future so hopefully we can welcome you all back to the Davenport Park for more family celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Davenport Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davenport Park Hotel

Address: 175 Buxton Rd, Stockport SK2 6EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Davenport Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Park Stockport
Davenport Park Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davenport Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.