We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy and poor bathroom” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Save Saved
You added Britannia Hotel Stockport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Britannia Hotel Stockport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Stockport
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“noisy and poor bathroom”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Initially I was happy with the room. However, the lavatory seat was broken and the bath looked dirty. The bath was not dirty, just in need a renovation.

The doors of other rooms were noisy. Doors were slamming up until around midnight. At about 1.15 am, the people in the room above came in. The floorboards were noisy and you could hear every footstep. The ceiling lamp in my room vibrated with the action above.

I was disappointed consdering I had requested a quiet room. I had to leave the hotel at around 4.00 am and got about 2 hours' sleep, if that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
My apologies that your request for a quiet room was not met.
If you do book again in the future, please contact myself direct and I will ensure a quiet room away from any corridor doors is allocated.
Thank you for your comments.
Regards
Olivia Wright
C+B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    101
    152
    100
    344
See reviews for
108
214
56
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

well you aint getting a lot for ur money thats a fact....
its cheap for a reason & its budget price.
well if ur a fan of the Adams family/munsters this out of age well past it hotel is the thing for you.
the room i was in is well nice till you look around and see strange things like wire hanging out the wall but hid behind a chair....stains on the wall.....a tv service thats freeview but dont work as rubbish indoor set up.
the food well id not feed it to my dog.....
the soups are strange in both taste & colour.....worth a try if u have no taste buds.
the room is thick with dust on the wood rail on the floor in the dinning area.
and also please mind you will be moved around at anytime while you eat if the staff feel they want to.move you for no reason.
tea & coffee is from a flask system wgich is always luke warm and cheap tea bags.
the carpets through the hotel are stained and need put in a skip along with the sofas and beds infact this place would be best shut down really.
its got no stars fron vist england or anyone.
the staff are nice and are working to try make a wage but it must be hard to keep faith if you work here.
if u pack ur own bed a vax and kettle you will be on to a winner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I arrived for 4 nights this Xmas. The price was reasonable, but I should have remembered that saying - "you get what you pay for". Our room was top floor and it was obvious that the roof needs work doing as the ceiling paper was hanging down, and the carpet underneath was very damp. The bathroom would benefit from a refit and a good clean, as would everything else in room 226. On the plus side, the towels were very clean, white and fluffy, but I am struggling to find anything else positive.

Having stayed in other Britannia hotels and being happy with the food, we were more than disappointed with the dinners. Food seemed to have been ready for eating some hours before our mealtime, and things were dry and curling at the edges. Breakfast was quite good, if you could time it for not being there at feeding rush hour, as things quickly ran out and took a good while to be replenished, and the toast, forget it, soggy cardboard.

To be fair, the hotel was full to capacity with 3 coach loads in, and plenty of independent guests, like us, but with the lack of a food and beverage manager's presence, I doubt the waiters/waitresses would do any better as they appeared to lack common sense and training.

Internet is free, but you have to be in the lounge to connect. TV - only basic programmes so viewing choices are limited.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
During the four day Christmas package the hotel served over 500 meals a day, however this is not an excuse for poor quality. Yours is the first complaint with regards to meals over the Christmas period I have receieved. I am sure that you will agree that it is difficult to please everyone's tastes when serving as a hot buffet and not an a la carte menu.
My apologies if your bedroom was unsatisfactory, as stated previously we are constantly working on our bedrooms and public areas, and I will ensure room 226 is made a priority.
Thank you for your comments.
Regards
Olivia Wright
C+B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Had to stay at hotel to attend wedding...terrible hotel, dated and shabby. A member of the family checked for dust on top of doors and it was not good! Room was small and way too warm (this was on 22nd Dec!) Rip off for breakfast which was poor, I would not have paid £9.95 for full english and 'continental' was cereal and mostly burnt toast.

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
When booking weddings at the hotel, we set up a group code and group rate for all wedding guests. This is to ensure all wedding guests receieve a deluxe refurbished bedroom. There were only 2 rooms booked on the wedding code both of which I spoke to on the 23rd December who enjoyed their stay and receieved no complaints from either.
I can only assume you did not book on the code.
My apologies you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

stayed here twice, got the room for £25 so was cheap but the rooms are so outdated, they really need updating. there was damp around the windows, a light in the bathroom was hanging down, dirty walls, very old fashioned wardrobe, and only one towel! i just dont understand this, it doesnt take much to give it a lick of paint, a modern wardrobe doesnt cost much, oh and the curtains didnt even fit the window!!!! they were about 6 inches too short!! couldnt believe it! id be very embarrassed to give these rooms to paying guests. on the plus side, the bar is ok and they have a happy hour, although they only take cards over £10 transactions, so i asked if i could pay for several drinks then go back to get them when needed as they would have been warm otherwise and was told no! had to walk ages in the rain to find a cash machine. the man on reception was sarcastic, didnt find it funny at all. had a long day travelling and wanted to check in quickly and get a glass of wine but the bar didnt open till half 5. the hallways stank of smoke, and were covered in dead leaves. overall, its a chep place to stay but dont expect much else, i just dont understand why they cant get a pair of curtains to fit and a lick of paint to freshen it up.

Room Tip: dont get room 266, the curtains dont fit the window and there was mould on the walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
The hotel bar does not open until 530pm unless prearranged by a coach company or a large number of guests.
My apologies that you found problems with your bedroom. The hotel is undergoing inhouse refurbishment with an inhouse decorator working his way around each bedroom and the public areas.
Regards
Olivia Wright
C+B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I dont know what everyone is moaning about! On Bus tour and when they told us we were staying in Britannia I looked on Trip Advisor and was horrified. We were dreading our overnight stay there, however, we were pleasantly surprised, the room was clean, fresh crisp white sheets and we found the beds comfortable. The bathroom was clean with toiletries and plenty of clean white towels. The tv had freeview and there was tea and coffee with clean kettle. There was also a hairdryer. We had a 3 course evening meal, the soup and the sweet were delicious and the main meal was ok. The buffet breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Yes, the hotel is very dated and could do with refurbishment but I personally had a pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
I am pleased to read that your stay in the main was positive.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Olivia Wright
Conference and Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

arrived on saturday 8th of december, all the terrible reviews id read about the hotel so very true. very dirty and tatty. room i was in had a bath when i got out water everywhere.Food was the worst went with coach company travelstyle. starter and sweet not bad but the main liver and onion came to the table,like a slop bucket, it was like we were a herd of animals and treated that way.the poor chicken legs soon ran out and we were given those cheap un edible chicken dippers. britannia hotels are getting worse, does any one check these hotels out for health and safety

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
My apologies you were not happy with the food. We do not tend to receieve many bad remarks with regards to the main meals served at the hotel. The main and dessert course of your meal is self service so I struggle to see how it looked like slop when it arrived at your table.
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Stockport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.