We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misadvertised!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bredbury Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bredbury Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Bredbury Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osborne Street | Bredbury, Stockport SK6 2DH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Misadvertised!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a saturday night with two other couples, from reading the description of the holel on the internet we were all expecting a classy hall with a country club feel. This was most definately not what we got. This should be advertised as an establishment for stag/hen nights. There was someone being sick int the toilet sink at 5pm, the bar was just full of overbearing men, and the staff were far from friendly or helpful. We had an evening meal which was suprisingly acceptable and by far the best part of our stay. If your expecting to have any sleep at this hotel think again. People shouting and fighting in the corridors, and we even had to call security twice due to guests having a party in there room at 3.30am and 6.45am. On departure we spoke to the duty manager and told her we wanted to complain, she didnt even ask us why and just gave us the owners email address. The staff in general were rude, abrupt and unhelpful. Avoid this hotel at all cost unless on a stag/hen do or single looking for a good time.Were in our early 30s and enjoy a good time, parties, loud music etc but this took it to another disgusting level!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    108
    68
    36
    63
See reviews for
31
80
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I was attending a small conference/meeting including an overnight stay at the hotel and firstly was surprised to come across the hotel (via sat nav) in the middle of a housing estate. Upon entering I was greeted at the door by a smartly dressed gentleman and directed to the reception and the first and over riding impression is that this hotel is old fashioned. I don't mean this in a bad way the service, food, room and meeting facilities were excellent throughout and very traditional and I would be hard put to find fault. It was all vey good but as I say felt old fashioned and did feel like a four star hotel stuck in the 70's.
please don't let this put you off, I would happily recommend this hotel, give it a try and let others on Trip Advisor know what you think.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights (Sunday/Monday) really liked this hotel, warm welcome from the owner no less, really nice guy,great sense of humour, nice room, very comfortable, and the food, well it was great, enjoyed everything we had, the service in the restaurant was faultless, great choice and well cooked and presented, and the breakfast is probably the best ever just so much choice, didnt dare try the full english, it was enormous, fantastic value for money all round and really hope we can stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for quiet room and you should get one, we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Having read other reviews we booked this hotel at the last minute as we had to be in Manchester the following day. On booking and paying there was limited access to the room. Unless you want to walk from one end of the property to the other to use the lift, you have no option but to carry suitcases up 2 flights of stairs. The twin room itself was very clean and a good size however lacked the basic essentials you would expect ie. towels, soap, phone, and the tv signal was terrible. We requested these from a senior member of staff and on returning to our room we had one bath towel to share between the 2 of us. HIP HIP HORAY. We stayed in the hotel for lunch. What a mistake that was. The food was mediocre at best but the coffee should come with a health warning. Throughout our entire stay the attitude of staff was far from welcoming, maybe it was our Scottish accent they didn't like. The final joke of it all was on leaving the hotel after having a surprisingly pleasant breakfast in the restaurant. A male member of staff proceeded to chase us out the building and into the car park in full view of other guests demanding money whilst shouting "lady, lady you have not paid your bill". On returning to reception i discovered that the £75 we paid on arrival was for room only and did not include the £24 we owed for 2 scrambled eggs on toast. Rather than argue with a receptionist who evidently has never received any customer service training, i apoloised for the misunderstanding and left with the certainty that i will never be back. We booked this hotel on the strength of reviews from other guests, however one can only assume that these are written by other members of staff and management themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at The Bredbury Hall Hotel & Country Club for just one night before a conference the following day and unfortunately could not use all of the hotels facilities.

This hotel and grounds are like a Tardis there is so much to see, you really need a map to get you around the hotel, but it had excellent standards.

My bedroom was a mini suite with large four poster style bed, Jacuzzi bath and more than ample furniture, only complaint was the TV was not working correctly.

The bar and restaurant was very friendly and well stocked, both the dinner and breakfast were of good quality and cooked to your own liking.

This was my first stay but will not be my last.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip. Rooms are spotless, comfy bed, great shower. A bit dated but authentic. Service was very quick at the bar & at breakfast. Breakfast selection was good and very tasty. Would definatley stay here again. Infact I hope to do so!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This place is a mad house at the weekend. Ive been during the week and its quite laid back. At the weekend it comes alive. A great party buzz. Rooms were very spacious and cheap. The only thing this hotels is lacking is a swimming pool

Room Tip: Try and get a room as far away from reception as possible cause you'll not get much sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bredbury Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bredbury Hall Hotel

Address: Osborne Street | Bredbury, Stockport SK6 2DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bredbury Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bredbury Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bredbury Hall Stockport
Hotel Bredbury Hall
Bredbury Hall Hotel Stockport, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bredbury Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.